We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most terrible spa experience EVER”
Review of Les Ottomans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Ottomans
Ranked #430 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Most terrible spa experience EVER”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were there for a Retreat program in the private spa suite. In the private suite, the jacuzzi was very cold, they forgot to heat it up. I got a terrible rash on my body from the Caudalie massage wax.. we wanted to go out several times during our stay, but I could not put on a dress for a week because the rash was so bad. I would not recommend!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank florina598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelinCongerAkar, Guest Relations Manager at Les Ottomans, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Florina598,

We appreciate your valuable time spent for sharing your important comments with us regarding your experience at Caudalie Vinothérapie Spa.

We are extremely sorry regarding your final result of treatment you have experienced. Your valuable comments have been seriously taken into consideration and shared with Caudalie Head Office in Paris.
As our Spa director had informed you via email regarding your feedback before, we also would like to remind you that, the temperature of jakuzzi is adjusted to 34 degrees and the heat remains constant.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further questions and expectations as we would be pleased to host you and your valuable guests in our hotel and spa with the hospitality that Les Ottomans is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
30
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location is by far the best thing about this property and then it has to be the staff. The decor is OTT and some of the messages from the owner, simply comical. There is a whole wall in the downstairs lobby which is a monument to her with photos of what must be famous friends and a documentation of the various cosmetic surgeries she has endured. We could not help but feel that the property was more about a personal journey/idea than about hospitality.They might have been trying to give a personal touch but it somehow borders on a cult of personality. Yet the property is not without merit, once you see through the tsunami of bling and the over kill of high tech, there is a lot that actually works. The staff, we could not fault. Unlike some aspects of the decor, they were discreet, un-intrusive and highly efficient. The suites were loaded with toys that were hardly needed but as pure space, it was good value. The location was amazing with a very good selection of local restaurants just across the street. We were lucky to have a car and driver gifted by our local friends but it was evident that getting city cabs would not have been a problem. and the views from the quay side were magnificent.Had it been summer and the weather clement, we would have been quiet happy sitting by the water sipping champagne, wearing t shirts with the owner's picture on them, if needs be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LuxNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelinCongerAkar, Guest Relations Manager at Les Ottomans, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Luxnomad,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Les Ottomans. We also appreciate your valuable time spent for sharing your important comments on Trip advisor.
We will be pleased to host you and your family in our hotel during your next trip, with the hospitality that Les Ottomans is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My experience with the hotel was horrible. The rooms are not advertised, as it is on website. Aside from the room, I found the staff to be some of the worst I have. All in all my experience at this hotel was not good and I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone else. And if you do stay there, make sure you carefully review your bill upon checkout.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jplef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelinCongerAkar, Guest Relations Manager at Les Ottomans, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jplef,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Les Ottomans. We also appreciate your valuable time spent for sharing your important comments with us regarding your experience at our hotel.

We are extremely sorry for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and your valuable comments have been seriously taken into consideration and shared with all our team members.

I remain gladly at your disposal for any further assistance you may require.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further questions and expectations as we would be pleased to host you and your valuable guests in our hotel with the hospitality that Les Ottomans is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Yes, its great location, good service and so on. But here are the catches:
- STIFF price for cramped and tired rooms
- The cleaning crew left our garbage for 3 days; noe trash bin was cleaned out, champagne and glasses that was 3 days old wasn't taken away, fruit for 3 days was just sitting there with small flies over it
- When you are welcomed and shown the room, our concerigies was not very warm, but more superficial and you could really feel he was just saying the things he had been thought, but didn't care for it at all.. That was a big disappointment
- Stiff prices for the pay tv (even though the room is VERY overprized)

I was not pleased with my stay. I spent a lot of money and still feel I did not receive the service that I am accustomed to in top flight hotels. The hotel has a great location but it needs some work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Valcoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelinCongerAkar, Guest Relations Manager at Les Ottomans, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valcoch,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Les Ottomans and your valuable time to share your comments regarding your experience at our hotel.

Please accept our full apologies for the discomfort you have experienced during your last stay and we will take all neccessary actions, as your remarks are most valuable to us since they help us to improve our service and identify those weaknesses where excellence of service is not being honored.
We remain gladly at your disposal for any further assistance you may require.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for further questions and expectations as we would be pleased to host you and your valuable guests in our hotel with the hospitality that Les Ottomans is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeddah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Simply the best hotel in Istanbul...The spa is magical...if you are lucky enough to have a booking there,i highly recommend staying there...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felicite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelinCongerAkar, Guest Relations Manager at Les Ottomans, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Felicite77,

First of all we would like to thank you your valuable time spent for sharing your important comments on Trip advisor regarding your experience at our hotel.

We would be pleased to host you and your family in our hotel during yoour next trip with the hospitality that Les Ottomans is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This property is a destination as much as it is a hotel to enjoy Istanbul. For travelers who are returning to Istanbul, rather than first-time visitors, the experience of Les Ottomans will enhance the romance and magic of this exotic city. The hotel staff, concierge, chef and spa did everything possible to make certain that every request was met and arranged for us a private yacht for a day on the Bosphorus, dancing under the moonlight to the music mixed by their DJ, and prepared a meal under the stars that guaranteed that this would be our only hotel ever in Istanbul. Do not be put off by the cost. This hotel feels as if you are staying in your own home. The gym and spa are one of the finest ever experienced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherry651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelinCongerAkar, Guest Relations Manager at Les Ottomans, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sherry651,

First of all we would like to thank you your valuable time spent for sharing your important comments on Trip advisor regarding your experience at our hotel.

It will be our deepest pleasure to host you and your family in our hotel during yoour next trip with the hospitality that Les Ottomans is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Was lucky enough to spend a few hours in the spa and can quite easily say it was the best 3 hours spent of my life!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavingRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelinCongerAkar, Guest Relations Manager at Les Ottomans, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear RavingRover,

First of all we would like to thank you your valuable time spent for sharing your important comments on Trip advisor regarding your experience at Caudalie Vinothérapie Spa.

We would be pleased to host you and your family in our hotel and spa during yoour next trip with the hospitality that Les Ottomans is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Uskudar
Sumahan on the Water
Sumahan on the Water
#219 of 1,147 in Istanbul
376 reviews
Ajia Hotel
#469 of 1,147 in Istanbul
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#350 of 1,147 in Istanbul
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ottomans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ottomans

Property: Les Ottomans
Address: Kurucesme Mah. Muallim Naci Cad. No:68 Kurucesme, Besiktas, Istanbul 34345, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#291 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Ottomans 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Les Ottomans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Ottomans Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing