We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ranked #105 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Brilliant Location.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Brilliant location right in the centre of the old city and across the street from Hagia Sofia. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and feel, staff were nice and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The rooms are comfortable and in decent size , you have to realise most of the these hotels has small rooms unless you upgrade to a more expensive room. This hotels rooms are ok, nothing massive but it's not small either. At the end of the day you're only in the room at night to sleep. Very tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebrapaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    383
    84
    44
    13
See reviews for
260
946
127
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was a surprise birthday present for my boyfriend who had never been to Istanbul . As he likes his history I decided to book a hotel near all the historical attractions in the Sultanahmet area. Ottoman Hotel Imperial is just about the perfect hotel to stay in this wonderful city. It's close to all the sites as we only had three days for our visit, we even had the chance to visit the grand bazar and the Taksim area which is known as the city centre full of nice restaurants, bars, cinemas, shops just about anything you're looking for.

Rooms at the hotel were superb, treated the boyfriend to a sultan suite room which was awesome , nice and large with comfortable good size bed overlooking the Hagia Sofia garden.Free wifi in each room and around the hotel which works pretty fast. Had good choice of food for breakfast. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaversh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here after a really bad experience in another Istanbul hotel and this place is magnificent! The building, location, cost, facilities and staff were all brilliant.

The only negative we found was that the water was... well... green! We complained about this and the hotel moved us to an alternative room but we found the same problem there. I have a feeling this was something they couldn't do anything about at the time and we have since been given a partial refund for the inconvenience and assured the problem is fixed.

All in all, a great base to visit Istanbul and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, cracking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just returned from our trip to Turkey in Oct. 2012. We stayed at the Ottoman Imperial for 3 nights. We had 2 rooms - on the 2nd floor facing the Hagia Sofia. We didn't have much of a view but the location couldn't be beat. We were within a couple hundred feet of the main historical/ tourist section. We felt totally safe as three women out at night. The rooms were without inspiration but clean and comfortable. It's not a resort on the Bosphorus but if you'd rather be in town, you can't do better than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjyapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We thought the Ottoman Imperial was the perfect place to stay in Istanbul. It is located in the heart of the Sultanahmet, but was still incredibly peaceful and quiet (other than the 6 a.m. call to prayer, but you'll hear that any place in Istanbul). We had a "premium vezir" room, which was quite comfortable with a view (somewhat obstructed by trees) of the Hagia Sofia. We thought it was a very good value and will definitely recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSP1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is right at the centre of the historic heart of this great city.
You will be treated with warmth and hospitality.
Some of the rooms are fabulous, just wonderful. Others are just awful. This was our second visit and we found ourselves at the bottom of a pit in a dark room with a view of air conditioning units and a blank wall about 2 m from our window. Worst of all the room smelt of poor drainage.
We ran lots of water through the sink and shower to deal with this
We had already paid for our rooms, and did not want to flavour our time at the hotel with complaints; so we put up with things.
Be careful if you are booking a room as part of a package, you may be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmclpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Ottoman Imperial for five nights in October, 2012. Our travel agent had booked a "standard" room for us. Upon reading the reviews on Trip Advisor (which cautioned that some of the "standard" rooms are not so great), I contacted the hotel and requested an upgrade and told them I was willing to pay the difference. The hotel promptly replied to me to say that the hotel was fully booked, but if anything came up, they would upgrade us. Our standard room was room 505. It had large windows which opened to the street which has a tram running on it. The bells of the tram are noisy when you are trying to sleep, but we had earplugs, so we were OK. Also, the restaurant across the street had a band playing traditional Turkish music which we thought was nice when we came back to the room and opened the windows when we were getting ready for dinner. The only thing we didn't really think was great was that the shower drained REALLY slowly. So slowly, I was concerned it was going to overflow with just me taking a shower, and I don't take very long showers.

It was a nice room and a very comfortable bed. You can also request the type of pillow you prefer (feather, foam etc...) which I thought was a nice touch. One morning when we were heading out of the hotel, I went to the second floor and there was a maid cleaning one of the "deluxe" rooms. It was the same as ours except for two things - 1) it had it's own quiet terrace overlooking the courtyard and 2) it had it's own private "Hamam" (steam) in the bathroom and the bathroom was big. Very nice. I wold have preferred this type of room - maybe next time.

The best thing about this hotel for us was the location! It fronts onto the
Aya Sophia and is about a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace. Also, there is a great Hookah bar just down the hill.

The staff were friendly. There is no ice machine, but upon request, they will bring ice to your room or open a bottle of wine for you - no problem

Breakfast - I saw a lot of complaints about the eggs at the breakfast. Yep - they were full of liquid, but there was also hard-boiled eggs, as well as an array of other items (two types of yogurt, cereal, muesli, meats, cheeses, baking..... more than enough. What I liked most about breakfast were the striking green parrots that flew by us while we were eating on the open-air terrace. You can also see them closer if you walk down the hill (past the hookah bar) and take a right at the Museum park. They have "bird-houses" there and you can get a closer look at them and take some great pictures.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel when staying in Istanbul - have a great trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cervelo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#48 of 1,156 in Istanbul
366 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Hotel Imperial

Property: Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Address: Caferiye Sok. No:6 D:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#86 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Hotel Imperial 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottoman Hotel Imperial is situated on the truly premium location in Istanbul, on an elevated position, surrounded by all the major historical and cultural sights in the heart of the old town, Sultanahmet, viewing the impressive Hagia Sophia (St.Sophia, Aya Sofya) Museum. This is absolutely the best location in Istanbul, within easy walking distance of the main monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ottoman Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing