We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine”
Review of Istanbul Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanbul Hostel
Ranked #488 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fine”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hostel was fine- bathrooms, rooms- all fine. The downstairs dorm could be a little noisy, but its all just luck of the guest draw. My only negative was the lack of social atmosphere, there was no real social area to the hostel. Otherwise great! I was especially pleased with the ajoining Tour Agency, which gave great recommendations

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfCrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    57
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
7
22
51
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here with my family in April 2012. We were looking for a place in a central location and low price. The place was reasonably clean, close to all the places we wanted to visit and in a safe neighborhood. The guys who run the desk are friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the typical Turkish breakfast on the rooftop.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernLights60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in this hostel for two nights - first night in a 9 bed dorm where it was only the two of us. The beds are fine, clean, and comfortable. The shared bathrooms however are dirty. The toilets especially. The toilet itself is so close to the door that your knees touch it. Bins in the toilets are only emptied every 1-2 days, when you can't put toilet paper into the toilet in Turkey...

All in all, the hostel was okay - considering that it is in an excellent location, but so are a lot of hostels in this area and I have seen better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed there for a couple days. We just found this hostel by walk in haven't book. Now I know there are many negative comments on tripadvisor, i think I need to add my own comment for you guys reference. You really want book or stay at his hostel after reading my comment. I hope you would have a nice trip in instanbul.

Firstly, I payed for 3 days already , a Turkish guy impoiltly required me to pay that again. Although I told him I already pay those to another turkish guy , he still want me to pay again when he met me at the lobby.


Secondly this Turkish guys again, he was very happy n enjoy to chat with some blonde hair gals at cafe Shop just outside the host. When I got my clothes back as I gave my clothes to them for washing. I found my pants were still dirty and got other colors on my pants. I requested to call the washed guy to come back , he said that guy already slept need to call him tomorrow, actually the guy went to washroom. One minute later that guys came from washroom he was very shock abou the moment! He was impatient to translate my thought to the washed guy that does not speak English. Finally the Turkish guy was yelling at me and said yes my attitude is bad urs worse than mine due to I said I will complain your poor attitude.

I found something bit me when I sleep on the bed of this hostel, I got som lumps on my arms, neck n legs. As for the room I don t want to repeat the comment of forsaid person. Just come to stay at ISTANBUL HOSTEL if you don't believe what I said.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hostel is nothing special, but the location is good, especially for the price, and the breakfast is decent. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooftop terrace has a good view. Our A/C worked well, and while the bathroom was stuffy, it was clean and in good working order.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
313 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hostel in may ,it is very close to blue mosqe,st.sofia. very convenient to visit historical site, good value, breakfast is poor but ,it is good

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here for four nights and for the most part everything was solid. Over the course of my stay however I was overcharged (by more than a few lira) or asked to pay after I had already paid six times (three at the restaurant). While my case is probably unique, be weary of these guys as they are not necessarily on your team like most hostel staff is. See how much others are paying as there are different rates and if you book with hostelworld make sure that they count your deposit.

Also, when I confronted one of the staff about being charged for a room I wasn't given, he said "you are the traveler, you are the one with the money."

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nreiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#363 of 1,140 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#585 of 1,140 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#459 of 1,140 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#13 of 1,199 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,199 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,199 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Hostel

Property: Istanbul Hostel
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:35 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hostel is the place for you!We have dorm rooms that can sleep four or more guests on comfortable, extra long single mattresses. Our double rooms are neat and clean with extra large king-sized mattresses. The bathrooms are located outside the rooms and are continuously maintained. All our rooms are non-smoking and have central heating.For those who want to keep in touch with the world while in exotic Istanbul, we offer Satellite TV (showing English news and sports events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Istanbul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Hostel Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing