We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel review”
Review of Faros Old City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faros Old City
Ranked #255 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

excellent location and accommodating staff - the meals were reasonable and we appreciated that breakfast was included. Some rooms are noisier than others especially rooms just above the outdoor dining area.The beds were two singes joined together so we ended up with a king bed - a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, General Manager at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for such a nice review and also for the time you took to write .
Me and all the Faros Hotel Istanbul Team was really pleased to welcome you in our hotel and we hope that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city. We are trying to do our best to make you feel comfortable.but because of the location that our hotel has,its is very central and all the time is crowded ,and it is in main street and next to tramway.in this case we have possibility to change the room,if it is bothering our guests.
Also it is always as nice to see that our guests are enjoying what our staff is trying to do for them to make you more relaxed and more enjoying your holidays.

We wish you all the best,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Faros Old City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is in a a great location, and the staff where super friendly, and helped with all my enquiries. The guest relations representative was very helpful.
I would recommend to anyone looking for a central Istanbul location, where all of the major sights are within easy walking distance. To boot, the restaurant has some good food, which doesn't always happen in hotels.
I stayed in three different rooms, all of which where clean and comfortable, and while they are starting to look a little tired on closer inspection, they are still very liveable, and I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this hotel.
It's also a nice little bonus that if you stay more than a couple of nights, there is free transport to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Suits have plenty of room, corner rooms and upper floors are the nicest spots to be.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, General Manager at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you took to write it.It was a real pleasure for me and all of the Faros Hotel Sultanahmet to welcome you.We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay among us and that we could have helped you all your stay .

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I don't really have much to add to what I'd read before booking. The rooms are small but comfortable, the staff is helpful, breakfast is good if not always prompt. I would have liked a top sheet, but apparently this aspect of bedding does not exist in Turkey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, General Manager at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

we would like to express that we are very pleased to welcome you in our hotel and thank you for your interest in our hotel .Also, thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.com. as you normally that aspect of bedding system is usuall in turkey in most of the hotels,but maybe we can recommend for our house keeping team.

Thank you very much for your review and for the time you took to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor and other sites and were not dissapointed. The hotel is right in the heart of the old city within walking distance of all the main attractions. We had booked 3 twin rooms but on arrival only 2 were available so the receptionist upgraded the 3rd room for the first 2 days. Rooms were clean and to a good standard but the safes didn't work in any of the rooms and why do they 'lock' the aircon setting. The hotels restaurant offers a limited breakfast menu and the evening meal was excellent. The staff were helpful, friendly, always keen to give advice on how to get around. Overall a very good experience. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bittu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Directeur général at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Bittu,

Thank you very much for your review and for the time you took to write it.

It was a real pleasure for me and our team to meet you and all your family. Your stay was a pleasure for us and it is always good to read that you enjoyed it either.

As the safe boxes are concerned, they do are working but it is true that being electronic is not the easiest situation. You could have just asked and we would have come to fix it up for you.

We hope that you liked our city and that we will be able to see you soon.

Best regards from all the Faros Hotel Sultanahmet Team,


Serkan Ustunol,
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I chose the Faros based on Trip Advisor recommendations and it was great. Excellent location near the Blue Mosque and other attractions. Outstanding service that was both helpful and couteous. We dined at the hotel's restaurant on one occasion and the meal was to a high standard. The room we had was generally ok. They had the world's smallest remote control for a TV which initially we didn't recognise! The bathroom was a bit dated but nothing really to complain about. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prado123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelGM, Directeur général at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Prado123,

From all the Fros Hotel Sultanahmet Team, let me thank you for your nice review and also for the time you took to write it.

It was a real pleasure for us to welcome you and to count you as our guest. We hope that we did not do anything wrong and that we could have helped you to enjoy your trip as much as what you were expecting.

Best regards,


Serkan Ustunol,
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from four days at this hotel as a family of four. The location is fantastic (right on the tram line) and the staff were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped us with phone calls and navigation without hesitation.
We needed an additional bed in our room, which was made up before we arrived. The room was still spacious enough for all four of us, and it was spotlessly clean.
I would definitely stay here again when visiting Istanbul - for the location and staff!
Thanks for adding even more to our wonderful Istanbul holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelManager, Directeur général at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear SashaRJ,

Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you took to write it.

It was a real pleasure for me and all of the Faros Hotel Sultanahmet to welcome you.
As we like to say it, we are here for you, to make you feel like in a place you know and you like and that is why we are trying to help you and satisfy you in all points.

We hope that all your family is going well and that we will have the luck to see you again.

Best regards,


Serkan Ustunol,
Sales and marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My friend and I had such a great experience with this hotel. From the moment we got there until we left, the staff were incredibly helpful, kind and patient. They helped us navigate our way around istanbul, booked restaurants, booked cruises, booked transfers for us and went well beyond the service required. The hotel is in the perfect location, close to all of the main attractions in old city and right next to the tram stop. Breakfast is good. The hotel restaurant serves awesome food. The rooms were clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarosHotelManager, Directeur général at Faros Old City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear indybeee,

Thank you very much for your nice review from all the Faros Hotel Sultanahmet Team. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay among us and that we could have helped you all your stay long.

We hope to see you again in our hotel as well as in our city.

Best regards,


Serkan Ustunol,
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#88 of 1,159 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#245 of 1,159 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#262 of 1,159 in Istanbul
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#137 of 1,159 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,470 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#163 of 1,159 in Istanbul
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faros Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faros Old City

Address: Divanyolu 76, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#185 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faros Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faros Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Faros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing