We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deniz Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deniz Houses
Ranked #204 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smashing little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This lovely little hotel is quiet comfortable clean and well situated. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the breakfast good. Our room had a fantastic sea view and was cosy and quiet. I would make this my first choice if I ever went back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalindantonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you in general.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    277
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
99
294
77
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was the first time I was offered a complimentary breakfast that wasn't disgusting, sparse or misleading. They had some traditional Turkish breakfast staples as well cereal and muffins. Great service, polite and friendly staff and a very central location. Most of the points of interests like the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia are an 8 minute walk...More important, Deniz House was affordable without sacrificing basic comforts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank opheliogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with service quality, food, room cleanlines and close location to the places i wanted to visit.
Overall it was great place to stay, thank you for everything!
So for the price you get everything you need to spend night and morning and explore old Istanbul:)

Room Tip: room 12 great for couple:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Though in a superb location on a quiet street a few minutes walk from the main sites the hotel proved disappointing. Our main complaint was the size of the room which was tiny. My husband is not small and we had to take it in turns to move around the bed. The food was well prepared but lacked variety and the hot food was only lukewarm which was a shame. There were several polite men on reception but their knowledge of basic tourist information was poor - they did not know about the museum pass and were only interested in selling their very expensive excursions. A missed opportunity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuMBucksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Dushet'is Raioni, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

great location - walking distance to main sightseeing places. clean and cosy room. very nice stuff, helpful and pleasant. good breakfast. nice views from room and roof terrace. I really did not expected so much of good stuff for the money we paid. I will gladly recommend Deniz Houses to my friends. It's definitely great cheap and chic boutique hotel :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz_Houses, Guest Relations Manager at Deniz Houses, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.

I am very delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Kerem Benligil
Deniz Houses Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osted, Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

They do not promise you the world, only what they are able to offer you. Nice place and worth a visit.
Small, but nice rooms and lovely terrace.
The only downside is, there is low or no WiFI internet connection on the terrace, so far.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I get what i was expecting. This hotel has literally everything i was looking for. Close to beach, close to Sultan ahmet Mosque, fantastic room, friendly people, and a great breakfast. Someone told me to stay in their B building so i did and my satisfaction is high. I Would like to thank Ahmet, Ada, Asad, Zarife and all other members i met. I would like to say, it was pleasure meeting you.

Room Tip: I get what i was expecting. This hotel has literally everything i was looking for. Close to beach, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babarizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#258 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#201 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#916 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#363 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#461 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Houses

Property: Deniz Houses
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No14, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deniz Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deniz Houses, formerly Deniz Konak Hotel, consists of 2 buildings located in the guite and central part of Sultanahmet with a walking distance to the city's major highlights. The buildings are only 20 meters away from each other and both contain private ensuite rooms with same type of facilities. The hotel is located in the center of the historical quarter within walking distance of the city’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Deniz Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Houses Hotel Istanbul
Deniz Konak Istanbul
Hotel Deniz Konak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing