We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Agan
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$262
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$67
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$137
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
$44
$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
$123
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$748
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveler rating
364
300
97
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
300
97
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationblue mosquetopkapi palacewalking distanceold citycleaned every daymajor attractionshotel restaurantrooms are cleanturkeythe hotel staffsmall hotelbooked this hoteltram stopi highly recommend this hotelspice marketspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 799 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at a different hotel about a mile away from this one for the first part of our trip as part of a package. While it was a fancier hotel, this one was a better location for getting around the 'old town'. The rooms were a good size, clean, comfortable and a great value (we got a 3 person sleeper room for $52 a night!) The front desk guys were courteous, the restaurant was good and the wait staff friendly.

Had a good experience

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godiva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in November as a solo female traveler, and it suited my needs perfectly. The rate was reasonable, the room was clean, and the front desk service was very helpful. They can even help you book tours throughout Turkey, although I didn't use them for that.

The breakfast was a pretty decent buffet included in my rate, and you also get 10% off at the onsite Salute restaurant, as well as at another restaurant about 10 minutes (Optimus) that is owned by the Agan's former manager. I tried both restaurants, and they're both good for local food, especially the Optimus.

While the room was on the small side, it was perfect for one person, and the bathroom was surprisingly large. I do recommend asking for a room on a higher floor if available--I was on the top floor and wasn't bothered by the street noise at all, although the prayer over the loudspeakers did wake me up the first morning.

The location is also terrific--you can walk to the Blue Mosque, sultan's palace, catacombs, and Hagia Sofia in about five minutes. The area felt safe and I had no problems walking around as a single woman.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor to minimize noise, but keep in mind that the very top floor doesn't have an elevator.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sokarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is ideally located to some of the best sightseeing in Istanbul. The room rates were good and the rooms were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had some really fun interaction with the waiters. The food was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included and was a great start to the day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Serpy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel Agan on the 18 February 2013. We were on our honeymoon, initially booked a standard bedroom, but was upgraded to a Suite on arrival! Stunning bedroom!

After settling in, one of the staff members brought us a complimentary fruit platter and welcome drinks

All the staff members were really friendly and helpful!

We will definitely go back to the Agan hotel when visiting Istanbul again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MicheKnight85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I've stayed at Hotel Agan 3 times so far and would happily stay there again if I'm back in Istanbul. The hotel is very well located, a pleasant 10-15 min walk to Hagia Sofia and Topkapi palace, under 5 min to either of the two closest tram stations. The price was very reasonable. The room is fairly basic but has everything one needs: shower, small fridge, even free slippers (thin but useful, and a nice gesture anyway). The street below is narrow and full of tourists sitting around on pillows and smoking water pipes. One piece of advice: when you get into your room for the 1st time, make sure to inspect the room lights, faucets, etc., before tipping the porter guy, to avoid calling them again and tipping even more if, say, a lamp doesn't work. Overall: very pleasant little hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andrei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews