We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, so convenient”
Review of Deniz Houses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deniz Houses Hotel
Ranked #204 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Hancock, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oh, so convenient”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stepped off the plane and was met by our driver who cheerfully delivered us to our hotel (unlike the Marriott) and was greeted by a very helpful desk clerk who escorted us to our room. We had a "suite" with a view of the water. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a 4 floor climb, but you could eat outside on a small balcony overlooking the neighborhood. Only problem was limited hot water made for short showers. Walking distance to all the attractions. Be sure to eat at the Seatanbul Restaurant just up the street for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermonter132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review, and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    280
    69
    18
    9
See reviews for
101
297
77
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, well placed to see all the sights, and the view from the breakfast terrace is great. This is our second stay at this hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and arranged our transfers from/to the airport for us. Rooms very clean and towels changed daily. The only negative to say is that our room was on ground floor and we could hear the entrance door closing during the night which woke us a few times aprt from that we had a lovely time and would reccomend to friends and will stay there again on our return to Istanbul next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desliegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor to share your Deniz Houses experience with us. I am delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general. We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil,
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Nice location in Sulthanamet close to Blue Mosque.
Nice sea view from room but a terrible noise from road and trains very close.
We were given a room where it was very difficult to use the shower. The shower was installed under a staircase meaning the max height in the shower was 160 cm (I had to shower sitting on my knees). The receptionist noticed this already when he took us to the room the first time.
The breakfast was sufficient but not delicious.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Soeren Enevold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixstowe
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a good hotel in a perfect location. The hotel has an amazing rooftop terrace where they serve breakfast this has wonderful views over the Marmara sea and the mouth of the Bosphorus river. The room we had was a suite next door to the main block we had two rooms, a sitting room and bedroom with sea view and a balcony. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight problem we had was the shower sometimes was just not quite hot enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel about a 10 minute walk to Blue Mosque and Sultanahmet Square. 5 minute walk to Arasta Bazaar. Located in Sultanahmet. Free Breakfast good variety. Gave is a pretty big suite with fridge and seperate sitting area. Couldnt get the Heat to work but told the front desk in the morning and it was on and working a couple of hours later when we came back from some sightseeing. Good hotel. Would probably stay here again if visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javeed04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I trusted reviews posted by fellow travelers and there were 100% correct. A great place - spacious room with TV, fridge, overlooks the sea, spotless clean, great breakfast buffet and access to a terrace with free tea and coffee all day. I noticed a wifi problem and the staff came right away to fix the router. It is easily accessible by public transport and the location is at the heart of many attractions. The only drawback is that if you have a lot of luggage and wish to use public transport to reach the airport you will have to pull it up a steep street so pack light :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcy345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Deniz House is a lovely small hotel within an easy walk of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque but far enough away that you don't feel totally submerged by the tourists. We asked for a room looking out to the sea which is a treat in the morning with all of the ships going by. There are train tracks very close but you don't hear them when your sleeping. The reception people are very kind and helpful. The bathroom was good but our room didn't have the kind of endless hot water that I like (I admit to loving a bathtub filled up with steaming water). The hotel provides tea or coffee and biscuits free in the afternoon up on the roof level diningroom which is a nice touch. Wifi worked well and there are lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#296 of 1,149 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#158 of 1,149 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#85 of 1,149 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#632 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#477 of 1,149 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Fors Hotel
#588 of 1,149 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Houses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses Hotel

Property: Deniz Houses Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#79 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses is located on a quiet street in Sultanahmet, a 5-minute walk from the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque and the Hippodrome. All our rooms have parquet floors, private bathrooms, individually-controlled air conditioning, double-glazed windows, minibar, hair dryer, TV and bedside telephone. Some rooms enjoy views of the Sea of Marmara, and both buildings have rooftop terraces with panoramic views. Relax with us and enjoy the beauties of Istanbul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Deniz Houses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing