We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #300 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel location is perfect, what with it being only a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and a 10 minute walk to the Grand Bazaar. There are also lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The staff was very helpful and always friendly. The rooms were clean, modern and a good size for this kind of boutique hotel. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection of options including lots of fresh fruit. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 465emily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel. As I understood, your stay here was pleasant which is something really gratifying to us.

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 723 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very centrally located, close to most must do sites in Istanbul. Rooms are not 5 star quality but clean and comfortable. Staff are extremely helpful, especially two gentlemen Mr. Suat and another person who provided us with service comparable to 5 star quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amairah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff. We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good location, just 2-3 minutes from the Blue Mosque and very 1 min from the Tramway. Could get to the Grand Bazar from in a tram in like 5 mins max. Big room, corner suite, quite rare in this area. Amazing staff, very friendly, would play and hold my 18 mth old son every time they saw him :)

Ask for Suat, great friendly and helpful guy, and the bell boy Hakan. One night, the other Manager even bought me some Turkish tea while I was arranging my airport dropoff, which I really appreciated.

Bathrooms are modern and quite well equipped (wasn't expecting toothbrushes/tooth pastes/shaving kits, but got it all). Some parts of the bathroom are a bit worn out with paint pealing off but that didn't bother us at all. Good buffet breakfast. Over all, awesome experience and would surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are really big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice hotel, a bit tired with paint peeling etc but clean and tidy with great staff. The bathroom was incredibly small, we stayed twice in one week and had two different rooms both bathrooms were adequate but tiny.
Location is brilliant and hotel is quaint with great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a great area, everything is close by, the staff were great, especially Erkut and Suat, (sorry if I spelt the names wrong). Nothing was too much trouble for them. Each time we were greeted with refreshments and a smile. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of food. I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svetdim70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff. We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Though we stayed for only 1 night, it was a nice experience especially the friendly staff. I had booked 2 rooms, and although we arrived early in the morning, we were given 1 room to put our stuff in and relax. Location is great within walking distance to major sites.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel. As I understood, your stay here was pleasant which is something really gratifying to us.

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location was great. Right on the Tram. After some less than comfortable hotels. This location was very comfortable. Very clean. Modern washrooms. Good air conditioning. Strong WiFi for those that care. It is very close to the historic sites, like a couple hundred metres to the Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. I would stay again.

Room Tip: A room not facing the tram would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel. As I understood, your stay here was pleasant which is something really gratifying to us.

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#346 of 1,175 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#92 of 1,175 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,175 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#66 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#205 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $44 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing