We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better than this!”
Review of Hotel Agan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Agan
Ranked #162 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
“You can do better than this!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the only hotel we booked in advance throughout our 15 days trip in Turkey. It was for New Year's eve and 1st January. Total cost with breakfast: € 173. You need to consider that in Turkey (even in Istanbul) you can sleep and have a nice breakfast with € 50 per night - 2 people. So this was hugely above the average. OK - holiday period. But still very high price.

We made the check in 2 hours later for "plumbing system problems" meanwhile the staff tried to move us into another hotel. Whose room was facing the wall. We were like: "do you think I'm fool?" and finally they let us into our room. Which was ridicously small, me and my boyfriend kept on tripping on each other. It was very clear to us that no recent repairing had occured into the room, also because hot water didn't work properly. If a plumber had been there he would have fixed it. Barely received some apologies for the late check in (and hours we could have spent visiting the city wasted there), not to mention discounts or room upgrade (when we changed the hotel on 2nd January we waited 1 h for check in and the guy gave us a suite for apologizing!). You can do FAR better by saving some money also. Don't be afraid of non-rated hotel!

Room Tip: Don't be a fool like us - if they try to give you the smallest room ever refuse it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vakif, Manager at Hotel Agan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
First of all thank you very much for your review.
At the new year season it is very hard to find a room under 75 Euro in Istanbul. It is the highest season of Istanbul. So the price which you had is a normal price.
Most of the city hotels use beds with 1.90 meters length. The bed is a standart bed.
Buildings may have problems about plumbing. We upgreated your room to a suit room which has a value of 135 Euro per night and we did not charge you for any extra cost as a apology which was a good deal for you.
I hope we will host you again in the future without any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    298
    94
    21
    15
See reviews for
107
245
129
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Chose this hotel from Tripadvisor reviews as my favourite hotel was not available.
Found the double room very small but with a a good quality bed and very clean - the major drawback was the banging music coming from an adjacent club/hotel. After a complaint was immediately given a family room on the 5th floor which was excellent.
Didn't much like the breakfast and the service in the restaurant at lunch-time was poor although the food was good when it finally arrived.
The hotel is in a good location for tourist attractions although situated on a steep cobbled street.
Used the shuttle service to the airport when coming home so saved a large taxi fare.
Overall satisfactory.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if you don't want music disturbing an early night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florence a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I travelled with my 2 sisters and we opted for a family room which easily accommodated us and all our outfits!!! The interior was well decorated with good furnishings. The bathroom was very clean with a good shower, mirror, lighting and hair dryer. Every single member of staff was so friendly and polite and wanted to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
It is perfectly positioned to see all of the main sites by walking just a few minutes and there is a tram stop very very close for anything further afield. The site of the hotel itself is also very picturesque with tons of amenities on the doorstep. There is a pub restaurant attached to the hotel which serves delicious food and has an outdoor heater if you want to continue enjoying rakis outside after your meal. Some nights we enjoyed staying outside late but others we had undisturbed early night's to start our sightseeing the next day thanks to the double glazing which blocked out any hustle and bustle from just 1 floor up.
There are also lots of other restaurants and shops surrounding the hotel and we also travelled all over Istanbul, to Taksim, over to the Asian side, to the top of the Golden Horn and we always felt very lucky that we had by chance chosen the location of this hotel.
There is also a travel agents as part of the hotel so if you want to travel to other places in Turkey it is best to let them organise this.
I think if you go to Istanbul and don't stay in this hotel t hen you have missed out!

Room Tip: I'd love to go for a suite next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is not exactly in sultan ahmet but it was still very close to the blue mosque and Aiya Sophia. Loads of restaurants and within walking distance to the grand bazaar. My friend and I slept well, not too noisy. Breakfast was more like dessert, but it was included as is wi-fi. We took a taxi from the airport 50 lire but it was only €5 euro on the way back, should if booked with the hotel! It was a very short trip, would definitely go back, there are a lot of cool day trips in turkey, eg. Troy - I thought it was a movie!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I can't praise the Agan and it's staff enough! This is a small hotel, but it is cheap, cosy, spotlessly clean, and situated in a great location. You will be spoilt for choice with food, and I was surprised at the various vegetarian options. There is an indoor restaurant, but you can also eat outside undercover, where they have big heaters to keep you warm in the colder weather, and pretty colourful Turkish lamps hanging from above. The bedrooms are cosy with comfortable, clean beds and has a typically Turkish décor. The hotel and restaurant staff are very helpful, friendly and respectful, and made our stay there special. This was my first visit to Istanbul, I would like to go back one day, and will definitely stay at this hotel again if I do!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good hotel in the old town. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was decent. The hotel's restaurant below stayed open till the early hours and we managed to get some food at 2am. It's not great, but when you're hungry it does the job. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful too. All in all, if you are looking for a nice but cheap hotel in the old town, this is a good one to go for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomo317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel and it went very well. This hotel had just what I wanted - clean rooms, in a great location at a very reasonable price that included a free breakfast. One minor issue - breakfast started a bit later (10-15 minutes) than scheduled. Whoever was suppose to go to the market to get fresh fruit was a bit late two days in a row. Still the breakfast setup was good, albeit a Turkish style breakfast (not a complaint, actually just what I wanted to experience)

Room Tip: This hotel is in a busy area, and nearby restaurants / clubs are open well into the night. A bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VetTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,732 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses Hotel
Deniz Houses Hotel
#210 of 1,147 in Istanbul
672 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#269 of 1,147 in Istanbul
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#167 of 1,147 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#26 of 1,147 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#346 of 1,147 in Istanbul
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agan

Property: Hotel Agan
Address: Hoca Pasa Mahallesi, Ebussuud Cad. Saffetipasa Sok. No: 4 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#144 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#215 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Agan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing