We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hospitality”
Review of Ada Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #25 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Ada Hotel is located within easy walking distance of the central tourist area but well away from the crowds. It is owned and run by a family whose members give their guests a warm welcome and attentive service, without intruding. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable, while the breakfast area on the top floor opens onto a terrace, which commands a stunning view past a derelict pillar to the shore and a harbour full of ships.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 908 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Its like a never seen hotel, I would rate it more as a house than hotel for the warmth and cooperation.
Whatever is written by everyone else is absolutely correct. I want to mention one thing, First floor with partial sea view is actually ground floor. On hotel Lift its mentioned as 1 i.e ground floor so hotel also mentions it as first floor and i chose that assuming it to be fist floor.
Breakfast is different and has good variety but monotonous, for a long stay it may be a problem but as we stayed for 3 days i really liked it. The owner's daughter was very very helping. Rooms were very clean and has everything which you can expect from any high end hotel. Rooms were small as they are in this area. Views from terrace were great, we used to have rooftop evenings enjoying our drinks and view, which is unbeatable. Location of the hotel is excellent, just 2 minutes walkaway from all major attractions.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priyanka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our stay in Istanbul couln't have been better. One of the reasons was the Hotel Ada and the wonderful team working there, a descrete, very helpful and adorable family that makes you feel part of it. Whatever you need, they will make it happen, the room was spotlessly clean, the jaccuzi great fun, the view unforgetable, the breakfast buffet couldn't have been better, there is something for absolutely all tastes, and the terrasse is stunning. Airport shuttle, tipps and advices about anything you need to know about the city, laundry, post and telephone services (interational calls are free!) were excellent and extremely reliable.
Me coming from Gaza and my mother coming from Switzerand, it was the perfect holidays for mom and daughter in the perfect place that offered absolutely everything we needed. It was my second time in Ada Hotel, and for sure not the last one!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors on the Marmara side have a stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This charming boutique hotel is run by a retired chemistry professor and his wife. The hotel was built in traditional style with modern facilities in 2006 and is in the old city near the important sites including the Blue Mosque and The Church of Holy wisdom.
The breakfast terrace overlooks an ancient Classical Pillar a mosque and a clear view of the sea of Marmara. The view is rivalled only by the excellent breakfast which is laid on each morning which includes cooked items such as eggs etc.
We were picked up at the airport by the hotel after arriving late in the evening. Next morning after a substantial breakfast a five minute walk took us into the square where the hippodrome used to be. To say we were overwhelmed by Istanbul would not be an exaggeration. The hotel itself played its part by being accessible, good value, spotlessly clean, and comfortable.
I will not be churlish by mentioning minor niggles. They were too insignificant to mention.
How did the owner Dr Dogan help? By supplying antiseptic for a minor injury when all the drug stores were closed and immediately summoning a private car to rush us to the airport when we discovered that we had made an error as to departure times and paying half the fare as we had run out of Euros.
Thank you Dr. Dogan Sumengen once again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

we were recommended to stay at the Ada Hotel in Istanbul and found it to be the most stunning place, the views from the rooftop where we had breakfast each day were absolutely amazing, looking firstly at ancient ruins, and also straight out to the sea.The rooms were extremely large, bright and airy and spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. Listening to the call to prayer from there was such an incredible experience and enriched our cultural understanding. The breakfasts were like going to a wedding every morning, the food was so beautifully prepared and so exotic. The staff that they have at the hotel treated us like family as did Demet and Eva ( the owners). They sat with us and helped us with anything that we needed, advised us on the best places to go to shop and to eat, and then Demet even organised our tour from Istanbul through to Goreme, Cappadocia, Ephasus, Pergamum, Parmakake and Cannakkale and Galippoli and back to Istanbul. He rang us every day while we were away to ensure that we were enjoying ourselves and that everything was running to plan.We have already planned to return there when we go back to Turkey next year. We will be recommending your hotel to everyone as you have given us so many beautiful memories of your place and country. We have told flight centre that they need to have you on their top places to stay at in Istanbul.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front of the hotel looking out towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deniseH102777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Like others, Ada was selected from the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and I couldn't agree more. We stayed 5 nights and the hotel arranged to pick us up at the airport--smooth as silk. The owner, Mr Sumengen arranged two wonderful tours for us--one a small group tour, and the second a private guide for the major sites. Both were exceptional. The roof top terrace is also wonderful--first for breakfast where we enjoyed the views and the great assortment of food; in the late afternoon we enjoyed relaxing at the end of the day with a glass of wine prior to heading out for dinner. Mr Sumengen and his wife Havva are wonderful hosts who pay attention to their guests but are never overbearing. We booked a suite overlooking the ruins with a view of the sea. I doubt the inside rooms would have been as pleasant.

Room Tip: WE very much enjoyed the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WSUGrad1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My son and I stayed here for six days and we absolutely loved the hotel. We stayed in room 202 which had a beautiful view of the sea. It was small, but very clean, well appointed and comfortable. The owners were very kind and the two girls who prepared the breakfast buffet were so warm and friendly. Speaking of the breakfast, it was AMAZING. There were about twenty different dishes to chose from along with scrambled eggs, french toast or crepes! Also, the breakfast room is on the top terrace floor. The views are spectacular and one of my favorite moments of the day was sitting with a cup of coffee enjoying the view.

The location of the hotel is fabulous. It is only two short blocks from the hippodrome where the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are located. The neighborhood is very nice and we always felt very safe walking around at night. There is a great restaurant right up the block (Sokullu) which we ate at three times because we so impressed with the food and service.

I am hoping to return to Istanbul someday and when I do, I certainly will stay at the Ada Hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,173 in Istanbul
803 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#17 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#12 of 1,173 in Istanbul
171 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#6 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,478 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ada Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada Hotel Istanbul

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Sok. No:30 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#48 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $69 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ada Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ada Hotel, located in the centre of the historical peninsula, is steps away from world famous Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Mosaic Museums, Islamic & Turkish Art Museum, Istanbul Archaeological Museum, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar. Ada House brings you comfort with its modern decoration and genuine quality of service. Our rooms have a panoramic view of the Marmara Sea and several historical mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ada Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Ada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing