We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good solid hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Park Hotel
Ranked #788 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good solid hotel, wonderful staff”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

There are loads of hotels down the hill from the Sultanahmet area and the Cosmopolitan Park is a fine one. The location is terrific, around the corner from the Blue Mosque. The staff went out of there way to be helpful and friendly, including getting us breakfast out of the usual times. The view from the outer rooms and the breakfast area is breathtaking. I would stay there again in a minute.

That said, there are several things people should know. None of the hotels in the area (except the Four Seasons and maybe Yeshil Ev) are first class international hotels. The rooms are clean but small and some things do not work right (shower door off the track). But for under Euro 100, this is a fair price. I have run into this standard across Europe and my budget does not support a Four Seasons room.

The biggest drawback of the Cosmopolitan Park (and maybe others) is that there is no elevator. The staff will carry your baggage but you need to climb to the fifth floor (European counting) for breakfast and to whatever floor your room is on.

If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay in Sultanahmet, the Cosmopolitan Park is a fine choice.

Room Tip: The outer rooms with a view are lovely. If you do not think you want to pay for the view (which you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceshorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

GA

9 reviews
Cosmopolitan Park Hotel

Great location: 2 minute walk around the block to Hagia Sophia and the palace
Exceptional service: the staff are gentlemen
Spectacular views: the dining area and rooftop offer breathtaking views
Nice rooms: sea side and upper floor rooms (e.g. 403) may be better
Good breakfast: fresh fruits, breads, cheeses, and meat plus coffee and tea
No smoking: entirely smoke free for no musty smell
Value priced: fairly priced and available cash discount

I had the pleasure of staying at the Cosmopolitan Park Hotel during a recent trip to Turkey. I'd researched the hundreds of hotel options in the historic section of Sultanahmet, Istanbul. There were no compelling options that weren't above my price range. After revising my search parameters to include non-smoking rooms the
Cosmopolitan Park Hotel appeared as one of he few hotels that is entirely smoke free.
That ended up my deciding factor and I couldn't be more happy with the decision.

The Cosmopolitan Park Hotel will give you the taste of traditional Turkish accommodations. No the rooms aren't huge, they are adequate. But the beds are extremely comfortable and the AC cold when needed. No the bathroom doesn't have a jacuzzi tub, but they are big enough with hot water and strong water pressure. No there's no elevator/lift, but we could all use the exercise and if you want fancy, go to he Four Seasons.

I can't say enough about the staff. Mr. Kamil was very prompt in responding to my every email and scheduling transportation for us. Mr. Fehme was there to carry bags up and down, had breakfast with hot tea and coffee for us each morning, all with a wonderful smile. Both offered trustworthy recommendations for site seeing and restaurants (the Meat House around the corner was our best meal of all).

These gentlemen make it easy for me to recommend the Cosmopolitan Park Hotel to anyone traveling to Istanbul.

John 20:31

Georgia, USA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The hotel is one of the many small cosy hotels in the Sultanahmet-area of Istanbul. It's perfectly within walking distance to all the major cultural sites of Istanbul, yet in a more peaceful side street away from the nosy bars and restaurants. The rooms are small, but clean and freshly decorated. The rooms with sea view are slightly more expensive, but might be worth the extra cost. However, you can whenever climb up to the roof terrace and enjoy the sun and the fantastic view of the whole city. breakfast is served on the top floor and you can decide whether you enjoy it indoor or climb all the way to the roof. They don't serve anything else then breakfast, which means that the dininghall and rooftop is freely in your use the rest of the day. We bought every night some beer in the reseption and enjoyed it on the terrace. Needs of course some climbing and the hotel can not be recommended to disable people as there's no lift in the building. The hotel staff was great and you felt welcome all the time and it gave sort of a family feeling to the whole place.

Room Tip: Take the room with the sea view if you decide to use the room a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed, with my daughter, at this hotel in summer 2010. It was a happy stay.
This is a budget hotel at great location with a very good breakfast, with a helpfull and friendly staff.
Comparing to other budget hotels in same area, pricing was reasonable.
Our room was not big, had a tiny balcony+a small fridge+Tv. The bathroom needs some attention.
The hotel is close to everything/Sultanahmet area and all sightseeings.

Breakfast is served at the top floor room with a lovely view to Marmara sea.

Fehmi is one of the staff who makes you feel you like at home. Thank you Kamil and Fehmi.

We'll come again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitaestdecorus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Basic hotel but the location is superb and the staff and management are very helpful and friendly. It is clean and comfortable

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We look for smaller, well located, less expensive, and clean hotels when we travel. The Cosmopolitan Park meets all these requirements. The location is excellent, very convenient to many of the historic sites, with the added benefit of being able to get to these sites early before the major tour buses arrive.
Rooms are modest in size, but adequate, nicely decorated with Turkish fabrics, and ours included a small desk with a coffee maker, a TV, and a small refrigerator with a large bottle of water inside. Also there is artwork throughout, some free postcards, and bookmarks. These small thoughts were appreciated.
We recommend reserving a sea view room as they are more open than the interior rooms we looked at, and the view over the ruins of the Byzantine Palace vaulting was of the entrance to the Bosporus and Asia beyond. It was interesting to watch the variety of shipping pass by.
Kamil, at the desk, is a great source of information about Istanbul and Turkey and is willing to help. He is concerned about his guests, When we decided to return early from a driving trip his first words when we called to see if we could get a room early was: "Is there a problem and what can I do to help."
The breakfast room is on the 5th (top) floor, a bit of a climb as we get older as there is no elevator, and has magnificent views of the Blue Mosque and the Marmara Sea. The Turkish breakfast buffet, over seen by Fehmi was always good, with several cheeses, olives, breads, meats, and hard boiled eggs. It is different than American breakfasts, but that's why we came to Turkey.
Our only regret is the distance from Arizona as we want to go back.

Room Tip: Take the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixencanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was a real gouge - and like much of Istanbul, way over-priced. We expected much better value given the exhorbitant 70 euro/ night price for our room - and this was the best deal we could get even for a 5 night stay!

Our room was the size of a large closet - only one of us could move in the room at any given time. Furthermore, there was no natural light entering the room, since the only "window" faced into some sort of grotty well that ran the length of the building. This well was also the source of much noise eminating from the other rooms at all hours. There was also drainage noises coming from our bathroom and the stink of sewage seeped into our room frequently.

After our first (and only) experience with the pathetic breakfast at this hotel, we decided that our stomachs warranted much better and had breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blagovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Silivri Park Hotel
#789 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Sultanahmet
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#469 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Amara Old City Hotel
Amara Old City Hotel
#706 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eser Premium Hotel & Spa
#365 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#565 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#188 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Park Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Park Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi, Kutlugun Sok. No: 16 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the old section of Istanbul. Very close to all major museums. Rooms with the sea view are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Park Istanbul
Hotel Cosmopolitan Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing