We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“past its heydays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Klassis Resort Hotel
Ranked #802 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“past its heydays”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I could only imagine the state of the earlier negative reviews, but I was quite lucky obviously, though I can guess what ticked others off.
I booked a pool villa online, but the website did not have extensive info on these villas. The hotel, as mentioned earlier, is built on a vast area, it is huge, with an almost dream-like sillhouette --towers, landscape trees, walkways, etc...
I was with my family, and enjoyed a 3-night special deal for the Eid (the muslim holiday), and received the holiday program by email as well as the price list from which I picked the pool villa option.
The villa was actually the ground floor of a villa, and ours was at the very end of the villa series. It was kind of misleading that they were named pool villas since they are not practically around the pool, but were on the lower side of the hotel grounds as opposed to the garden villas which are located on higher ground than the pools and the reception --quite far from the activity centers.
It is true, the hotel grounds are quite neglected though the garden is very impressive. But the buildings are losing their paint, the rooms smell mouldy, the faucets, metals are losing their shine, everything needs to be renovated, and then it will be breathtaking again.
For the holiday season, the staff was reinforced obviously. Therer were plenty of waiters, both at restaurants and around the pool. But the poolside menu is kind of weak. The rooms were cleaned every day, and there were a couple of maintenance guys walking around the pool at all times.
Although the hotel was fully booked, we did not feel the crowd, or were overwhelmed by the crowd. The open buffet dinners were satisfactory, just like the breakfasts. But the highlight was the holiday gala dinner which was superb. The gala featured a roster of fine musicians from Turkey, and was quite entertaining.
There are three pools (one of them indoors) at the hotel, and we used the bottom one closest to the sea, filled with sea water. Although the hotel was very crowded it was not difficult to find a deck chair as there were plenty. The sea however was not at its best because the wind was very strong and the waves were strong as well.
I used the spa as well and had a massage done by an Indonesian lady. The facility was quite clean, well-decorated and worth its price.

Room Tip: ask for a pool villa in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
9
11
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I have being a regular customer at this hotel for the past 5 years. At first I was impressed then disappointed and now disgusted. I have just checked into the hotel ready for a 3 day holiay with my wife. Living in Istanbul, this has been a great retreat. Unfortunately, all the pevious posts are correct. I will just add a few more. Cockoaches in the poolside male toilets, pleanty of dirty and dead spiders (some small some big) floating on the main pool surface, complete disorganisation on the front desk, faceless front desk and annoying men walking around the pool shouting ice-cream and the food that is neither freshly made nor taste good for a 5 star hotel at 5 star hotel prices. This used to be a place of Klass - not anymore. Time to find a new retreat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Plovdiv
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If I'm to be fair the hotel was not as bad as I expected after reading previous reviews here.But I can guess what made people angry about this hotel.If you do not speak Turkish you are lost here.Not a person from the stuff really able to communicate in English, or German,or Russian...Not good.
But,honestly,the place looks grand at first sight. Like a Renaissance palace,marble palace.The garden makes you sing in the morning.Also the pools and sea view...
It's a shame that such wisely designed place is not used properly.The people in charge now are negligent.No care to details.
Eat and drink outside the hotel.Food inside highly overpriced.
But overall I had a good feeling after our weekend escape.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanesaPlovdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This resort should really be impressive when it was built (20yrs ago). The architecture is impressive and the whole thing is huge.

The bad thing is that the rooms have not been renovated since. So, although the hotel itself is clean and the pools are impressive, you cannot help notice the musty smell in the corridors and rooms.

Service polite, but a little slow. Wifi in room essentially did not work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Terrible Internet connection and bad service. Average food and poor bedrooms. Nice pool and entertainment area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I attended a conference at the hotel and found the meeting hall conference facilities quite good. However the rooms were old, the furniture was dirty and stained, and the hall carpets smelled of mold. The restaurant has buffet-style food that is OK. However, I believe the selection of food is highly limited to tourist-oriented bland and uninspired versions of Turkish food. I would have liked more authentic fair as the buffet food all starts to look and taste the same after a few days. The grounds are well kept and provide a nice environment for a casual stroll. I did not swim, but the slide and pool appeared to be great fun for the kids. The internet service in the room never worked.

Room Tip: Try to avoid of the floors that have drainage problems and smell like mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights, and I loved it. Even though the room was kind of old and need to be updated, it was very clean. The balcony we had had an amazing view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Istanbul
Kumburgaz Marin Princess
#1,007 of 1,156 in Istanbul
62 reviews
Silivri Park Hotel
#891 of 1,156 in Istanbul
21 reviews
Hotel Selimpasa Konagi
#2 of 5 in Silivri
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#77 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,188 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#117 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,560 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#194 of 1,156 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klassis Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klassis Resort Hotel

Property: Klassis Resort Hotel
Address: Karga Burun Mevki Prof. Dr. Muammer Aksoy Cad. Silivri Merkez, Silivri, Istanbul 34570, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #802 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Hotel Class:5 star — Klassis Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Klassis Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing