We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid location. Good Value. Great Staff”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #240 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Solid location. Good Value. Great Staff”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location was great. Right on the Tram. After some less than comfortable hotels. This location was very comfortable. Very clean. Modern washrooms. Good air conditioning. Strong WiFi for those that care. It is very close to the historic sites, like a couple hundred metres to the Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque. Staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. I would stay again.

Room Tip: A room not facing the tram would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel. As I understood, your stay here was pleasant which is something really gratifying to us.

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    242
    55
    9
    12
See reviews for
214
259
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Faros Hotel Sultanahmet in June 2013 during the protest weeks in Taksim. We were re-booked there from the Faros Hotel Taksim. The Hotel itself is small, cozy and with nice, large rooms dierctly located at the famous Davin Yolu street with a 5 min walking distance to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and other famous sight seeing spots.
It has a nice restaurant with what looks like very good food (we didn't try the food for lunch or dinner, just breakfast which was really good).

The best part of this already great hotel is the staff! From the roomservice to the restaurant everyone is really friendly. Especially the 2 concierges are super friendly and helpful. Especially Suat booked us nice places for dinner, helped us with insider tipps and with our luggage.

We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Veit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write review on tripadvisor ,considering our hotel facilities and services.

We wish you all the best for your life in hope to see you with us again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent three nights at the Faros Hotel in the Sultanahmet district of Istanbul. This was our second visit to this fascinating city and we knew with our limited time we didnt want to spend too much time on the tram, so the location of the Faros was one of the main reasons for our choice.
We had a lovely room with great views of the sunrise. The staff was always polite and very helpful to us. Breakfast was a delight, with abundant choices. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for your nice review and the time you spent to write it. It was a real pleasure to host you in our hotel and is still a honor for us to count you as our guests.

Me and our team wish you all the best to you and hope to see you again in Faros Hotel Istanbul.

May you have my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Sadly we were only at the Faros for one night and left very early but it was a lovely hotel and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We were too early for the usual breakfast so they made us up 2 delicious breakfast plates and had them ready when we came downstairs! Nothing was too much trouble. We ate dinner at the restaurant twice - wonderful menu and outstanding service. Will definitely return. The location couldn't have been better. Thanks Faros Sultanahmet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Faros Hotel team would like to thankyou about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a room with a queen size bed we arrived and the receptionist said :Is it a Problem if we gave you a Twin Beds Bedroom,??? We said yes Sir it will be a big Problem, so he was great and acctually upgraded us to a Suite Bedroom.
The Location is near the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, and Grand Bazar but it is soo Loud at night, the tramway passes every 10 Min. They clean the streets arround 2 or 3 am every morning and we visited during RAMADAN so the streets were too croudy!

If i go to Istanbul again i would choose a Hotel outside of Sultanahmet Str. somewhere quiet and calm
The staff were great very friendly and helpfull they told us were the best places for Shopping are :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel. As I understood, your stay here was pleasant which is something really gratifying to us.

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Because of its close proximity to the important tourist sites, it was wonderful to be able to pop back to the hotel during the course of the day for a bit of R&R before heading out for more sightseeing. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to assist me. Great little restaurant perfectly situated for people watching! I would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the hub of the tourist area.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level and around the back or side of the hotel will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spend three days here at the beginning of July 2013 (then left for Marmaris) but came back for two more days before returning home. The service is great both in the hotel and the restaurant. Prices are very reasonable and the location is fantastic if you want to tour old Istanbul (five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace and Spice Market plus many others) this is the place to be. We love Turkey and will be coming back and will be staying here while in Istanbul for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 301 which had lots of room for an extra bed for our daughter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Me and our team in Faros Hotel Istanbul hope that you were pleased to stay in our hotel.

Faros Hotel Team are trying to do the best to make you feel comfortable ans special.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay among us,

Hope to see you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#264 of 1,150 in Istanbul
375 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,150 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#298 of 1,150 in Istanbul
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#164 of 1,150 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#62 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,258 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#111 of 1,150 in Istanbul
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Property: Faros Old City
Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing