We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right location, right view, right hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Park Hotel
Ranked #788 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right location, right view, right hotel.”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We look for smaller, well located, less expensive, and clean hotels when we travel. The Cosmopolitan Park meets all these requirements. The location is excellent, very convenient to many of the historic sites, with the added benefit of being able to get to these sites early before the major tour buses arrive.
Rooms are modest in size, but adequate, nicely decorated with Turkish fabrics, and ours included a small desk with a coffee maker, a TV, and a small refrigerator with a large bottle of water inside. Also there is artwork throughout, some free postcards, and bookmarks. These small thoughts were appreciated.
We recommend reserving a sea view room as they are more open than the interior rooms we looked at, and the view over the ruins of the Byzantine Palace vaulting was of the entrance to the Bosporus and Asia beyond. It was interesting to watch the variety of shipping pass by.
Kamil, at the desk, is a great source of information about Istanbul and Turkey and is willing to help. He is concerned about his guests, When we decided to return early from a driving trip his first words when we called to see if we could get a room early was: "Is there a problem and what can I do to help."
The breakfast room is on the 5th (top) floor, a bit of a climb as we get older as there is no elevator, and has magnificent views of the Blue Mosque and the Marmara Sea. The Turkish breakfast buffet, over seen by Fehmi was always good, with several cheeses, olives, breads, meats, and hard boiled eggs. It is different than American breakfasts, but that's why we came to Turkey.
Our only regret is the distance from Arizona as we want to go back.

Room Tip: Take the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixencanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was a real gouge - and like much of Istanbul, way over-priced. We expected much better value given the exhorbitant 70 euro/ night price for our room - and this was the best deal we could get even for a 5 night stay!

Our room was the size of a large closet - only one of us could move in the room at any given time. Furthermore, there was no natural light entering the room, since the only "window" faced into some sort of grotty well that ran the length of the building. This well was also the source of much noise eminating from the other rooms at all hours. There was also drainage noises coming from our bathroom and the stink of sewage seeped into our room frequently.

After our first (and only) experience with the pathetic breakfast at this hotel, we decided that our stomachs warranted much better and had breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blagovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I booked this hotel because I wanted somewhere that was reasonably priced, well located for the main sights, and with good views. I can't fault it on any of those counts (though prices have increased since we booked!). The location is very close to the Blue Mosque, in a road of shops, hotels and hostels, and although some reviewers have mentioned that it is backpacker territory and a bit scruffy in parts, The Four Seasons Hotel is also situated here.

The views from the roof top terrace are probably as good as you get from any hotel in the city - just a pity it rained a lot while we were there! And we paid extra for a sea view which I think was defninltely worth it; I liked waking up to the sounds and sights of seagulls and fishing boats. Yes, you do have to ignore a few scruffy roof tops between hotel and sea but the hotel can't do much about those.

The room itself was bright, comfortable and nicely decorated with Turkish textiles. There was a small crack in the handbasin, and the room had rather a chemically smell (mothballs?) but neither of those things particulary bothered us. The rest of the hotel was simply and pleasantly decorated, and the staff - we only saw 2 in 5 days/nights! - were really freindly and helpful. Breakfast was good, as long as you're not expecting croissants or a hot meal , and it was nice to have a coffee maker - and coffee - provided in the room.

If I go back to Istanbul I will defnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

An excellent room. The whole place was clean and pleasant. The lobby was attractive and comfortable. And, the terrace where we ate breakfast had great views. And the breakfast was very good.

The staff was helpful and pleasant. And, Kamil, who runs the front desk, is a treasure. Be sure to spend some time talking with him about Turkey, its politics, its literature, etc.

The location is very near the Topkapi Palace, the Hagia Sophia, and the Blue Mosque.

We reserved and got a room with a "Double room with a sea view", which I can recommend. It was a very pleasant room with a small table, several chairs, and a large window with view. There might be other rooms that are not quite as pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkuhlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

I chose the Cosmopolitan Park Hotel based on all of the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. When I arrived, I was quite disappointed. At 66€ (USD88) per night, it was very much overpriced.

The hotel is located on a quiet side street in Sultanahmet with hostels and guesthouses as neighbors. The Cosmopolitan Park Hotel seemed more like a hostel than a hotel.

The first thing I noticed was that there was no lift. Although someone from the hotel carried our luggage up the two flights of stairs on arrival, we had to do the reverse on our own at departure. For people traveling with more than the rollaboard bag I had, that would be a big inconvenience.

The room was small but clean. In the bathroom, my friend and I discovered that the toilet seat was not securely attached to the toilet. We also found that one of the two shower doors was broken, so it would not stay on its track. I expected it to fall on me while I was taking a shower.

The "land side" room had no view whatsoever. We overlooked a trash strewn roof and run down buildings.

The breakfast was very, very limited. On the one morning I actually had the breakfast, my choices were limited to not much more than some olives, bread, watermelon, and a juice box.

Based on other, European hotels I've stayed at in this price range, the Cosmopolitan Park Hotel is overpriced and not worthy of the rave reviews.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyguyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

we think this place is a great choice if you want to travel on a budget. we paid 50 euros per room including breakfast, the hotel is located in the heart of Sultanahmed district between Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. we could not have asked for a better location.also the hotel has a roof terrace with breathtaking views where you can sit and relax. the rooms are quite basic and small but they are clean. if you are a light sleeper i would advise you take a well lit room as it is a lot quieter than the other two types advertised. mr Kamil (the owner) is a very nice guy and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aricii123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This small, friendly hotel is perfectly located: very short walking distance from Aya Sofiya, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and many other sights. The rooms, though on the small side, are very clean and the seaside rooms have breathtaking views - well worth the extra. Breakfasts, served on the rooftop terrace, are generous and fresh. We stayed at this hotel for about a week and invariably experienced really good service both at reception and breakfast and lots of help when airport closures threatened to delay our return. Excellent value: we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony201020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Silivri Park Hotel
#789 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Sultanahmet
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#469 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Amara Old City Hotel
Amara Old City Hotel
#705 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eser Premium Hotel & Spa
#368 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#576 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#188 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Park Hotel

Property: Cosmopolitan Park Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mahallesi, Kutlugun Sok. No: 16 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosmopolitan Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the old section of Istanbul. Very close to all major museums. Rooms with the sea view are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Cosmopolitan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Park Istanbul
Hotel Cosmopolitan Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing