We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended Hotel”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #240 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended Hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was my first time in Istanbul, and this hotel was brilliant. The location is the best thing about the hotel. it is opposite the Blue Mosque, it is within walking distance to all the main attractions in Sultanahmet. The tram stop is outside the hotel, so travelling to other places is really easy. There are many food places nearby.
The staff are super friendly and are always available for help. Serhat, the receptionist provided me with information for tours and how to get to attractions myself, e.g. princess islands.
The hotel is clean and has a mini bar in the rooms. there is free wifi and water. there is a kettle and coffee and tea sachets. there is a hairdryer in the bathroom. They provide airport transfer, i paid 27 euros each to the hotel and back to airport. i stayed in the room facing the main street which was nice and lively.
this hotel is definitely good value for money and i look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazmin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    242
    55
    9
    12
See reviews for
214
259
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2014, booked 5 double rooms. The rooms within the same category varied quite a bit in sizes. Still, every one was clean n comfy, except that my shower was tiny. Airport transfer was 35 euros each way for 10 of us. The hotel is clean and staff (thanks, Mr Erkut Guven) friendly & helpful. Free WiFi & water. Complimentary breakfast ok but not stellar. The hotel location is unbeatable. It's 5 minutes walk to Blue Mosque, Ayasophia, Grand Bazaar, Basilica Cistern, etc. Numerous shops and restaurants around the hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 205 is big, 206 is bigger. Room 406 is small but with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Penang
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked two double rooms with king size bed via the website directly and checked in after midnight. Unfortunately one of us was put up in a much smaller room with twin beds and no street view at the same price. We stayed 3 nights and we were glad to get a free pick up from the airport. It was during winter and the price is 3 times cheaper if you were to stay in summer.

The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi, international plug (for UK) and mineral water. Breakfast (warm food) was limited and even with 15% discount, dinner in the restaurant is still considerably expensive.

The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Sultanahmet, 5 minutes walking distance to Sultanahmet/Çemberlitaş tram station, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Basilica Cistern, Cagaloglu Hammam etc.

Would highly recommend Faros Hotel Sultanahmet to the first time travelers to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Take the lift to 4th floor and follow the stairs to the balcony for an aerial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Faros hotel. The location is superb as you are surrounded by lots of eateries and interesting shops. It is a quick walk to the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. We were also able to walk to the Grand Bazaar from the hotel as well. We ate regularly at the hotel restaurant because it offered hotel guests a good discount. The staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable and were always happy to help us with our requests. We had a family room and it was very spacious. The hotel has a lot of character and is very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I came here randomly to watch a football game whilst drinking a few beers. The customer service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend anyone to come here for drinks and even the main courses looked delicious.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herákleion, Iraklion, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Faros a few days ago with my family, and I was surprised with this hotel. It is in the best position for those who want to visit Istanbul. It is right next to Aya Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar and all the places worth visiting in Istanbul. It is very clean, the breakfast is great and it looks like a 4 star hotel in a small package and good price.
When in Istanbul again I will definitely stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitriscrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is very central and close to the blue mosque and the Grand Bazaar.
The breakfast was more than ample and included in stay.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. They atranged taxis & tours for us.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#264 of 1,150 in Istanbul
375 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,150 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#298 of 1,150 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#164 of 1,150 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#62 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,258 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#111 of 1,150 in Istanbul
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Property: Faros Old City
Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing