We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Megara Palace Hotel
Ranked #232 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

You will love this 3 star hotel if you want great location, friendly service and clean rooms. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are bigger than others in the old city and the location is superb ( 5 min walk to metro)! They greet you with a big smile when you arrive. Thank you for my amazing stay and the lovely apple tea!

Helpful?
Thank JuliaRUnow
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    161
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
59
175
55
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PP
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel has a great location near the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. The price was very good (under $100) while many hotels in the area charge well over that amount. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the top floor. You can see the walls of the palace, the water, the Asian side of the city, and the sun coming up while you eat. The rooms are a little small but this is basically a budget hotel in an older building so one should not expect a large flat for the prices that are charged. Although the building is older it is well maintained. The rooms have replacement windows (vinyl) that fit in with the building (faux wood look) and replacement wood flooring. The wood flooring in the hallway is older but very well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in April and had a very pleasant stay.

Arrival:
Upon arrival we were greeted very heartily and friendly by the staff in reception. The overall appearance of the reception is one of a well managed place – neat, clean, tidy and efficient.
Our room was allocated and our bags were carried up the stairs to our room.

The Room:
Our room was not very spacious, but there was enough space for two people and their luggage.
The room was clean and tidy with slight wear in places and pleasantly decorated. There was a single European (two round pin) power socket available for guest use. The bathroom was modern, clean and well ventilated. The shower is very nice(with a big soft “rain” head) – a small oddity is that the shower has no door, so it is a semi wet-room design. There is also a hair dryer and shaver socket.

Staff and Service:
The staff are friendly, polite and courteous. Yes, we went through the routine being offered/sold excursions, dinners, etc etc. but after politely declining these offers, the attitude was still very friendly and professional throughout our stay. Upon every return to the hotel, we where warmly greeted without any further expectation of sales, tipping or anything of that nature.
Our room was serviced every day and the bathroom was restocked with towels, soaps and shampoos when required. When we needed a light bulb to be replaced that was done without asking twice.
The staff are very keen to help with directions and local knowledge too.

Amenities/Facilitates, breakfast and Jacob the parrot:
Breakfast in the terrace dining area is an experience in itself – what a joy watching the dolphins play in the Bosporus every morning while having breakfast!
Breakfast was a buffet of mostly local/regional style of food – Fruits, nuts, yoghurt, honey, several types of bread, jams as well as some cereal etc. coffee and juices. The hot foods were limited to boiled eggs, cocktail sausages and a vet nice local pastry.

The terrace restaurant also serves dinners and lunches and is an attraction in its own right. No elevator access unfortunately.

Strong WiFi signal with good connectivity and speed.

Jacob the parrot in reception is a treat! I was worried about him keeping us up at night, but the only thing we ever hear from him was a very softly spoke “bye bye” when leaving in the mornings.

Getting there & the general location:
We booked a shuttle from the Sabiha Gokcen Airport, which cost us 10 Euro per person each way via istanbulairportshuttle.com – it was a shared shuttle service and the dropped us off last but also picked us up last on the return journey to the airport. There is a taxi lot outside the hotel as well if you prefer to take taxi's but with the efficiency of public transport, there is hardly a need.

The hotel is located in the heart of the tourist district, just minutes away from attractions by foot!

The public transport system is great too and you can get an electronic (RFID) travel card onto wich you can load credits. The good thing about this is that more than one person can travel using a single card – Journeys cost just under 2 YTL for tram, bus or boat journeys at the time of our visit.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlKotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I happened upon this hotel while exploring the area of Istanbul, below the Sultan's Palace. Marlum, in charge of the dining-room, invited me in to take photos from the 5th floor resto terrace. I couldn't believe my luck. It was a gorgeous place with flowers, a soothing running water fountain, and a lunch menu that included sea bass caught that same day! I basked in the afternoon warm sun, while watching the traffic of various boats on the Bosphorus strait with the Prince islands in the distance. The meal was excellent, the service charming, and the location breath-taking!

Room Tip: I only ate at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kits0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just come back from Istanbul.

The Megara Palace Hotel in Sultan Ahmed exceeded all my expectations.

The hotel is ideally located, just a few minutes walk away from the most of the attractions in this area. The rooms are clean and comfortable . The service from all the staff is very friendly and efficient. Rooms are, as expected, serviced every day. The dining room is located on the top floor with a terrace that has a magnificent view over the Bosphorus. We had breakfast included, very good variety of fresh foods. In my opinion this hotel is well worth the money spent and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenamiteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed five nights with three other friends and all had separate rooms which were clean and certainly adequate. The young lady in the roof restaraunt and the staff on reception were extremely helpful. The Owner seemed a little pushy in respect of who to use for boat trips and taxis to the airport. We got a taxi back to the airport from right outside the hotel (where they stand) to the airport for 20 euros as apposed to 35 euros he had quoted us. As long as you are aware of this the Megara Palace is very nice friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are given a room you do not like ask the staff and if another is available you will be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

POSITIVE
- Can’t beat the location. 2-3 mins walk to Haghia Sofia and Topkaki Palace; and 6-8 mins to the Cistern Basilica and Blue Mosque. Although close to all this attractions it’s located in a quiet street.
- Friendly and helpful staff.
- Free wi-fi in the whole hotel. The connection was fast but not very stable.

NEGATIVE
- Small rooms, but big enough for a short stay and small luggage.
- Breakfast with limited and basic choice, although enough to get you started.
- outdate and worn out furniture.
- Bathroom smelled badly.
- Borderline cleanliness – overall it was not dirty but still it didn’t look like they payed particular attention to this issue.

CONCLUSIONS
It’s an ok hotel for a short stay (especially if you do not have much time in Istanbul and would like to visit the main attractions in the old city by foot and in a relaxed manner). However it is a bit overpriced for the overall quality and service (40 EUR a night for a double room in the low season seemed excessive for what we got).

TIPS
- Expect to pay 40 TL for the taxi from Ataturk Airport to the hotel. If you have the time (and not carrying much luggage) you can take the metro (which is infinitely cheaper). The closest metro station to the hotel is Sultanahmet (close to the Blue Mosque) and it will take you 6-8 minutes by foot (maybe a bit longer with luggage) to get there. Then you just have to change lines at Aksaray and get the line that goes straight to the airport. The total metro trip takes about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mute_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
#183 of 1,140 in Istanbul
360 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#199 of 1,140 in Istanbul
595 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
#322 of 1,140 in Istanbul
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#262 of 1,140 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,140 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#172 of 1,140 in Istanbul
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megara Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megara Palace Hotel

Property: Megara Palace Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad. 8, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Megara Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Megara Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megara Palace Istanbul
Megara Palace Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing