We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday stay”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #255 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday stay”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hotel was excellent. The hospitality, the service, the food, the atmosphere, etc, Everything was perfect. We would recommend to anyone. We went from the UK on 05/03/2014 and stayed until 09/03/2014.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenmen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    243
    55
    9
    12
See reviews for
214
260
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've wanted to go to Istanbul my entire and life and decided to go on a whim, last minute with 12 hours notice. I got a package deal with Faros as the hotel. Made for the Idyllic trip! Its in the best location- center of everything- so I got to hit my goal of seeing all the majour sites. Tons of cafes/restaurants around plus lots of fast food. Staff was super helpful- especially the GM named ZULKUF.
The hotel itself is very clean and I had a suits- I imagine the other rooms are small but with all the 3/4star amenities you could want. I always like a fitness centre which is the only thing they didn't have so it was arranged I'd use a fitness centre next door.
The complimentary breakfast is a proper spread too!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a four day trip to Istanbul. We just loved this hotel ...the rooms are so comfortable and the staff , the best ever. The location is absolutely perfect on a charming street and at walking distance from the major sites of interest.
We were welcomed by Mr Zulkuf who immediately made us feel at home and was a delight to talk to. The next day we met Mr Erkut and Mr Serhat who were so very kind and helpful and really made our stay so enjoyable.
It's the perfect place to stay in all aspects and I'm recommending it to everyone I know...

Room Tip: higher floors will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrln c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We took advantage of Turkish Airlines low winter airfares and booked a trip to Italy. On our return we over nighted in Istanbul at Faros Hotel in Sultanahmet. Mr. Serhat greeted us warmly and gave us many tips for seeing the highlights of Istanbul in our one day. He went over and above in his help to us since our luggage had been stolen in Italy. Thank you Mr. Serhat for your help and assurance of our time spent at this hotel. The room was large and very comfortable, provided free water and a %15 discount of dinner. This is an excellent hotel and location for seeing the center of Istanbul. By booking directly on their web site we received a free transfer from the airport upon our arrival.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Faros Hotel for a 5 day trip to Istanbul.

At first we thought it wasn’t very impressive due to the counter being very unusual however we were surprised to the level of service we received once we stayed the first night. Room service was amazing, housekeeping would clean our room every day without fail, the facilities were excellent and we got free mineral water every day! Serhat was amazing at the reception along with all other staff.

The mattress was a little hard and bed sizes could have been better. TV was small and limited to 15 channels, only 2 out of which were in English! They could improve on their TV packages but apart from that it was amazing. We had a one year old in a stroller with us and accessibility options in the hotel and even outside in tram stations etc was good.

Location is unbeatable. We were 100 metres away from Sultanahmet metro station and with the Istanbul Kart (travel card) it was amazing to stay mobile without having to use expensive taxi’s. Blue Mosque, Museums and other attractions were only a walking distance away. McDonalds right opposite the hotel and Burger King a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

I would avoid using the restaurants near the hotel as they are quite expensive (unless your dining in Faros because you will get a 15% discount). We found that if we head towards Eminönu (3-4 stations away and costs 1.95 TL per person on the metro) the food was considerably cheaper and better. Again shopping in the Grand Bazaar is not as good as it is made out to be(in terms of price). Instead try shopping at Ahmet Pasha which is just outside of the Grand Bazaar and much cheaper.

Overall I would say it was an amazing trip and I would love to go back to Istanbul and stay at Faros.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I spent 5 days in faros hotel sultan ahket ,it was nice ,but there was a person there that help me very much and always answer my question by patient and always has nice smile on his face ,he was hotel reseption Mr Serhat .thanks a lot Mr Serhat!

Room Tip: room on 4th floor has good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank najme h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was my first time in Istanbul, and this hotel was brilliant. The location is the best thing about the hotel. it is opposite the Blue Mosque, it is within walking distance to all the main attractions in Sultanahmet. The tram stop is outside the hotel, so travelling to other places is really easy. There are many food places nearby.
The staff are super friendly and are always available for help. Serhat, the receptionist provided me with information for tours and how to get to attractions myself, e.g. princess islands.
The hotel is clean and has a mini bar in the rooms. there is free wifi and water. there is a kettle and coffee and tea sachets. there is a hairdryer in the bathroom. They provide airport transfer, i paid 27 euros each to the hotel and back to airport. i stayed in the room facing the main street which was nice and lively.
this hotel is definitely good value for money and i look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazmin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#107 of 1,156 in Istanbul
464 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#287 of 1,156 in Istanbul
381 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#301 of 1,156 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#141 of 1,156 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#62 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Property: Faros Old City
Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#184 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing