We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #253 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Stayed in Faros for one night before leaving the country the next day, my friends contacts, price and location decided my stay here.
The location of the hotel is perfect, the taxiride to airport takes app. 20 mins(~20 euros/ 38 liras), Faros is also close to Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, and tramline.
I was happy to find a waterboiler with complimentary coffee&tea, plus a bottle of water. Also the way of decorating the room satisfied my eye, there is also airconditioner which might be handy in summer, but this time it wasnt needed. My room was quiet due to facing the inner yard, sadly i didnt have too much time to enjoy of the balcony i had available. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and the selection of the food was more than satisfying, even after most of the other guests had had their breakfast before me.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lufcdeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    243
    55
    9
    12
See reviews for
214
260
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Very friendly and helpful staff at the Hotel Faros. The room was very clean and had tea and coffee making facilities. Good choice at breakfast and restaurant in the evenings.
The location was ideal , within walking distance of many of the sights and other restaurants if you didn't want to eat in.
The shower cubicle in our bedroom was a bit of a tight squeeze but OK for a a short stay.
Drinks, tea, coffee, soft drinks and wine are very expensive in Istanbul e.g. £3.50 for coffee and £4 for a glass of wine. Whereas eating out is comparable
to the UK.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedstepmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Small, nice and clean, kind of a boutique Hotel. Friendly staff. Spacious room and bath.
Very central location (less then 5 min by foot to Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar), bit noisy due Tram and main street. Tried only breakfast, and this was quite good. Wisited Isatnbul in February, theroefore the whole area was not so crowded, possible that in the main season hotel and sourrondings are quite overcrowded....
Booked some month in advance (flight & hotel packeg via EXPEDIA), therefore the price was very favourable!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolkerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My family and I went for my daughter's wedding. Everything about the hotel was great - it was spotless, the staff were friendly, considerate and very helpful. The hotel is also well placed for visiting most of the tourist sites. Trams very handy.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Only stay at this hotel if you've got very little time in Istanbul and just want to be near the tourist sites. Otherwise this area is too touristy, with very average restaurants. The room itself was much smaller than in the pictures, though very adequately furnished. The biggest problem was the toilet type smell when you entered the room - i guess this was because the exhaust fan switches offf when you lock the room door. pretty bad!!
the reception staff was generally quite useless..didnt know about restaurants in the area or other amenities we asked them about.
all in all, i would only stay for a very short time, if i was getting a good price only.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TulliM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I'm just back from a week-end at the Faros with 8 friends. We were all very impressed. The staff were efficient, helpful and great fun. The food was very good and reasonably priced. We would all stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The early morning 'call to prayer' from a nearby mosque
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SagaLoutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough U
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Stayed at the Faros for 4 nights is January. Istanbul was very cold, but we had a very warm welcome from the staff at this hotel.

The pictures on the web sites show the premium rooms and not the standard rooms, but all the rooms where very clean, nice and warm.
People have complained about the noise of this hotel, we did not find that a problem as we where right at the top of the hotel but our friends who had one of the premium rooms where above the front door and complained about the door opening and closing through the night (they need a door silencer).
The staff are lovely and speak really good English the food is great and the service is good.
There is a huge choice from the breakfast buffet and also a couple of warm dishes and the one thing I really liked was you were not rushed so if you wanted to sit there an hour drinking more coffee and helping yourself you could.

Food is comparable to London prices but alcohol is very expensive there and kept bumping up our food bill a lot.

The Hotel is located in a great position, where you can walk to all the sites. I would really recommend visiting the Basilica Cistern , and spend ½ a day at Topkapi Palace its amazing,
I was not keen on the Grand Bazaar and the blue Mosque was lovely but only spent an hour there.

I would recommend this hotel as we loved the staff and the food was great and you are in such a central position. Credit to the manager.

  • Liked — The Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craddocksue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#101 of 1,156 in Istanbul
462 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#284 of 1,156 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#296 of 1,156 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#142 of 1,156 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#62 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Property: Faros Old City
Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#182 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing