We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“220 Euros a night is not what i call value”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #295 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Only a short walking distance to the Blue Mosque, and Boy did we know it, we landed right in the middle of Ramadan. The Noise was incredible and no let up untill late into the night or should i say early hours of the Morning. That aside, the Hotel from the street is rather a non event, but having checked in we found the front counter helpful and efficient. The rooms are not large but were generaly clean, its one of the few hotels by the way that didnt ask for money for packet coffee. We did a two day trip to Galipoli and Troy and i was pleased that the hotel was prepared to securley lock up our suitcases for us to retrieve later. The chef who cooked the Morning breakfast was anxious to please and although basic was quite well prepared.
The shock was the room rate 220 Euros a night and 19 Euros for Breakfast, now i am quite happy to give this hotel a 3 star rating But thats not what i call value for money!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 723 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

I am taking the time to compliment the staff and management of the Faros Hotel in Istanbul, Turkey as they did an outstanding job. They made one feel important and special although we were holiday makers from Australia we appreciated the help and service provided by them.

The location was special for a first timer to Istanbul, close to the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. Although it was only a 4 day stopover it was certainly excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortPowerW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We booked the Hotel from a recommendation from a family member. We were not dissapointed, the hotel is a classic boutique style hotel with a personal touch for the traveller who doesnt enjoy the characterless hotel chains. It is located on Divan Yolu which is the main street in Sulltanahmet and within walking distance of the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palce and the Basilica. The service in the Hotel was excellent at all levels from mangement to cleaning staff. The breakfast included in the rate was good with a mixture of Turkish and European foods. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone wishing to explore Istanbul. Although our room was situated at the front of the hotel the double glazed patio doors to our balcony provided excellent sound proofing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordie_travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Faros Hotel is conveniently located on the Tram line and directly across from central attractions such as the Blue Mosque. The staff of the Faros are friendly and attentive with ready advice on local attractions and dinner recommendations. Females traveling without male escort should take care when travelling to Turkey; a tour group might be more enjoyable. Additionally, while staying at the Faros, someone attempted to gain access to our room in the middle of the night: whether staff or management we know not. Luckily, the chain was on, but unaccompanied female travelers are little more than prey in Istanbul and unfortunately, this extended into the hotel as well. Women beware.

www.faroshotelistanbul.com

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toomuch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

A perfect location right in Sultanhamet, the historic heart of Istanbul, within walking distance from the main attractions. The rooms are clean, nice and warm. Hotel has a lively cafe/restaurant serving drinks and food at reasonable prices. Helpful and gentle staff always ready to give you some hints.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

The hotel was really close to a lot of the sites. Because of the small size of the hotel, the staff really helped and got to know us. The waiters especially in the restaurant were really fun and joked around. The rooms were also nice and clean. Some rooms are a little small, but still really nice and clean. Also try the restaurant, it is really convenient and delicious. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesometraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

This was one of our most amazing trips. Thanks to Faros for making our holiday so special. We were expecting an average service/facility, but Faros far exceeded our expectations. The hotel manager & his staff were extremly friendly. The hotel is centrally located with lots of cafes & restaurants in its vicinity. Rooms were very clean & tidy. I would highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul on a leisure trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLEUWAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#347 of 1,178 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#80 of 1,178 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,178 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#84 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing