We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel...”
Review of The Sofa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sofa Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is an excellent hotel with in a great Location. A modern funky hotel that offers good size rooms, great restaurant, great spa and a perfect location for a longer stay.

Pros:
Great Location. We were in Istanbul for a week so staying in a location full of restaurant and shops away from the tourist areas was nice.

The concierge staff was really great. Very helpful and great ideas for different activities.

Fun spa with local treatments.

Some of the best room cleaning I've had in a while.

Cons:
The front desk staff is terrible. They have terrible attitudes and should learn a thing or two from the concierge staff.

Its amazing that in the year 2014 you still have to pay for internet. Specially 12 EU per day per device. Common people...nowadays that's like paying to take a shower.

All in all a great hotel. If I come back I will stay here again.

The bed was a little too soft for me....that's not the hotels fault...thats just my own personal taste.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santiago P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment with regards to your stay.
I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the receptionist . We value your feedback, which gives us an opportunity to enhance the way that we need to improve in the future.
I also very happy to read that over all you enjoyed staying with us
If given such an opportunity we hope to welcome you back

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
There are newer reviews for The Sofa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 604 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We just checked out from istanbul today, everything was absolutely great! The location is perfect. It lies in the very chic district of Nisantasi. An amazing mall 'City's' is just across the street, along with a selection of cafés and restaurants. The neighborhood is very safe and very clean.

The hotel had a very convenient breakfast buffet, not perfect but good enough, rooms are spacious and bathrooms are large. All amenities are in good condition.

Frankie's restaurant is a must see the singer there was great and the ambience was breathtaking, the food was also delicious.

The only downside is that the wifi in the room is chargeable but in the lobby it's free!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Capultino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback at Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I hope to see you again at The Sofa Hotel Nişantaşı,

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I had to check in to this hotel under most unexpected circumstances. My daughter had a serious allergy attack when we were visiting Istanbul and we had to rush to a nearby hospital's emergency. It was 3:30am when she was released, tired with an urgent need for comfort and sleep. We found ourselves at their reception and were immediately ushered to a magnificent room. I can't say it is a budget hotel, but given our extraordinary circumstances we were given the best possible acceptable rate for few hours of sleep -luckily we could afford- I had to stay awake to watch over daughter all morning, so I have literally consumed all that were 'unlisted' on minibar menu... To my surprise, during check out i was told that the teas in the room were extra :-( however, teas were not mentioned on minibar list and I wasn't told either during check-in. They have gracefully ignored the teas and wished us health! :-) point is, this hotel is graceful, extremely clean, decent, classy, coming at a cost but with a heart. THANKS.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ebru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment at Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to read your feedback and it was very nice to talked to you over the phone I hope your daughter is getting better.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Hümeyra Ercil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed there 5 nights, globally wont recommend it.
we really enjoy the restaurant FRANKY, the service was excellent, the food and the vue amazing. The spa and fitness is also really good with everything you need, clean, calm and good massages.
Special thanks for the concierge DENIZ, who was really nice and helpfull

The rooms were really disappointing, if you can, choose a room in a top floor and on the courtyard if you don't want to be annoyed by the noise (friday and saturday nights are tooo loud), the wifi just work on 1 device (and poorly) EVEN THOUGH WE HAVE TO PAY FOR IT (!!!!!), the shower were leaking, and the heating system didnt work ...
still, the breakfast and roomservice are really good, it s a shame we had so many troubles in the room.

Room Tip: pick a top floor room to avoid the noise
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline888981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. Please be assured that your comments are much

appreciated and will be taken into consideration by our related departments.

We hope to welcome you back on many occasions.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here 25/30 times. Good location, away from the tourist hell that is Sultanamet but lively surroundings in an affluent area. The staff appear aloof but they are actually very helpful. The Hotel appears to want to emulate the 'LA in the 90's' style but fortunately, if that was their intention, they fail splendidly. Food is very Western and disappointing as a result. Beds are comfortable and general cleanliness is faultless. The bar area is always deserted, expensive and many better options within a few hundred yards. Allow at least 90 minutes for Ataturk Airport

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that open onto the enclosed inner courtyard. Dark and stuffy. Quieter rooms at the back...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyzeroseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Sofa Hotel Nişantaşı

My team and I are very happy you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our accommodations and unique location.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Sofa Hotel is new hotel with a complete Spa in a cool shopping neighborhood.

The style is trendy modern, the rooms are great (large), the spa and exercise facilities are well equipped and the staff supportive.

I highly recommend this hotel if you need to be near the American Hospital (which I needed to be) or if you just want to be in the shopping district.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Very warm greetings from The Sofa Hotel Nişantaşı.
Thank very much for choosing us again .I am very happy to hear that you fully enjoyed yor stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights over NY .
We wanted a change from the Bosphorus hotels this time , something more central where we can step out for a walk around the area especially around NY when the streets turn into one big party with DJ etc. in the evening .
The Sofa came recommended by some friends and we do tend to enjoy boutique hotels generally .
There's nothing radically wrong with the hotel . Herewith my take :
-The rooms need some sprucing up , the years are starting to show although it's only 7 years old
-You won't find the level of luxury you'd expect for this price range . The room hardly has any rugs especially next to the bed
-The most annoying are the aluminum windows , it was quite cold outside and the heater doesn't really work in the room so you can feel a cold breeze when you stand next to the windows
-Our friends' was on the 4th floor where the whole glass façade is covered by an opaque film which prevents you from seeing outside !!
-We had booked a Terrace Suite but were upgraded to a Senior Suite which was quite nice of them
-The main problem is the staff , you don't they are very happy to be working there , rather long dark faces especially the receptionist on check out who admittedly was hung over from the previous night :):)
-The area was very congested throughout our stay so getting in and out by taxi can take a very long time
-For smokers , like me , they have a designated room/café , not your usual back of the house , where you can have a cigarette with coffee ...fantastic idea
Otherwise Istanbul is one of my favorite cities anywhere . It's vibrant , the food is amazing , the views are dazzling over the bosphorus , it's just amazing .
It's an expensive city though and you have to continuously bargain .
Next visit I will stay at the W .

Room Tip: Ask if you can see through the windows and request a higher floor . The area is very noisy and the w...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment at Tripadvisor

I am very happy that you enjoyed staying with us.We hope to see you again .

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#155 of 1,161 in Istanbul
463 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#112 of 1,161 in Istanbul
2,607 reviews
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#123 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#237 of 1,161 in Istanbul
95 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofa Hotel

Address: Tesvikiye Cad. No:41/A Nisantasi, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#168 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#180 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $121 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sofa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen amongst Europe`s top ten design hotels, The Sofa Hotel reflects an innovative and cosmopolitan approach to travel in every detail. Ideally located in Nişantaşi, Istanbul`s trendiest shopping, entertainment, art and culinary district, The Sofa Hotel offers its guests 82 finely decorated and spacious rooms in an atmosphere interwoven with contemporary art, a cafe serving a creative palette of fine international cuisine and a luxurious Spa designed for Fitness and Relaxation. The top floor of the Hotel is home to Frankie Istanbul, one of the City`s finest dining venues set in an elegant and vibrant ambience against a breathtaking view of Istanbul`s sky line. The Sofa Hotel`s personally tailored HIP service approach, attention to detail and sophisticated atmosphere will make your visit truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sofa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sofa Hotel Residences Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing