We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly--construction noise over!”
Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #566 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed here twice in June and found the hotel quiet at night--no problem. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, the staff friendly and patient. There was even a party for the opening of the rooftop restaurant--gorgeous view.
Don't worry about the noise--good hotel and very convenient to everything!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 981 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel.
In 2008 we visited Istanbul and we stayed here.
We liked it so much, and that's why we are back here.
Certainly, when will visit Istanbul, next time, we will make the booking at this hotel.
Very nice stuff; clean room (not very large, but, after all, nobody visit Istanbul to stay all day in the hotel room), the food is good.
The wireless internet is free and works good enough.
Also, it has very good location, nearest Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque and lot of touristic sites.It has all it needs to be a recomanded place: great location, clean rooms, very good services

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed a week here between May 11th to May 17th on our honeymoon. The location is superb for walking to the Grand Bazaar, the Egyptian Markets ( Spice Bazaar ) and the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia. The breakast was great it filled you up till late afternoon. The service was also great. We read the morning we were flying to Istanbul regards the construction work and were concerned about it and emailed them . We had a prompt reply promising us to be put to the quieter side of the hotel . Our airconditioner worked fine and had a large room (would have sleeped 3 people, double/ single ) even though we booked a double .

Also there is free internet access with an available PC near the bar area .

There was construction work at one side of the hotel going on through the night and I would recommend this hotel to friends if they were guaranteed a room on the opposite side of the hotel away from the noise or when the construction work is completed .

Also breakfast was in the basement when we were staying there looks as though this has been done up now for this service would have preferred to have it in the it in the roof terrace which is the restaurant area providing evening meals

The surrounding area is great for food there are restaurants open till about midnight even later and also a couple of small shops to buy water and snacks . There is a great feel about this area and quite safe to walk around. Just walking outside the hotel you feel you are in the old quarter. It definetly had Location Location Location .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keroauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I stayed there with my husband during the F1 race weekend. He went to the race and I've explored the town. The hotel is located in the perfect part of the old town surrounded with numerous restaurants, cafes and shops (also places where you can buy water, snacks...). It is just 5-6min. walk from the Sultanahmet Square and the blue tram line is 1-2min. walk. The sea is 5min. The lobby is really 4*, but some rooms are not. Our room was pretty small. But it didn't matter to us, because it was clean and we used it just for shower and sleep. The stuff is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is great. There are 86 different things to choose from. Just be careful to ask for the room that doesn't face the construction site in front of the hotel. It is very important or you want get sleep at all. We knew about that, so we asked for the room oriented to the other side of the street. The reception personnel had no problem with that and they gave us the quiet one. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaga976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The location and breakfast was good but that's about it.

Our room (and half of the hotel) looked out onto a working building site which, because of the traffic congestion during the day, was only active at night. I'm not talking about a bit of brick laying either, it was full on industrial with trucks and huge machinery.

We got no sleep and were told by the (virtually) non english speaking staff that they were unabale to move us to a quieter room. (I guess this was beacuse everyone else was complaining too!)

The rooms were a good size but the air conditioner kept stopping throughout the night and because of the noise and dust outside we were unable to have the windows open.

If you don't mind getting no sleep then this hotel will be fine but otherwise avoid at all costs!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BestBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

At the moment there are huge building works directly beside the hotel and this work is going on through the night. If you are on that side of the hotel then it is a nightmare. We were moved to the quieter side and things improved, but were still not great.

Such a shame, because the hotel is in a great location and the staff were brilliant. We ended up stuck in Istanbul for an extra week due to the volcano and the staff were so helpful in contacting the airport and the BA offices for us. We did move hotel for this extra 6 nights as we needed a change of venue and some peace and quiet.

I would stay here again, but only when the building was finished.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kids-as-well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

can not recommend this hotel, stay was aweful.
- noisy
- bad service
- no remote to aircondition
- airconditition did not work
- claustrophobiclly small rooms

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#132 of 1,160 in Istanbul
285 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#394 of 1,160 in Istanbul
213 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#177 of 1,160 in Istanbul
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Centrum Istanbul
Hotel Centrum Istanbul
#393 of 1,160 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#293 of 1,160 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#414 of 1,160 in Istanbul
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#211 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#354 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing