We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, spacious room, nice food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Faros Old City
Ranked #243 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious room, nice food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in Istanbul. We had booked the hotel in advance and were disappointed when we came there and learned that the previous guests hadn't left the room because of illness and that no other room was available to us at the Faros. The staff was super friendly and very apologetic and transferred us to another hotel where we were supposed to stay only one night. However, our room wasn't ready the following day either. To cut a long story short: to compensate for the mix-up, Faros gave us a free dinner in their nice restaurant the last day of our stay and free transfer to the Sabiha airport. Location is great: strolling distance from Hagia Sofia, The Blue Mosque, etc. The room was really nice, spacious and clean and not noisy at all although it faced the street. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit and dairy products. Staff was super nice and friendly. Too bad we didn't get to spend more time there. The hotel we got transferred to for the two first nights of our stay was a far cry from Faros despite of its luxury status. If we ever go back to Istanbul (great city by the way), I would not hesitate to return to Faros.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDanesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your intrest for our hotel .

As Faros Hotel Team ,i want to thank you for your understanding and your patience.Unfortunately,we had some unexpected problems in hotel.But be sure that we are trying to do our best to make you satisfeid and feel like you are in your home.

Our hotel team are very pleased that we welcomed you here.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    239
    53
    9
    12
See reviews for
213
257
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived at the hotel to have the concierge tell us that our room had not been vacated by its previous guests, and as the hotel was fully booked, we would have to be relocated. Obviously not want you want to hear after a long day of travelling. We were relocated to a hotel around 350m away, which was quite opulent, and the staff more than accommodating.The breakfast at the temp hotel was located on the rooftop, which had beautiful views of the Istanbul skyline.
The next morning we went back to Faros, where the staff went out of their way to make up for the inconvenience of the previous night. We were promptly allocated the honeymoon suite, a private get-away on the hotel's rooftop. This was accompanied by a delicious fruit platter and bottle of wine.
The staff were very knowledgeable on local sights and provided great recommendations on dining, travel and sightseeing.
The room was cleaned daily, and the hotel was well maintained. The hotel breakfast was ok, not much choice, but there were plenty of other options nearby.

Room Tip: If you're planning on buying something at the bazaar, reduce the vendor's suggested price do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your frank review.

İt is great to hear your satisfaction with the location, facilities and the staff of our hotel.İt is our policy to continuously improve our customer’s satisfaction in order to earn higher scores.But unfortunately,some times, we are facing with some unexpected problems but in any case we are looking for solutions in order to prevent any inconvenience feelings from our guests.
So,thank you vey much for your understanding .

Be sure that we will do our best in your next stay here to make you more satisfied.

We wish you happiness and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice this year so far and very pleased to say service was consistently excellent. Staff was very friendly and helpful at every opportunity. Location is excellent to visit the most popular historic sites, all at a walking or a tram ride distance. Istanbul card must have for all the public transport. You can use it for the tram, busses, ferry and the metro and there are many places to top it up. The food at the hotel restaurant was great. Both of my stays I had a very specious room and it was very clean also Beds were really comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the time you took to write it. We really do appreciate that our former guests are feeling concerned about the services we are offering in our hotel.

We hope to see you again in Istanbul,

Warm regards and all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a fabulous long week-end in Istanbul with my girlfriends. The Faros Hotel is superbly located, within walking distance of many of the main attractions such as the Blue Mosque. Although it is in the middle of all the hustle and bustle, it is an intimate hotel, run by an incredibly welcoming and helpful staff. The food was good too. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBHamptonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I want to thank you for your comment which is making us improving ourselves every day. It is with these kind of comments that we can see , where our team do have to improve. It will be a real pleasure to see you in Istanbul and in our hotel again.

May you have all my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unbeatable location for the historic sights, and next to a tram stop for further afield. A good price for plain but immaculately clean and comfortable rooms. Some a bit small. Quiet in back-facing rooms, noisy on the street as you'd expect. Really tasty food in the restaurant and good value with guest discount. Best of all: nothing was too much trouble for the super-friendly staff, extra pillows, boat trip advice, taxi booking, you name it. A really good experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xerox1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much from all the Faros Hotel Istanbul team for this really nice comment but also for your fidelity to our hotel. Your comment , is showing us what our guests like in our hotel and about our team, but I also hope it is helping people who are reading this comment to make a choice in which hotel they are going to stay when they will come in Istanbul.

Me and our team wish you all the best to you and hope to see you again in Faros Hotel .

May you have my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent location - near the Blue Mosque , Aya Sofya, Topkapi Palace and other important sites.
Clean room, very good breakfast, nice and friendly staff.
Very good restaurant, and there is 15 % discount for the hotel's guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yabdallah_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so much grateful for your wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service we are offering. Faros Hotel team will be looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Exellent location, 150 meters walk to santa sofia and the blue mosque, 100 meters to cistern, very centered, you have good quality restaurants and fast foods around, shops also. The rooms were clean and very quiet. We recommend the restaurant it has an exellent quality and service, also they give you a 10% discount if you are staying in the hotel which is a plus.
Also the receptionist were very helpful, they were concerned about the 1st of may riots and they actually made us save the money of a tour which we have taken that day, and we didnt know our main interest which was the dolmabache palace was closed. In general we had a great trip and we were happy to have chosen the right hotel between an anormous variety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calera973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review and for your intrest for our hotel .We are so glad that you had good time in our hotel.

You can be sure that your satisfaction is very important for us and we made 15 % disscount in restaurant for hotel guests.

Our hotel team are very pleased that we welcomed you here.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#92 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#97 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#81 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Property: Faros Old City
Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing