We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thoughtful management”
Review of Deniz Houses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deniz Houses Hotel
Ranked #230 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked our stay at Deniz House the morning we landed and arrived at before check-in. Deniz House knew we had a long day of travel and offered to put us in a vacant room at their sister location, Naz Wooden Hotel, for no extra charge. This was very thoughtful of them. Both hotels are very conveniently located to attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kixtontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review, and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 682 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is everything I needed as a woman travelling alone - helpful staff, full breakfast with outdoor terrace, 24 hour front desk, coffee and tea available at any time on the top floor, etc. Though a bit difficult to locate, it is a beautiful old building overlooking the sea, in a relatively quiet corner of Sultanahmet. Within a mile of the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the Archaeology Museum. Dining and shopping nearby.

The room was small but cozy, with private bathroom and in-room mini-fridge. Note that there is no elevator for this hotel, and ceilings (especially door frames) are quite low. I had no problems as a 5' 8" woman, but I can imagine wanting to be careful if I were any taller. Great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, Great view, Delicious Breakfast, nice, friendly and helpful staff, cosy atmosphere, close to Blue mosque, clean, comfortable beds, nice and authentic interiors, terrasse, Air condiotioner, fridge

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasxal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our 5 night stay at the Deniz House. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was situated on the top floor (no lift - 4 flights of stairs!) which had beautiful veiws over the Marmara, but had the tram track and main road between, which at times could be noisy at night. Room was very basic but comfortable. Location is within walking distance to most of the main tourist attractions within the Sultanahmet area. Good variety of Resturants around the hotel to eat out at night. Would reccommend hotel to anyone and hopefully will be returning there soon (but on a lower floor!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not have sea views if you want a little more peace! Taxi drivers are uns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakki72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at Deniz houses for 8 nights with my family. we stayed at the building next to Deniz A, on the third floor with sea view. The hotel is a historic wooden house with character. the breakfast was served at the 4th floor. The hotel is in walking distance of the major attractions. There is a taxi station in front of the hotel.
we arrived from Sabiha airport we took Havaras bus which are in front of the airport and took us to Taksim square and from there we took taxi, so there was no need for the hotels pick up service. There was a 5% discount for cash payment. but no discount for long stays.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and will stay there again.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarvie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

the hotel is nice and situated close to the great attractions in the old istanbul but it destroy my experience that our written offer when we booked the hotel, that the hotel would deduct 5 % on the bill if we paid cash. (an offer renowed on arrivel) was suddenly not valid anymore when we cheched out of the hotel

Morten and Ella Sander denmark

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mosa642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Me and my husband stayed 4 nights at Deniz Houses.
They staff is very helpful and professional.
The room where we stayed was very confortable with beautiful views to the Marmara (I recommended even if it is the last floor).
The breakfast is good and on the evening you also have te/coffee to enjoy with a nive view to the Blue Moske.
The location is perfect with walking distance to the main attractions in Sultanahmet
I will recommend it to every reader. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajerosMnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review, and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#174 of 1,163 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#303 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Sultanahmet
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
#369 of 1,163 in Istanbul
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#116 of 1,163 in Istanbul
92 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#217 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#90 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Houses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $24 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses is located on a quiet street in Sultanahmet, a 5-minute walk from the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque and the Hippodrome. All our rooms have parquet floors, private bathrooms, individually-controlled air conditioning, double-glazed windows, minibar, hair dryer, TV and bedside telephone. Some rooms enjoy views of the Sea of Marmara, and both buildings have rooftop terraces with panoramic views. Relax with us and enjoy the beauties of Istanbul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Deniz Houses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing