We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taksim Metropark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taksim Metropark Hotel
Ranked #510 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

I have no idea why people gave good review to this hotel. Actually it is really difficult to call it “Hotel" it looks more like a guesthouse. I will admit that 1-2 staff was nice and educated however rest of them were terrible. When I first enter to the hotel I was shocked how come this hotel has for stars? Its entrance is so small and makes you feel depressed and insecure. The rooms are average quality, but believe me if room is the only thing you are looking for you can find better places with very very reasonable prices. Anything else you expect beside the room is going to be big disappointment.
I booked a sea view room ,which was advised to me before to stay, due to our arrival was early to istanbul the receptionist told us that the hotel is full and we have to wait till noon unless we gave up previously booked room. Since we were very tired, we gave up our booked room and accept anything that they can gave us (which took 2 hours). And then I realized that the hotel was empty. In this empty hotel it took us to call at least 3-4 times to ask for lacking things such as soap.
A friend of mine came to visit me however the "nice" hotel staff stopped him and said that it was forbidden to visit guests at their room. That was very rude and very primitive "guesthouse" minded behavior. When I ask to the staff they showed an unbelievable rude attitude, and I had to chat outside the hotel with my friend. This is ok for small and amateur places however It is not acceptable if a hotel has 4 stars (I will never understand how come this hotel has those stars).
This hotel is nice guesthouse, however it doesn’t deserve more than 2 stars and ten times overpriced then they reserve.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nouma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    90
    37
    12
    4
See reviews for
30
52
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Very valid hotel - we moved to this hotel from the Marmara Hotel at Taksim Square as I was not happy. The Marmara hotel was EUR150 for a double room with breakfast and in comparison the Metropark was EUR90 for a double room with breakfast. Yes the Marmara has a nicer foyer and a pool area but the rooms are VERY cramped, VERY noisy unless you pay EUR30 extra to NOT be on Taksim Square and at breakfast the selection is more vast but wow it gets crowded. In comparison the Metropark is very clean, big rooms, relatively well decorated, free wifi, breakfast still has a good selection (mueslis, juices, scrambled eggs, fruit etc...) and the distance from the Marmara is 50metres! Taksim Square is a good location for shopping and restaurants but to get to the Mosques etc... you need to take public transport/taxis...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

A very nice hotel in a very nice spot. A hidden gem right in the center of the city. I will definitely come back. It is often cheaper from other overpriced hotels in the same area, however it is definitely one of the best hotels in the Taksim square area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodore2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

Cannot beat the location, clean nice hotel. I thought rooms were very nice, clean, good condition. The hotel is right in Taksim Square. The breakfast were OK...not fantastic, but they were decent. I paid 85 Euros per night, breakfast included, stayed 5 nights, They also had car service to meet me at airport for an extra 25 euros, which was nice after a 13 hour plane trip. The view from my room was of a back alley. I did not really care.I was very pleased overall, would definitely stay again. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asiatraveler142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

Good location just off Taksim square. Metro, funicular, shopping street just around corner. Easy access by funicular and tram to Sultanahmet area. Nice bars to have some Efes near by. Hotel is clean. We had a big room on non smoking floor. No problems with aircon/heat. Staff was very friendly. Very special thanks to the breakfast buffet cook for extra service (sunday 15th of March)!
To enjoy excellent panoramic view over the city: go to the roof bar/restaurant of Marmara Pera Hotel. Bit expensive, but worth every lira.
We stayed both side of the city and preferred Taksim area, cos it's cheaper and no huckster.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarja-reissaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

Taksim Metro is a great place to stay. Its centrally located and is just 15mts away by taxi from all the great sights. Rooms were decent so was the breakfast. I would definitely recommend this place if you want to have best of both old and modern Istanbul. Word of caution - the taxis available near the hotel may cheat you sometimes by putting the night tariff meter so beware! You may end up paying double of what the normal price is.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlevDurucan, Manager at Taksim Metropark Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2009
I thank you very much for your kind comments.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back at Taksim Metropark Hotel when your travels bring you to Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed in Taksim Metro Park in August 2008 for 4 nights.
The hotel is a typical city/downtown 4 stars hotel,in the best location (Taksim Square) but still very quiet.
The rooms are spotless, modern and some of them (like ours) have view to the Bosporus. However, they have no balconies and they are quite small. Bathroom is fine, but the A/C system is a bit hard to interpret (for instance it somehow started in the middle of the night!!)
One thing that was a bit disapointing, was breakfast. Even if it was buffet style, the hotel owners should enrich it...don't expect much..
Reception works perfectly, these people are very friendly and they can help you out with your transportation, answer all kind of questions etc
The price we paid(110 euros/night) totally worth it, we have a feeling that value/money reached 1/1.
In general i would recomend this hotel for buisness travels or to people like us, who wanted to walk the city, go sightseeing and been to the streets nearly all day. .
If you ask for luxury, this is not the right hotel for you..

  • Liked — Location, Value/Money, Front Desk
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SpyrosT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#450 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Beyoglu
CVK Hotels Taksim
CVK Hotels Taksim
#366 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Hill Hotel
Taxim Hill Hotel
#749 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#96 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Beyoglu
Aston Residence
Aston Residence
#402 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#351 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taksim Metropark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taksim Metropark Hotel

Property: Taksim Metropark Hotel
Address: Gumussuyu Mah. Osmanli Sok. No:4 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#323 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taksim Metropark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Istanbul in Taksim Square. Walking distance to shopping area, night clubs, theatres and exhibition centers. Subway and bus station are only a few steps away. Our well decorated, spacious, luxurious rooms and suites will make your stay comfortable. You can enjoy the luxury with affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Taksim Metropark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taksim Metropark Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing