We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Fish House Restaurant on top cheats you”
Review of Alaturka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alaturka Hotel
Ranked #495 of 1,039 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Fish House Restaurant on top cheats you”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Went to the 'Fish House' restaurant on top. The maitre took our order. We had ordered Sea Bass as one of the dishes and he asked if he should divide it in two plates, with fries and salad. We said ok. He said he would give us a surprise. The menu price was 20 lire. When the bill came, the sea bass was 85 lire. His response was that he had given us another 'Sea Bass' preparation, as we wanted it in 2 plates! We were certainly surprised.
Even if we had ordered 2 of the same, it would have cost only 40 Lire! A complete rip off - avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daraius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    10
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
54
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

If you are looking for a very centrally located hotel , close to all the major sights in Istanbul, this is it. The Alaturka is located within a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hajia Sophia Church, and Topkapi Palace. The Cisterns and the Grand Bazaar are within a 15 minute walk. It is a small hotel with basic and clean rooms and a very caring staff. Selil greeted us warmly and was always available to guide us and answer our many questions. This gentleman clearly enjoys his job since he seemed to be always on duty and was even kind enough to offer the use of the desk computer so I could email my sister on arrival when my phone did not work. There is a very small elevator and a restaurant on the top floor where the complimentary breakfast is served. Breakfast can be enjoyed on the roof top although it was too chilly when we were there. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room as well as a safe but you can check your valuables at the front desk safe. We were told about the "call to prayer" at 5:00am so we were prepared and did not find it too hard to go back to sleep. Also, there is a fish smell that permeates the room in the evening, but it is short-lived and we were not often in our room at that time. Be prepared for the "hawkers' that shout out and even follow you trying to get you in their stores to buy carpets and other souvenirs. A polite "no thanks" works and just keep walking. There are many restaurants near the Alaturka with someone always out in front trying to convince you to come in. We found that the Aloran Cafe was the best and just down the street from the hotel. Istanbul is an exotic, beautiful and very clean city. At this time of year the tulips and other colorful flowers are abundant and well cared for. I was also amazed to find an extremely large population of cats. They seem to be everywhere and look quite well fed and not afraid of humans like feral cats. Some are even in stores and treated like little mascots. As an animal lover , I was pleased to see them and admire their beauty although I wonder how long the city can cope with them without some sort of birth control. All in all, I loved this city and hope to return one day. Three days is definitely not enough!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
124 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel is located at a perfect corner on a very lively street in Sultanahmet. As soon as we entered the room we could hardly believe it was a "normal" room and not a suite - it was very large and the bathroom was a good size too. The view out the window was fantastic as it was a front room and we got a view of the street and it wasn't noisy at night as it was a decent distance away from all the hustle and bustle. We were even more (pleasantly) surprised when we went up to the room for breakfast - the view is perhaps one of the best ones we had seen from any of the hotels in that area, we got to see an unobstructed view of the Bosphorus, the blue mosque and the Hagia Sophia, and we got an option of eating indoors or outdoors on the patio, it was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any one who wants to stay in comfort for relatively cheap. Ofcourse the convenient location is definitely a huge bonus, the stores and restaurants along the street are fantastic, and everyone is most hospitable, i would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the street, get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbasravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Everyone's so nice and helpful. And the breakfast is WONDERFUL!!!!!! I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dude795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2011

There is a free, tasty breakfast upstairs and a fish restaurant as well. Their food is very good. The rooms feel like suites complete with air conditioning and two tvs. It is very hospitable. The staff is friendly and help you if you need any assistance. This hotel is very good and I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller188167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2010

All the staff were very hospitable and helpful with all our questions. They really made us feel so welcome. The breakfast was great and thé views from the roof are spectacular. I would strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patmedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This was an excellent hotel, room 103, a large double although possibly the most expensive room in the hotel was still inexpensve, lots of windows (double glazed) two sets of french doors, timber floors, plenty of room and plenty of seating, and a good sized ensuite. The views from the room were pretty and the room was comfortably warm the whole time. The staff at the hotel were excellent, helpful and nearly all spoke english, they were friendly and knowledgeable, the manager in particular. The breakfast was ample and fresh and served in the restaurant that has, to die for views, it was never busy and you could easily grab a table with the most superb views, and relax into a long breakfast watching all manor of watercraft travel in and out of the Bosphoros. And of course if you faced the other way you had either views to the Blue Mosque or to the Hagia Sophia. The restaurant terrace was pretty and with the same great views but the roof top bar has the most spectacular views, you could spend days and nights up here and never get sick of it. The service by the staff (drink staff, waiters and even the breakfast ladies) and the hotel owner was excellent and attentive. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Topkapi palace, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, maybe 15 min walk to the Grand Bazaar, regardless of where we were walking home from (sometimes 10 kilometres away) we always found our way back to the hotel and a friendly and warm welcome back.
Not being a large hotel (approx 12 rooms) there was always a sense of family and belonging, this was due in part to the staff and the decor of the hotel and when visiting a foreign city for the first time was a welcome plus, it also added to our overall holiday experience. the photos on the net of the hotel do not do it justice, it wasso much more.
We would not hesitate to come and stay at this hotel when back in Istanbul, it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie-Kallista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#230 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#158 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaturka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaturka Hotel

Property: Alaturka Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No:3 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #495 of 1,039 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaturka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will try to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere during your stay in our hotel. We hope to accommodate you here and make your visit an unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Alaturka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing