We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect hostel!!!”
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanbul Hostel
Ranked #479 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Civitavecchia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect hostel!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Istanbul hostel is very nice, friendly, economic..... His position in sulthanamet is perfect for turistic site (aya sophia,topkapi ecc.....).
If you have need of laudry, trasport to aereoport, organizzation of tour is possibile at responsable price.
The toilet and bath are clean, and the double room is romantic and big, dormitory is big and comfortable....
Hallo by Elisa e Christian (Italy)!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    57
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
7
22
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

I tried to book with the Istanbul hostel 3 times over a period of three months. The first 2 attempts were by email, and I received email replies in both cases stating that my request for a booking had been received and would be confirmed in due course. After 3 months had elapsed I smelled rat and rang the reception, whereupon I was told that the hostel was booked out.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank angelopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Istanbul hostel is a cheat. After reading many good reviews I booked this hostel via email and got confirmation. When arrived there, they denied any such email. I requested to check mailbox again, but they said internet is not working. Then they offered a bed in their partner hostel of CEN Sultan. My culture doesn’t support a mixed dormitory, but had no option at 9 pm in an alien city. The partner hostel had cold dirty cellar as dorm and toilet with transparent glass door. There I met other two ladies with the same story.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Sutapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Nobel is a small and lovely hostel in sultanahmet.. in front of ArastaBazaar.. Lovely and friendly.. close by all historical places.. And BBQ party in Terrace really nice.. Thank you to nuri and Mehmet..so much, hope you will help other backpackers like did to me.. then they will enjoy istanbul trip.. thank you for everything.. seeya again.. yeyy..

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank overrlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villaga, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2006

Istanbul Hostel
35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet
Istanbul

I stayed at this hostel over the past weekend, it was a last minute booking since I bought my plane tickets on-the-spot just before the plane departed. I arrived at the hostel at 4AM, and they were kind enough to give me a bed at that ridiculous hour without a reservation.
Throughout my stay the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.
The location of this hostel is fabulous - within easy walking distance of all the city sights, and the cost of a stay here is amazingly cheap - I paid just a little over $10 USD per night and that included, in addition to lodging, free breakfast and 24hr internet.
More importantly than any of the above was the staff - words cannot express how wonderful they were. On my last night in Istanbul I became gravely ill, and they not only took me to the hospital, but they stayed at my side during the doctors visit, and then they even drove me to the airport since I had missed my shuttle (and I was flying out of Sabiha Gökçen , which is nearly an hour away from the hostel).
For a female travelling alone their kindness was probably life saving. I would ask that anyone looking for lodging during a stay in Istanbul PLEASE patronize this establishment, you will have a spectacular stay.

Istanbul Hostel
35 Kutlu Gun Sokak, Sultanahmet
Istanbul

Helpful?
16 Thank SBrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#371 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#489 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#576 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Lavanta Hotel
Lavanta Hotel
#420 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#746 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#578 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Property: Istanbul Hostel
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing