We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than 2 Dozen stays in the same hotel”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #247 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had to leave a review for this hotel since February 2011 when I first visited it. Since then I've visited the city and the hotel for more than 2 dozen times for business, family vacation, vacation with friends and even solo. Other than Istanbul being the city of great exuberance, this specific charming hotel adds to the whole unabridged experience just to leave you with more thirst to visit the city again and again.

You could stay in this hotel and feel like home. It is 3 minutes walk from everything that is extremely significant to be seen in this city while you're there. 1 minute away from tram station, 5 minutes walk to the blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, to the amazing public garden with daily theatrical performances, around 7 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar, 3 station away from Spice/Egyptian Bazaar, and even 15 minutes away from the port to hit the islands for a day by the tram. you can hop-on hop-off the buses just after 5 minutes walk to have a great tour and view of the city.

The management of the hotel is ample. I have been contacting Mr. Erkut Guven for all my reservations for the passed 2 years and he and his team are always more than ready to assist even if they are in a tight schedule to deliver requests and assistance. Recently, I can add Mr. Suat Uslu for his remarkable assistance be it for when I'm visiting the hotel or when I'm overseas trying to accommodate. The hotel's Staff members are all very friendly, efficient and ready to be useful at all times.

The hotel provides a rich breakfast in the morning (Turkish and continental) and provides all staying visitors with a 15% discount to Faros Restaurant which is conjoined to the hotel and serves the best of the best food in the location.The rooms are clean,cozy,with clean bright toilets, wooden planked floors and radiant lights providing a harmonious system. The hotel is well-managed where they spare no time to upgrade your room to a better one or even a suite.

I can go on forever describing my experience in this hotel in this specific city, however the only rigorous advice I can give is DO RESERVE this hotel and DO VISIT the city from there on!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main road are always busy translating the rich, loud, aromatic lifestyle of th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ugeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

No one could explain our hotel as much as you, in detail.

The entire team of Faros Hotel Taksim will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Greetings from Istanbul.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Faros Old City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 716 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just had the time of our life at the Faros Hotel. Hotel manager, Zulkuf and his team were superb and made our stay very pleasant. The hotel is in the heart and buzz of it all. Very clean and well managed. Keen to help and extremely friendly. This was my 3rd time to the city, will not stay anywhere else. You can walk everywhere and the area is very safe. We were on the streets till late and felt very safe. The family room for 4 were spacious and catered for all our needs. No pool but aircon very efficient. The restaurant at the hotel is one of the best as well. We tried quite a number but returned to Faros for top quality. What a treat, thanks Faros.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you are a family of 4. Only a few rooms available for families.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronelviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant :Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff. We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved this boutique hotel, it was clean, the location was great and staff were fantastic. I stayed there twice this year and for sure coming again next time in Istanbul. Highly recommend this cute and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faroslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for your nice review and the time you spent to write it. It was a real pleasure to host you in our hotel and is still a honor for us to count you as our guests.

Me and our team wish you all the best to you and hope to see you again in Faros Hotel Istanbul.

May you have my best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Ideal location for sites, transport and eating out although the hotel is very good itself, the more so with 15% discount. Basic, clean hotel with excellent and very helpful staff especially Suat and Zulkuf. Great 5 days. Istanbul (and hotel) are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Only 20 rooms - ours was floor 4 and fit for purpose.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relation Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Jimmy and Frances,

Thank you so much for the review and for your interest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear your satisfaction wıth the hotel facilities and services provided by our staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

There are 2 Faros Hotels in Sultan Ahmet we stayed in the boutique hotel a small hotel with great service. Stay included breakfast and friendly staff they also gave 15% off food bill to residents.
Suat and the other staff were great .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivienne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Faros Hotel Taksim associates for your wonderful review. .We have 3 Faros Hotel in istanbul,one in Taksim area and two others are in sultanahmet and sirkeci .In all Faros Hotel Group,We are always trying to do our best for our guests.

We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Awesome location to see the sites. Central location to everything you want to see and tram is right outside the door if you need to go further. Hotel is showing its age. Room was dated and bed was rock hard. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Good restaurants right outside door. If you go in expecting a great location and serviceable room, then you are all set. You'll be out at the sites anyway, so who cares if its dated. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Faros Hotel team would like to thank about your extremely valuable observation about our hotel facilities and services provided by our staff. We hope to host you in our hotel again with an unforgettable memories and would be really pleased to see you again here.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Besides the great location, at the heart of Sultanahmet, almost near every hot spot in the old Istanbul, the staff is extra kind and polite.
The price and the breakfast are reasonable.
Good room size and, of course, free wi-fi!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcelo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant : Neda Sarvari at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you to share your ideas and experience that you had in our hotel.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in Faros Group.


Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#97 of 1,161 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#245 of 1,161 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#263 of 1,161 in Istanbul
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#136 of 1,161 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#105 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#180 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing