We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in an ideal location to explore the many historical sites of Istanbul”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #296 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We booked the Hotel from a recommendation from a family member. We were not dissapointed, the hotel is a classic boutique style hotel with a personal touch for the traveller who doesnt enjoy the characterless hotel chains. It is located on Divan Yolu which is the main street in Sulltanahmet and within walking distance of the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palce and the Basilica. The service in the Hotel was excellent at all levels from mangement to cleaning staff. The breakfast included in the rate was good with a mixture of Turkish and European foods. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone wishing to explore Istanbul. Although our room was situated at the front of the hotel the double glazed patio doors to our balcony provided excellent sound proofing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordie_travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 723 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Faros Hotel is conveniently located on the Tram line and directly across from central attractions such as the Blue Mosque. The staff of the Faros are friendly and attentive with ready advice on local attractions and dinner recommendations. Females traveling without male escort should take care when travelling to Turkey; a tour group might be more enjoyable. Additionally, while staying at the Faros, someone attempted to gain access to our room in the middle of the night: whether staff or management we know not. Luckily, the chain was on, but unaccompanied female travelers are little more than prey in Istanbul and unfortunately, this extended into the hotel as well. Women beware.

www.faroshotelistanbul.com

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toomuch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

A perfect location right in Sultanhamet, the historic heart of Istanbul, within walking distance from the main attractions. The rooms are clean, nice and warm. Hotel has a lively cafe/restaurant serving drinks and food at reasonable prices. Helpful and gentle staff always ready to give you some hints.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

The hotel was really close to a lot of the sites. Because of the small size of the hotel, the staff really helped and got to know us. The waiters especially in the restaurant were really fun and joked around. The rooms were also nice and clean. Some rooms are a little small, but still really nice and clean. Also try the restaurant, it is really convenient and delicious. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesometraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

This was one of our most amazing trips. Thanks to Faros for making our holiday so special. We were expecting an average service/facility, but Faros far exceeded our expectations. The hotel manager & his staff were extremly friendly. The hotel is centrally located with lots of cafes & restaurants in its vicinity. Rooms were very clean & tidy. I would highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul on a leisure trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLEUWAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four days in June 09 and the loctaion was excellent, the staff were very pleasant and accomadating and the breakfast was very good as well...we would like to gie Kudos to Okan and the rest of the team at the bar and resturant for all their generosity...if you have to visit, we would surly recommend here to stay, as it is within walking distanve to all major attractions and resturants...blue mosque, hagia sohpia, centine (think i spelt this wrong), grand bazaar....the hotel can even organize pick up at the airport once arranged in advance together with tours.
We would be definately going back...thks to all again at Faros...

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rzmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Enjoyed our stay at the motel. It is within easy walkingto all he main attractions. Rooms a clean and spaceous. The breakfast which is served in the restaruant was very good. The menu was hard to choose from with so many great meals on offer, Stayed for 3 nights, it is a shame it wasn't longer. I was even able to catch up with my emails, using there free wireless internet connection in the room. Would definitly suggest a stay here. The staff were helpful when needed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdwing62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#56 of 1,173 in Istanbul
901 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,566 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#84 of 1,173 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#63 of 1,173 in Istanbul
1,488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#349 of 1,173 in Istanbul
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#204 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing