We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel near Arasta Bazaa and Blue Mosque”
Review of Deniz Houses Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deniz Houses Hotel
Ranked #208 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good Hotel near Arasta Bazaa and Blue Mosque”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel about a 10 minute walk to Blue Mosque and Sultanahmet Square. 5 minute walk to Arasta Bazaar. Located in Sultanahmet. Free Breakfast good variety. Gave is a pretty big suite with fridge and seperate sitting area. Couldnt get the Heat to work but told the front desk in the morning and it was on and working a couple of hours later when we came back from some sightseeing. Good hotel. Would probably stay here again if visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javeed04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    280
    69
    18
    9
See reviews for
102
297
77
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I trusted reviews posted by fellow travelers and there were 100% correct. A great place - spacious room with TV, fridge, overlooks the sea, spotless clean, great breakfast buffet and access to a terrace with free tea and coffee all day. I noticed a wifi problem and the staff came right away to fix the router. It is easily accessible by public transport and the location is at the heart of many attractions. The only drawback is that if you have a lot of luggage and wish to use public transport to reach the airport you will have to pull it up a steep street so pack light :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcy345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Deniz House is a lovely small hotel within an easy walk of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque but far enough away that you don't feel totally submerged by the tourists. We asked for a room looking out to the sea which is a treat in the morning with all of the ships going by. There are train tracks very close but you don't hear them when your sleeping. The reception people are very kind and helpful. The bathroom was good but our room didn't have the kind of endless hot water that I like (I admit to loving a bathtub filled up with steaming water). The hotel provides tea or coffee and biscuits free in the afternoon up on the roof level diningroom which is a nice touch. Wifi worked well and there are lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wonderful experience at Deniz house led me to stay there once more. And I was met with the same homely atmosphere as during my first stay. The warm welcome, the comfortable rooms, and the friendly staff who are always courteous and willing to guide you, are the few of many positive points of this hotel. I recommend this hotel to all who travel and still want a homely experience but in a Turkish way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kav333b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Deniz Houses Hotel. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Upon arriving in Istanbul we learnt that the hotel we had originally booked had been closed, therefore we was very pleased to be able to book at Deniz Houses. After viewing the twin room which overlooked the river, we agreed a price with the very friendly, helpful reception. The hotel is very quaint, situated near all major attractions such as the Blue and Pink Mosques. The traditional Turkish breakfast is fresh, plentiful and eaten in a very cute room at the top of the building, with an outside area so that you can see the Blue Mosque and the river whilst eating. The location allows you to walk to all the attractions, which is a god send considering the public transport is quite difficult to master. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a clean, quaint, friendly hotel in the heart of old Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the river, may want to check air conditioning as ours was not working...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This lovely little hotel is quiet comfortable clean and well situated. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the breakfast good. Our room had a fantastic sea view and was cosy and quiet. I would make this my first choice if I ever went back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalindantonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was the first time I was offered a complimentary breakfast that wasn't disgusting, sparse or misleading. They had some traditional Turkish breakfast staples as well cereal and muffins. Great service, polite and friendly staff and a very central location. Most of the points of interests like the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia are an 8 minute walk...More important, Deniz House was affordable without sacrificing basic comforts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opheliogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#308 of 1,149 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#155 of 1,149 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#92 of 1,149 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#625 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#477 of 1,149 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Fors Hotel
#570 of 1,149 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Houses Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses Hotel

Property: Deniz Houses Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#77 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses is located on a quiet street in Sultanahmet, a 5-minute walk from the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque and the Hippodrome. All our rooms have parquet floors, private bathrooms, individually-controlled air conditioning, double-glazed windows, minibar, hair dryer, TV and bedside telephone. Some rooms enjoy views of the Sea of Marmara, and both buildings have rooftop terraces with panoramic views. Relax with us and enjoy the beauties of Istanbul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Deniz Houses Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing