We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good breakfast”
Review of Hotel Agan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Agan
Ranked #148 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Nice three nights in Agan. Nice decor rooms (only one problem with aircon - we tried 18 degrees, 19 degrees, 20, 21 - but it was constantly 25 - not so fine in summer). So delicious and varied breakfast - with vegetables and fruits. And we must not forget: location! Five minutes walk to Hagia, Mosque and five minutes to ferry. Near hotel is two supermarkets (but you shouldnt take any food to rooms).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarthyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Agan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 782 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent a week at the Agan Hotel and it was great. The location is perfect, very very close to sultanahmet and all the attractions of old city, the hotel is also near two tram stations where you can get the tram to go anywhere else you want to. The accomodations are small, but I guess that's standard in every old city like environment. The hotel was very clean, they kept the room immaculate with daily maid service and overall, it was a great place to be for us and our family. The customer service of the hotel was simply superb. The only drawbacks for me were the breakfast, which was good but not excellent and the WIFI which is very weak on the 6th floor where our room was. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel with very modest prices and great service.

Room Tip: if you don't want or can't use stairs, make sure to ask for a room anywhere but on the 6th f...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Camuri-baghdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a wonderfully situated hotel as it is within walking distance to most of the major attractions in Old City. The rooms are very clean and the staff is absolutely wonderful. I wanted to cry on the last day at the hotel because I honestly did not want to leave. Everyone spoke English and were very eager to help. The breakfast is traditional Turkish fare and very filling and plentiful. This is a great hotel and I cannot say enough good things about it. If you are expecting luxury, I would not recommend Agan. If you want a quaint, clean, homey, feel with great service then please go with Agan. I will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Asia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Small but clean rooms, friendly staff, good location (walking distance to all major sights). The only disadvantage I could mention is that this part of he city is very noisy at night so we couldn't sleep very well...

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My sister and I were happy with this acomodation when we visited Istanbul a year ago. This June we came again and brought our mother. We enjoyed it even better this time! All great points are still great (superb location, clean and convinient, friendly staff, far enough from loud traffic), but this time breakfast was delicious every day and staff always close to clean tables and take used dishes.
Room is small but with everything needed. I would just put refrigerator away since it is not working when nobody is in the room and is hot outside, like heating body in the room.
And we missed grape vine shades outside that was so lovely!
Great convinient hotel in this paradise city!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gordana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay if you want to explore the Old City. Right in the heart of it all.

Brilliant staff - friendly, helpful and good English.

Rooms are basic but perfectly fine. Restaurant/pub very nice. Nice cats too. Beautiful architecture gives a authentic atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A small hotel but with friendly & good English speaking staff & very helpful since the day we arrived.Prices are reasonable..And I would say it's worth..
Location is ideal as it's just walking distance from Gulhane tram station & walking distance to blue mosque,Topkapi palace & to Sirkeci railway station & ferry terminals.
I love this small hotel as it's very ideal & classic place & i miss whole Istanbul since I returned to work.
You can count on front office staff as they do speak English well & willing to help & is available to your inquiries...I'm waiting to go there again..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DURAN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,765 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,420 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#280 of 1,159 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#677 of 1,159 in Istanbul
618 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#211 of 1,159 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agan

Address: Hoca Pasa Mahallesi, Ebussuud Cad. Saffetipasa Sok. No: 4 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#143 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#214 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $32 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Agan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing