We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, IDEAL location”
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanbul Hostel
Ranked #479 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Friendly, IDEAL location”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 3 nights. The main reason for my stay was to meet up with friends and do some sight-seeing in Istanbul. We stayed in a 9-person dorm room. The room was simple; the safes inside were very handy, just be sure to bring your own padlock. Overall, it was great value for money.

The location is fantastic. It's really close to some of the main tourist attractions (only minutes from the Blue Mosque, and a short walk (15/20mins) from the Grand Bazaar. There is a lovely cafe/bar nextdoor to the hostel, and there's a great choice of bars and restaurants on a parallel street.

The staff in the hostel were very friendly, and helped us to arrange taxis/shuttle buses to our next destination. I would definitely stay here again if I was to go back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Just make sure to bring a padlock if you want to use the lockers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen_Harney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    57
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
7
22
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Fantastic location to all the sights in Istanbul and lots of places to eat and drink just a street over. Great roof top for afternoon drinks and watching sunsets. Really good value for money. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyhbne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A functional and adequate breakfast with polite staff I have to admit I liked staying here even though the basement downstairs was quite cold and dark. The staff are helpful althought there's no common lounge area, the large dorm. area downstairs is able to provide a decent enough place for people to meet.

No visa cards accepted though - which I found slightly primitive. No laundry facilities. Decent enought wireless though.

Room Tip: I only experienced the dorm which was large, open, slightly dark but probably quite cool in the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahotaonlinetuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

You can't do better for a location in Istanbul. Literally in shouting distance of both of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue mosque...nice terrace bar and an adequate but simple breakfast. Pretty good price too...staff was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at this hostel, extending my stay originally from 3 days up to 10 days.

I met some really great people and we all spent a lot of time together at this hostel. Paco is the main host there and he is also super cool and friendly.

The balcony is a great place to just hang out and kill time and there is a free Turkish breakfast there every morning with tea and coffee.

There were just a few shortcomings about this hostel. Wifi was in and out. The main floor had no hang out spot. It was too cold at night. Other than that though the place was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank My2BareFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Istanbul hostel is one of the best I have been so far. Ofcourse there is no place where everything you like but here i like many things. Best posible position on blue mosque square, very friendly stuff, view from terace is great, beds are comfortable (orthopedic matresses you will respect after night crawling very much), very nice place to stay :)

Room Tip: You can bargain a bit for a good price ;) they will offer you discount for more nights stay hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathias m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hostel was fine- bathrooms, rooms- all fine. The downstairs dorm could be a little noisy, but its all just luck of the guest draw. My only negative was the lack of social atmosphere, there was no real social area to the hostel. Otherwise great! I was especially pleased with the ajoining Tour Agency, which gave great recommendations

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfCrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#515 of 1,156 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#11 of 1,219 in Istanbul
505 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#15 of 1,219 in Istanbul
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,219 in Istanbul
759 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,219 in Istanbul
907 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#95 of 1,219 in Istanbul
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Property: Istanbul Hostel
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No: 35 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing