We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Bosphorus experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Ottomans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Les Ottomans
Ranked #497 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Authentic Bosphorus experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Of all the luxury hotels on the Bosphorus (Four Seasons, Ciragan, Sumahan, etc.), Les Ottomans provides the most authentic experience. The house is a renovated Ottoman-era residence, and there are only ten rooms (the owner lives in the house).

I liked the location, but I would not go there for a first visit to Istanbul. Kurucesme is an upscale part of the city (the Ferrari garage is across the street of the hotel), with very few foreign tourists, a lovely view of the Bosphorus, some good fish restaurants and private yachts moored in front of a small park. It is far from Sultanahmet, but it is a good base to visit the villages along the Bosphorus, and it is a few bus stops away from the Dolmabahce Palace, Yildiz Park, Istanbul Modern and the boat to the Princes' Islands.

The rooms are all very large and very comfortable (first time I have had music in the toilet!). The 'garden' is small and close to a road, so I recommend a room with full Bosphorus view or 'garden' / Bosphorus view (room 101). The rooms are serviced from a desk on the first floor, and this works well (I loved the huge basket with fresh fruit and the platter with dried fruit after checking in).

The Caudalie Spa is one of the best city spas I have seen, and the staff there is also excellent. The spa is open to outsiders (members, day pass), and the staff in the fitness area did not speak much English. I had a very good massage in the traditional hammam.

The major weaknesses of the hotel are the restaurant and noisy events. Because the restaurant is used for events, it does not really function for the hotel guests at many times. The same is true for the bar next to the restaurant. The waiting staff do not speak English and seem only concerned with the events, not with the hotel guests. Breakfast was a disaster: slow and unprofessional service, very basic Turkish-style breakfast. There was a party one day with loud music until midnight. When you pay about 1000 euro per night, all this is a major disappointment.

Despite this, and the fact that the rates are crazy by Turkish standards, Les Ottomans is a special treat if you want to experience Istanbul in a private palace on the Bosphorus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
30
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Hotel les Ottomans is a fantastic place to stay in Istanbul. The people that work there are passionate and really make your visit special - use them. The location is great, on the magnificent Bosphorus view and the suites have everything you need to make a stay in Istanbul memorable. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boutchou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

This place is hilarious. Seriously funny. If it didn't cost so much you would actually be in stitches laughing at just how absurd it it.

The entrance foyer is just lined with photographs of the owner fresh from an Essex spray tanning salon with every Turkish soap opera star imaginable. The place is so self-indulgent by the owner it made me feel like I was at a car crash with Planet Holywood and the Michael Jackson Estate.

We ate dinner in the restaurant. I ordered tenderloin with foie gras and potato gratin. It came as an incinerated piece of steak, french fries and without the foie gras. That was 77TL. I asked for the menu from 4 waiters to check that the menu description was accurate and I hadn't ordered the petrol station special.

I was right. When I questioned it, the waiter said it was perfect and pointed at the french fries and said "potato" and then waved at the steak and said "fois gras on top". Needless to say, I said "rubbish" and sent it back. All of a sudden my meal was returned to me with a whole foie on top .... bone cold. And, let's just say there was nothing tender about the tenderloin.

The hotel website indicates it is close to Old Town, Topkapi Palace, Sultanahmet and Hagia Sophia. I am sure it is not far by super-charged jet boat, but with a driver you're looking at an hour each way.

Please, please, please ... just go there as it should be on the tourist map as somewhere truly comical. Don't stay or eat, maybe just a gin and tonic on the terrace ... but go. TOO FUNNY.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Buffham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

If you're traveling to Istanbul to visit the City this is NOT the place you want to stay unless you're prepared to spend almost an hour, each way, each day to get to the "Old City"/Sultanahment area. We just returned from a four day stay and to say we were disappointed is a bit of an understatement.

The hotel itself is situated right on the Bosphorus near the towns of Ortakoy and Bebek which are the hip and happening, young, rich Eurostyle set. Fancy cars, fancy boats and expensive restaurants. If you didn't know you were in Turkey you could have easily guess the French of Italian Riviera. EVERYWHERE you go you have to take a taxi unless you use the uber-expensive VIP service which comes with a Bentley, driver and "attendant" with an earpiece looking like he's taking care of someone very important. A bit too "over the top" for us!

Rooms are very large HOWEVER do not stay in a room with a "garden" view. There is no garden you're viewing..you're overlooking the entrance of the hotel which is about 50 feet away from the very busy road which you'll hear ALL night long. Lots of fancy accoutrements in the rooms - electronic shades, electronic temperature, TV, etc. We could not get the overhead rain shower to work until the last day of the stay because communications were a bit difficult. So...we settled for the Waterpik-like portable unadjustable shower stick that managed to hit you directly in the back of the neck.

The service was very helpful but the English was quite spotty so oftentimes it took 2-3 different people before we could get someone to help us.

It appeared to be an "events" type hotel and not one at all used to helping people that are there to sightsee and visit the town. The hotel only has 10 rooms and we were the only non-business types there. It felt like it was closed down and the place was a summer, on the Bosphorus hot-spot - the pool wasn't open and the sitting areas outside weren't really open.

We didn't eat there because we don't really like eating in a place where we'd be the only ones dining. We did have breakfast one morning and it was quite good but took a long time to arrive. The one room service breakfast came 25 minutes after the time we requested it.

All in all...for US$900 a night this was totally not worth the money....location left a LOT to be desired and we felt like we were the people that showed up at a party...uninvited.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cocochest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

staying at this hotel is so amazing that you will not want to leave to explore the rest of istanbul! expect champagne and canapes upon arrival with a staff who caters to your every need and whim - each room has a remote which is used to control the tv, the ac, the black out curtains, the windows and the lighting - the rooms are very tastefully decorated with very rich and lavish colors - the spa is of the most highest quality, with a beautiful turkish hamman and indoor and outdoor pools - the spa even has a shower with lights and aromatheraphy to replicate being in a rain forest, a thunder storm and a mountain setting! each morning a breakfast is delivered to your room at your requested time with the freshest ingredients - the service, the food, the room and the staff all come together to make this boutique hotel experience a truly magical one!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

This place is magic! First I thought that it was overrated but then when I experienced the hotel I realized it was worth every penny!!! You feel like a king and you are treated as one. The private limousine came to pick us up from the plane stairs, we didn't bother with the customs hassle, then we arrived in this beautiful luxurious historical palace where a very qualified and involved staff was expecting us... Champagne' caviar served in our room, the bar, breakfast and the spa was included in the room rate! Our room was a beautiful suite viewing the Bosphorus, MAGICAL!!! The 2400 m2 Caudalie Spa is unique, the massages so delightful, the service uncomparable. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but we extended 3 more nights: Dining at Les Ottomans is incredible, their Australian Executive Chef offers a delicious international Menu but you may also try the Ottoman Menu to discover the amazing Ottoman and turkish cuisine!!!! As a Jazz music 'connaisseur' we spend our evening's at the Q Jazz Club' the New-Yorker singer Hazel Paige showed amazing performances every nights... As they say Excellence is REALLY their Heritage... Looking forward going back again this summer with my husband, we really had a second honeymoon after all these years...

  • Liked — The decoration is Antique Ottoman style but the Amenities are topnotch technologik
  • Disliked — Only 10 suites, it's hard to find a room availability as it is full with the world Jet-set!!!!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Dollitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#480 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#63 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uskudar
Sumahan on the Water
Sumahan on the Water
#227 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ottomans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ottomans

Property: Les Ottomans
Address: Kurucesme Mah. Muallim Naci Cad. No:68 Kurucesme, Besiktas, Istanbul 34345, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#166 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#320 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Ottomans 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Les Ottomans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Ottomans Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing