We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deniz Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deniz Houses
Ranked #208 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our teenage kids had a lively apartment overlooking the ocean. Ours too has lovely views but was on the ground floor. Two of the reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English. The one who did not speak great Englush mentioned we had not settled our bill when we had done so on arrival. Luckily we found our credit card payment as he was insisting the deposit we paid to hostelworld was not included
However, the other reception staff were amazing. Rooms basic and clean. Beds comfortable and the hotel was in a very quiet street. The breakfast served on the roof top terrace was lovely and the views amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    277
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
99
293
78
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Deniz Houses was exactly what we were looking for. It has a great sea view and it is near historic attractions in Sultanahmet area. Being close to the sea, you can easily and quickly go there and have a nice walk along the seashore. The staff is very nice. It was a very enjoyable experience. We would definitely come back to this hotel when we come again to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked our stay at Deniz House the morning we landed and arrived at before check-in. Deniz House knew we had a long day of travel and offered to put us in a vacant room at their sister location, Naz Wooden Hotel, for no extra charge. This was very thoughtful of them. Both hotels are very conveniently located to attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kixtontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review, and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is everything I needed as a woman travelling alone - helpful staff, full breakfast with outdoor terrace, 24 hour front desk, coffee and tea available at any time on the top floor, etc. Though a bit difficult to locate, it is a beautiful old building overlooking the sea, in a relatively quiet corner of Sultanahmet. Within a mile of the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Archaeology Museum. Dining and shopping nearby.

The room was small but cozy, with private bathroom and in-room mini-fridge. Note that there is no elevator for this hotel, and ceilings (especially door frames) are quite low. I had no problems as a 5' 8" woman, but I can imagine wanting to be careful if I were any taller. Great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, Great view, Delicious Breakfast, nice, friendly and helpful staff, cosy atmosphere, close to Blue mosque, clean, comfortable beds, nice and authentic interiors, terrasse, Air condiotioner, fridge

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasxal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our 5 night stay at the Deniz House. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was situated on the top floor (no lift - 4 flights of stairs!) which had beautiful veiws over the Marmara, but had the tram track and main road between, which at times could be noisy at night. Room was very basic but comfortable. Location is within walking distance to most of the main tourist attractions within the Sultanahmet area. Good variety of Resturants around the hotel to eat out at night. Would reccommend hotel to anyone and hopefully will be returning there soon (but on a lower floor!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not have sea views if you want a little more peace! Taxi drivers are uns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakki72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Deniz houses for 8 nights with my family. we stayed at the building next to Deniz A, on the third floor with sea view. The hotel is a historic wooden house with character. the breakfast was served at the 4th floor. The hotel is in walking distance of the major attractions. There is a taxi station in front of the hotel.
we arrived from Sabiha airport we took Havaras bus which are in front of the airport and took us to Taksim square and from there we took taxi, so there was no need for the hotels pick up service. There was a 5% discount for cash payment. but no discount for long stays.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarvie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#280 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#102 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#482 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#187 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses

Property: Deniz Houses
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consists of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. The hotel is located in the center of the historical quarter within walking distance of the city’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deniz Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing