We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and practical”
Review of The Sofa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sofa Hotel
Ranked #238 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chic and practical”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Sofa suits me and my family perfectly, located in Nisantasi and within walking distance to all the places we would like to visit. It is a short taxi ride for tourists to the Blue Mosque and Covered Bazaar. For super luxury shopping only a few steps away. The hotel is opposite the City`s Shopping Centre.

The rooms are very well laid out and spacious with excellent en suite facilities. Everything we always find clean and tidy. The buffet breakfast is very good only down point is that they have started charging extra for omelettes and fried eggs instaed of the standard on the buffet boiled or scrambled.

All the staff are very professional, friendly and courteous , the bell boys very helpful.

If you are with your partnet try the Hammam with the private couples massage in the hammam, very relaxing, gives you a vibrant feel and cleanses the skin like nothing else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehmet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you were in general satisfied with the services rendered to you.

Your comments are a big motivation for the entire team, we have also, conveyed your sentiments to our Concierge Team.
Again, thank you for your visit and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Sofa HotelIstanbul soon.

Best Regards

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    161
    53
    28
    22
See reviews for
99
176
42
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff and excellent spa and wellness centre.
The Turkish Hammam with a really nice Balinese lady is first class.
Really nice staff there especially.
Maybe not that central to Sultanahmet (Old City) but a nice up market location.
Ideal for shoppers!

Room Tip: Look for the 5th or 6th floors for a room as equi-distant from noise of reception/bar and roof bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to express your views about your stay with us.
We are very glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us, your comments are a big motivation for the entire The Sofa Hotell team and encourage us to even further upgrade and improve our services.
Again ,thank you very much and hope to see you in our hotel

Best Regards
Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I loved the hotel, it is definitely boutique hotel with superior location.i stayed in suite room , it was excellent with king-size bed, separate wardrobe room , large bathroom etc.
the only thing is that windows are not open and you forced to use air conditioner the whole day. because of very hard time schedule i haven t got a chance to try the spa center which is working for 24 hrs but seemed to be very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigar2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay, we were very happy to read that you had enjoyed your stay .
We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again when your travels bring you back to Istanbul

Best Regards

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The arrival at the hotel was below our expectations and wanted to move out the next day. However the Front Office Manager got to know about our dissatisfaction and really did everything not to let us go. Though we got a reservation in another better hotel, we stayed! Since that moment, we experienced the best attentive service from all the staff. Frankies on the roof is the nicest place in town to have a nice evening. The live music is great and the place very trendy.
We would certainly return...if we get the nice rooms at the back with a terrace!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms without a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgkhalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at The Sofa Hotel..
We are glad, once again, to see that our team has delivered promised highly individual service.

Hope to see you soon again.

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sofa Hotel is a boutique designer hotel. I can't comment on location (don't know Istanbul) but it seemed to be a good area with lots of fancy shops around. I found the hotel to be quirky because of decor (very dark in some common areas like the lobby) and elevators (small and quite claustrophobic). On the other hand, my room was the largest hotel room I ever stayed in, something like 50-60 m2, and it was very clean as well as really pleasantly furnished and decorated. It overlooked an inner courtyard with something like a water fountain so I could hear the splashing of water, for some people this can be calming but I found it rather annoying. Staff was very polite but it took me a lot of time to get someone's attention to order food in the restaurant in the evening, and (surprisingly) even more to pay the bill. So overall it's a quirky hotel but a good one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the favorable comments concerning our facilities and staff, as well as for your time to post this review.

Your feedback is very important to us because it helps us to continuously improve our services and adjust it to the demands of our clients.

We really hope to see you soon again at The Sofa Hotel again

Best Regards

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you travel for business or you are looking for shopping, this is the place. Very comfortable, new, clean and with a great location in Abdi Ipecki the "Montenapoleone" of Istanbul. Very nice design and good breakfast. Some of the rooms are facing a private courtyard with a fountain, giving a pleasant water sound all night. No rumors from outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moma1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for pointing out the deco, the staff and the facilities, which made us happy to see we got it right for you

Looking forward to seeing you again

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here for one night in October on business, and while the stay itself was good enough (apart from a very embarrassing incident where I was told the wrong room number on check in and so was trying to get into an already occupied room late at night - apparently not the first time this has happened here according to my colleague!), a couple of days later I noticed an additional charge on my credit card. I enquired by email what this charge was, as I had not signed for or authorised it, and was told it was for items from the mini bar which I absolutely had not used. I was assured that the money would be refunded within 2 weeks. However 2 weeks later, still no refund. So I emailed again to be told the money would be back on my card by the end of the week. By the following Tuesday, still no refund! The money has just been refunded to my card, almost 5 weeks later. So my advice would be to check your bill after you leave and keep chasing, as they seem very reluctant to refund mistakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humeyra E, Front Office Manager at The Sofa Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,


First of all, we would like to thank you for the comments about our hotel, as well as, for the time spent on writing them.
It is really extremely helpful for us to get your feedback and all your comments have been brought to the attention of each of the responsibles to make sure that the service level as expected
I do apologise for all the matter that may casued
I would be more than happy If we have another chance to have in our hotel again

Best Regards

Hümeyra Ercil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#164 of 1,156 in Istanbul
462 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#116 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,565 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#119 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,382 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#192 of 1,156 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofa Hotel

Property: The Sofa Hotel
Address: Tesvikiye Cad. No:41/A Nisantasi, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#136 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#173 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#181 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sofa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosen amongst Europe`s top ten design hotels, The Sofa Hotel reflects an innovative and cosmopolitan approach to travel in every detail. Ideally located in Nişantaşi, Istanbul`s trendiest shopping, entertainment, art and culinary district, The Sofa Hotel offers its guests 82 finely decorated and spacious rooms in an atmosphere interwoven with contemporary art, a cafe serving a creative palette of fine international cuisine and a luxurious Spa designed for Fitness and Relaxation. The top floor of the Hotel is home to Frankie Istanbul, one of the City`s finest dining venues set in an elegant and vibrant ambience against a breathtaking view of Istanbul`s sky line. The Sofa Hotel`s personally tailored HIP service approach, attention to detail and sophisticated atmosphere will make your visit truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sofa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sofa Hotel Residences Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing