We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay and location in Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deniz Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deniz Houses
Ranked #204 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay and location in Old City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights after arriving in Istanbul. The hotel was clean, and located near a lot of the attractions in the Old City. We had a sea view room which was also really nice. The rooms were clean, the breakfast on the roof was lovely, and the neighbourhood was quiet. The only downside was lugging bags down the hill from the tram station, but this isn't really the hotel's fault. When we left we used a taxi to get back to the airport which costs about 40TRY.

Room Tip: Sea View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    277
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
99
293
78
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
313 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

it is realy worth to stay in this hotel ,such an amazing wiev of the marmara sea, also very good breakfast , well coming reception and having a breakfast with beautiful wiev is bonus, rooms are very well decorated and air con. is relay great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad4838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review, and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The people there are patient and friendly. Simple buffet breakfast is served on rooftop where you will be pleasant in seeing the Mediterranean Sea and the blue sky. The lady cook prepared food with smiling face.
A breakfast of such makes you a day!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aunatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I liked this hotel because it was very near to main historical sights of Istambul. shopping & eateries were all within walking distance. I liked the roof top breakfast area over looking the sea, foods were excellant . Although our 1st floor room was small but it was clean, toilet was okay. attendants were friendly & courteous. Above all price & the service was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zreshma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Theres not much needs adding to the good comments made by other already, except to concur. This is gem of a place, ok the excellent sea facing rooms also have the throng of the Kennedy Expressway but the sounds are all part of the City. The trains that run nearer to the building are almost silent don't know why they get commented on and not the traffic. All in all a very comfortable experience. Breakfast good too, and the views from the top of the building are fantastic. The friendliness of the staff completes the package. Well done to all of them for making the stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The Sea view rooms are excellent, the views far outweigh the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This little inn has it all! It is in an excellent location, close to the Sultanahmet sights but tucked away from the noise. Very easy access to the Airport road. Beautiful views of the Sea. Warm, gracious hospitality. Very clean with nice amenities. We hope to come back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomerantzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed two times, at the beginning and ending of our trip. Our first room had a small balcony and a lovely view of the Sea of Marmara. Getting the luggage up the spiral staircase was a little difficult, but the room was definitely worth it. The staff was very helpful and spoke English. We were able to leave some of our luggage in their luggage room while we toured more of Turkey.
Our final stay was in house B. This room was on the ground floor near reception. It worked well for us as we had a 3:30 am pickup for the airport and was easy to get luggage to the front. However, it was much noisier being so close to reception. If this room had been our only expereince at Deniz Houses, we wouldn't feel nearly as positive.
Breakfast on terrace at both houses was lovely. They offered breads, cucumber, tomatoes, olives, cheeses, eggs, yogurt, cold cereal choices, tea, coffee, juices.
It was helpful having the 24 hour reception- both when we arrived early in the morning and when we left. The location is very handy for seeing the sights of Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#283 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#111 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#497 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reyyan Hotel
#319 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#186 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses

Property: Deniz Houses
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consists of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. The hotel is located in the center of the historical quarter within walking distance of the city’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deniz Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing