We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb formula!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #245 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb formula!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break in Istanbul staying at this hotel. We would highly recommend it to anyone as an extremely well-situated, modern and clean accommodation supported by very friendly and efficient staff. Breakfasts are superb, ample with many hot and cold options. We ate in the restaurant 4 nights out of 5 which is a testament to its great menu and good quality food. The atmosphere is lively and the place is extremely popular with tourists and locals. All of the waiters are highly professional and extremely courteous. We got to know the name of one who was very good: Ersin. Only one suggestion for improvement - fit thermostats to the water supply in the showers as the water temperature fluctuates rather a lot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne_papathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you took to write it. It is always a pleasure for us to read the opinion of our guests about our hotel.

Be sure that anytime you want to come back to Faros Hotel Sultanahmet, you will enjoy your stay !

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    239
    54
    9
    12
See reviews for
214
257
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great place to stay during our first time in Istanbul. Top attractions Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Great Bazar and Çemberlitaş Hamam just within short walking distance. Hotel is not totally new, but very tidily kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful. From the hotel's roof terrace you have a nice view to Hagia Sophia and the the Golden Horn/Bosporus. Breakfast was more than ok, dinner in hotel's restaurant surprisingly very good. Would go there immediately again - and maybe even will do so soon! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb_vie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me thank you for your nice review and the time you spent to write it. It was a real pleasure to see you in our hotel and is still a honor for us to welcome you as our guest.

Also we are trying to do our best to help you as much as we can and to make you feel at your home.

Again I thank you for the review and would like to wish you all the best for your life.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We (41y,39y, 6y) spent four nights at the Faros Sultanahmet. The hotel is located a couple of minutes of walking from the main attractions in Istanbul (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Cisterns, Topkapi). An additional advantage is the tram station, which is only 100m away, and which connects you very comfortably with the other tourist attractions (ask for the "Istanbul card", saves your time and money).

A lot of restaurants are around the hotel, but check the reviews in advance, as some of them do not offer value for money. If you have children, who are not fond of local cuisine as our son was not, there is a McDonald's right accross the street.


It seems that Istanbul is very childfriendly. I don't know exactly up to which age, but a lot of things were free, the entrance to the attractions, the tram, the ferry, the boat cruise on the Bosphorus, and last but not least our hotel.

The room may not be the biggest, but it was nice and clean. We asked in advance for an additional bed for our son, and it was done till our arrival. The mattress was in good shape, we slept very well. As it was pretty cold at the time of our stay, we slept with closed windows, and didn't hear nearly anything from outside. I don't know how it is during summertime, but as the rooms are air-conditioned, I assume that it should not be a problem to sleep with closed windows.

The bathroom was comparatively big and also clean. You have to get used to the water-taps, as some of them have to been turned to the right, others to the left for open and close, which is a little bit confusing. But at least you are awake after a hot and cold shower.

An additional bonus is, that you don't have to care for water after an exhausting sightseeing tour, as you will find every day a new big bottle for free in you room.

Breakfast is served in the intergrated restaurant. Not very diversified, but nevertheless a pleasent offer of fresh and tasty food.

Particular worthy of mention is the staff. Very nice, very helpful, very friendly. Special thanks to Suat for finding my lost camera.

All in all we are more than pleased, and we are very satisfied with the value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdMuZg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

From all the Faros Hotel Istanbul Team, let me thank you for your remarkable review and also for the detailed and particular point of view.

It is also with these kind of reviews that people can understand the quality we are trying to offer to all of our guests.

If you come back to Istanbul, we would be really pleased to see you and be aware that you are more than welcome in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

amazing hotel and amazing atmosphere .Greatest experience so far in istanbul.not to forget the most amazing staff they are so welcoming and caring.the location is perfect close to all historical places,grand bazar, .......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Bano,

Let me thank you for your review and the time you spent to write it. Faros Hotel Sultanahmet is really glad to see that guests are feeling concerned about the quality and the services offered by the hotel and that they write reviews on TripAdvisor.

It is good to read you enjoyed your time in Istanbul and in our hotel and we hope to see you again here.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband surprised me with a week-long getaway to Istanbul for my birthday and our anniversary. The staff at Faros were more like family than employees. I found all of them to be very helpful and sweet sending my husband and I to the best restaurants and shopping districts in Istanbul. After a day or 2 we felt like one big happy family there especially with Neda and Suat who did their best to show us the best time in Istanbul. For my birthday, the staff surprised me with an amazing birthday cake which I though was so touching and extraordinary. The location of the hotel was beyond any other, some staple sightseeing venues such as the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Ayasofia, Gran Bazaar, and best Turkish Hamam in town are all walking distance from the hotel. public transporation is readily available outside the hotel. Actually we are planning to go back to Istanbul sometime in July and we can't wait to stay at Faros again! thank you guys for an amazing experience :)

Room Tip: call the hotel directly. They offer better prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Rose,

Thank you so much for writing incredibly beautiful coment here.

It was so nice meeting and welcoming you in Faros Hotel Sultanahmet and I am so glad to hear such a remarkable review from you.

Be sure that anytime you want to come back to Faros Hotel Istanbul, you will be more than welcome !

We are looking forward to see you again here.

I wish you happiness for you and your husbend in your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Farros for 6 nights. Great location, fantastic staff and very filling and tasty breakfast. We had problems for several days getting into our room as there was something wrong with the key card reader but the staff were quite apologetic and helpful. Rooms are just fine... nothing amazing to write home about but comfortable and clean. Also I celebrated my birthday while there and we came back from a day of traveling to find a birthday cake with sparkers and candles! Very fun!!! I highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper possible ask for a higher level floor as alley is busy and somewhat loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your nice review on our TripAdvisor's page.

It was a real pleasure for us to welcome you and your wife in our hotel. We are really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay as much as us and that you hope to come back. We will be really please to welcome you again.

May you have my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very good location. It is a 5 minute walk to the Sultanahmet tram station and a 10 minute walk to all the major attractions.Nice hotel, clean rooms.The staff is friendly and warm,always eager to help you and provide information about almost everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Tamara47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Guest Relations Representant at Faros Old City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Tamara,

With all the Faros Hotel Istanbul team, let me thank you for such a nice review ,you took the time to write. We are glad to read your stay among us was as pleasant as for us. We hope to see you soon and wish you all the best for your future.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#88 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#292 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#206 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#170 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#90 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Property: Faros Old City
Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#140 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing