We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, amazing hosts”
Review of Ada Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #13 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This quaint hotel is a fantastic find. Not only is it exceptional value for money but the hosts are the most welcoming, helpful and generous couple I've come across during my travels. The rooms are spacious, clean, air conditioned and the level 5 terrace has unbeatable views of the sea and city.

The breakfast is fantastic too- seems silly but after travelling in turkey for 3 weeks and eating copious amount of bread you'll understand why I say variety is essential. Best breakfast selection I've seen!

A 5 minute walk to grand bizarre and Hagia Sofia makes the location perfect for sightseeing. There are lots of great cafes and restaurants close by too.

The hosts went out of there way to offer advice on where to eat and what to do and as a solo traveller they really looked after me. I cannot thank them enough for making my time in Istanbul so enjoyable.

I highly recommend staying here- it was by far the best place I stayed and will most deffinitely be returning. Please do yourself a favor and book a room, you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Ada Hotel Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 901 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

First impressions matter. I was greeted by the owner outside the hotel and he kindly took my bags. I was offered a free upgrade to the suite simply because it was available. The owner showed me around and made me feel very welcome. I quickly learned that the hotel offered good free wifi, free international phone calls and water at supermarket prices. I started to wonder what it could be like if the owner were CEO of a global hotel chain. He certainly knows how to give customers what they really want.

The next morning I sampled many tasty foods from an extensive breakfast buffet, whilst sitting on the roof terrace, under blue skies, looking out over the ocean.

The hotel is a very short walk to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia and therefore ideally located for Istanbul's top attractions.

If you prefer smaller family run hotels, this is recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat_9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Ada Hotel on August and we chose the Ada Hotel mainly because of its location which is located in the old part of Istanbul so glad we did. The hotel is in the Sultanahmet which is the perfect part of the city to stay to see the likes of the Blue Mosque (amazing, especially lit up by night!), Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and there's a brilliant tram service running through Sultanahmet so you can easily get to the Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, the Bospherous and other places which lie just outside of Sultanahmet.Additionally a big warm welcome on arrival, attentive staff and a lovely room with a comfy bed. It was really unforgettable pleasure to have breakfast with great Istanbul view.Staff was super friendly and helpful and I recommend Ada Hotel to others.We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shauna186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Considering the location of the hotel and the price this is an excellent hotel.
It is family run, which we really like - not keen on the chains so much. They did their best to help us with all our requests, and were very efficient.
The hotel is located in what we thought was the best part of the old town. Close to key attractions and on a beautiful street.
The call to prayer in the early morning was part of what makes a trip to a city like this. If you're not interested in this, or hate being woken up at early hours find a different city to visit frankly - most mosques have got speaker systems that amplify the sound to a large radius. On the first night there, we got woken at approx 5.15 and decided to go to the blue mosque - what an experience, all the locals seemed to be there for a major service.
Back to the hotel, our room was very clean when we arrived and kept very clean every day. It wasn't the biggest but it had everything we needed. For us, when visiting cities all we need is a clean room with all the facilities that you need.
The breakfast was great - on the top terrace of the hotel overlooking the city and sea, stunning. We enjoyed the food too, plenty to choose from and very authentic.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Topherbradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked this one after reading many great comments, but my expectations weren't fully met. This is not a hotel but a b&b, manager is very nice but usually he is not at the entrance. The room was basic, although good size, and ours had a great view ( on the top floor). The window was not locking properly which helpped the early morning prayers entering the room at a loud tone. Breakfast was in a terrace just above our room, and the amazing view offset the basic offering. All in all good value if one is travelling on a tigh budget. Location is quite good, less than 5 m walk to blue mosque and add just another 2 or 3m to Hagia Sofia.

Room Tip: Stay in a upper level floor as much as possible to enjoy the view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Everything claimed in the Ada Hotel website is accurate, but they don't tell the full story. First, this is actually a bed and breakfast place with a small lift. If the Ada is a "top ten" Istanbul hotel, the rest must be appalling. The "desk" is occasionally staffed by the manager, whose English comprehension is fair at best. If he happens to be on duty, it is an achievement for him to understand what you want and a spectacular success to receive the information you need. The location is within walking distance of the monuments, but it is also throwing distance from a mosque with loudspeakers. The 4.30am call to prayer and neighbourhood noise doesn't lend itself to a good night's sleep. The breakfast is extensive, but is more suited to a Turkish brunch. Food is hot at 8.00am, but warmer trays are turned off, so the food is cold by 9.00am. Believe me, cold fried eggs aren't particularly appetising. The hallway lights operate on a sensor system, so you step out of a lift into blackness and feel along the wall until a light comes on. The room key activates power in the room, including the refrigerator, which means that any drinks or food kept there aren't cold when you arrive back after a hot day in Istanbul. On the positive side, our room, the Ottoman Suite, was fine, the bed and shower were good, the Wifi worked well and the one-way transfer was appreciated. The terrace has a lovely view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geoffrogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Ada Hotel is a small family run hotel in one of the lovely lanes that winds through Sultanahmet from the Hippodrome down to the Marmara Sea. Dognan and his wife and family and their staff offer friendly, helpful and capable service. Dognan is full of information about exploring the old city, Istanbul and its surrounds, and always willing to assist. The rooms are lovely with polished floorboards and rugs, lovely small tables and comfortable, attractive furniture and comfortable beds. The fittings are first rate. The rooms have tremendous views across the top of what looks like a remnant of the ramparts of the old Constantinople and the Sokullu Mehmet Pasha Mosque to the glistening and busy waters of the Marmara Sea. A small lift carries you up to the roof top restaurant where the views of the Marmara and the surroundings are gorgeous. An amazing Turkish breakfast/banquet with dips, savouries, crepes, galatas, mezze, salads, cereals, Turkish tea in a samovar and coffee, herbal tea, black tea, and "starbucks" coffee is served every morning. The hotel is ideally placed just a short walk to the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and all the other delights of the old city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarthurMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,048 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,388 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,159 in Istanbul
922 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,468 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ada Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada Hotel Istanbul

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Sok. No:30 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#48 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $163 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ada Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ada Hotel, located in the centre of the historical peninsula, is steps away from world famous Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Mosaic Museums, Islamic & Turkish Art Museum, Istanbul Archaeological Museum, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar. Ada House brings you comfort with its modern decoration and genuine quality of service. Our rooms have a panoramic view of the Marmara Sea and several historical mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ada Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Ada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing