We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish yet cozy”
Review of The Sofa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sofa Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The Sofa is the perfect hotel when combining business with pleasure. The staff are friendly and helpful, the lounge is cozy and inviting and the rooms and especially the bathroom are extremely well set-up. We were there for 5 nights and loved our stay (moved from Dedeman). The only challenge we had during our stay was with the ventilation system - we were on a non-smoking floor but if you stood near the air ducts, the air was heavy with smoke - seemed like the ventilation system could not handle the mix and air from the smoker rooms was getting into the non-smoking floor. Do note that the hotel is on a busy one-way road so if you want to take a taxi in a rush, FORGET ABOUT IT! Also, the gym / spa is undergoing renovation which they forget to mention when we made the reservations - slightly disappointing but would still go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoumiCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaceryan, FOM at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2010

We are delighted to hear your comments in regards to our team, design and rooms which are the main components of our HIP profile. Thank you for highlighting the ventilation system to us we are looking into that. Till next time the Sofa Team wishes you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for The Sofa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 604 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2010

We didn't use any of the amenities at the hotel, but all the basic services were excellent. Staff were very friendly, courteous and prompt with assistance. The room was very comfortable with a luxurious feel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimBloedow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaceryan, FOM at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We were delighted that you found us excellent in service and comfort and looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I spent 3 days in the Sofa Hotel, using it as a base to explore the city and find fabrics and furniture for a design project. The moment I walked into the lobby and was met by the charming and helpful concierge, my every need was catered for in a friendly and welcoming manner.
I loved the cutting edge design of the room, the bathroom was totally fabulous, filled with sumptuous little extras that made the rooms so special. The lobby, reception and seating areas was tasteful and peaceful, where one could happily read one of the many art books whilst sipping cappuccino or a highly recommended delicious Turkish wine.
The hotel has it's own art galley,on the top floor with magnificent vistas of the city, a must to visit.
All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Infact Yuksel Hakan the reception manager and his team assisted me greatly in researching the city, and directing and guiding me around Istanbul.
I was found 2 marvellous guides to take me around the antiques area and other important Istanbul sites.
I shall certainly return, as not only did the hotel and it's staff look after me so perfectly, but it turns out to be in one of the most fashionable and fun areas.
My only regret was not to have stayed for at least a week, and then I could have had the chance to luxuriate in the surreal day spa and gym.
All in all I had a wonderful stay and am hoping I will have the chance to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaceryan, FOM at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2010

Thank you so much for your warm words following your recent stay at The Sofa Hotel.
We are extremely happy you fully enjoyed the concept, from the design, to the room, the wines and the location.
We are glad, , to see that our team has delivered promised highly individual service.
We hope to see you soon with us again.
All the best from the Sofa team...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Excellent hotel, brilliant rooms and facilities. Staff more than helpful.
Only down side was gym small but there didn't appear to be any other people looking to us eit so I may just be nit picking. Breakfast not great but that was down to us not them as it was a very European menu.
The bedrooms are stunning as are all the restaurant areas.

I would definitely recommend this hotel - funky but quality - no gimmicks!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaceryan, FOM at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2010

Thank you for pointing out the deco, the staff and the facilities, which made us happy to see we got it right for you. Our new award winner chef is ready to impress you with his fantastic breakfast menu on your next stay with us.
The whole team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

design, very good spa, good place for clubbing and nice mojito's !

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank Chinchi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaceryan, FOM at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2010

We were delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at The Sofa Hotel
and found our concept so much to your liking. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Great hotel in Istambul with outstanding staff and service! Rooms are "just okay", but the bathroom is great (the shower, the light, the sopas etc, everything is great). The staff couldn´t be more helpful, polite!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMLFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaceryan, FOM at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2010

We were pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for the great words on our team who is always ready to help and accommodate. We very much appreciate your review. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

It is very good hotel. High design and sophisticated. If you are looking for luxury and good value for money sofa is perfect. It is very comfortable doing meeting in lobby. very nice restoran, quite, beautiful library. Perfect location in the center in the city. Nice staff and hospitality and friendly autmosfer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ykukul, The Sofa Hotel Management at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2010

Thank you! It is great to hear your valuable comments that makes us proud of having happy guests with our HIP, Luxury and Design concept. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at The Sofa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#155 of 1,161 in Istanbul
463 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#112 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,610 reviews
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#123 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#237 of 1,161 in Istanbul
95 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofa Hotel

Address: Tesvikiye Cad. No:41/A Nisantasi, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#168 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#180 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $121 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sofa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen amongst Europe`s top ten design hotels, The Sofa Hotel reflects an innovative and cosmopolitan approach to travel in every detail. Ideally located in Nişantaşi, Istanbul`s trendiest shopping, entertainment, art and culinary district, The Sofa Hotel offers its guests 82 finely decorated and spacious rooms in an atmosphere interwoven with contemporary art, a cafe serving a creative palette of fine international cuisine and a luxurious Spa designed for Fitness and Relaxation. The top floor of the Hotel is home to Frankie Istanbul, one of the City`s finest dining venues set in an elegant and vibrant ambience against a breathtaking view of Istanbul`s sky line. The Sofa Hotel`s personally tailored HIP service approach, attention to detail and sophisticated atmosphere will make your visit truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sofa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sofa Hotel Residences Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing