We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Uninspired Stay”
Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #568 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is difficult to review. The location is superb and is a great base to explore all of the old city and in walking distance of the Galata Tower across the Bosporus. There is nothing else about this hotel that stands out. The breakfast was bland. While our package included breakfast, it did not include orange juice, which was odd. While the pictures are great, the hotel has a dated/cold feel to it. Our room was small, even by European standards. Like many places in this area, you're going to get a wake up call circa 5:00 a.m. for morning prayers. We got used to it, but if you're a loud sleeper, this hotel is situated either near or below a loud speaker. (We didn't mark the hotel down because of this, because we read about the morning prayer call in advance of our stay.)

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricejudicata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 987 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean, good location, nice interior, friendly staff.
Had two rooms, one a decent size, other on the small side. Free wifi. Free transfer was waiting on arrival.
Breakfast could gave been better, though had a good variety.
Showers had good pressure, poor lighting however.
No issues with adjacent construction work.
No real complaints.
Great value & enjoyed stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1276qwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thanks for your comment, we will be happy to wellcome again in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ipek Palace in Istanbul for four nights at the end of May 2012 it was advertised as a four star hotel. We booked a double room with ensuite on arrival reception looked very nice staff very pleasant. We were taken to a terrible room 3mtrs x 2mtr, double bed pushed up against the wall, we could not move, the en suite was simply a shower tray in the corner of the room. There was one bulb lighting the room at the entrance so could not see a thing as so dim. There was a telephone stuck on the wall right above the pillow on the left side of the bed which duly fell off and hit me on the head. There was no air conditioning and the window opened to reveal a back alley filled with rubbish. This was not the room they had advertised on Last minute.com. we complained and said we would check out so they moved us to another room which was much better and newer, the next morning we met another guest who had just arrived and they had given him our first room, he was also complaining that it did not meet 2 star standards let alone 4 star. The hotel is in an excellent location and staff are very helpful but dont be deceived into booking a four star when it is not.

Room Tip: Ask for a photo of the room before booking..the hotel is being refurbished and the east side is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thanks for your comments about us. We are sorry that we could not satisfy your expectations. We need to clarify some points. We have different room types in our hotel, your room that you booked is economy room, which is cheapest room in our hotel. We have also supperrior and suit rooms, the size of the rooms bigger than economy rooms. One day later you came to reception and you complaint your room was to small. Our staff upgraded your room to standart room without any extra charge. We are helping our customer with pleasure to make their stay comfortable. The AC in your room was failed, our technic service have fixed this fail. We hope to see you again Hotel İpek Palas with comfortable stay with us.

Hotel Manager
Gülfem Yaşar Özberk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this in May through lastminute.com secret deals. I thought the four star grading meant that we'd be assured a certain standard, even if it wasn't the hippest hotel. I was wrong. On arrival even from the lobby I could see it had the signs of a 'faded' 4-star that perhaps was up to standard decades ago and now just hasn't been downgraded. After having a transfer not turn up, we eventually got ourselves to the hotel very late and tired to find a messed up booking and shown to our rooms (or rather 'prison cells!) for the night and asked to change the next day (we were ony meant to be there for a long weekend). My room was tiny, the bed, bedding and towels were disgustingly old and cheap. Now, I have backpacked around the world and found this hotel worse than a standard quality hostel. Seriously. I have allergies and this bedding set them off badly. They showed us the room for the next night which was equally awful too.There was construction work outside (not their fault but added to the 'holiday-from-hell' vibe) and it was hot on the top floor with broken air-con so didn't sleep well. My friend felt unsafe all night due to substandard lock and us being put in separate rooms (against our booking). The breakfast was not a good standard (awful orange squash and shocking coffee).

Life is too short for holidays like this so we transferred to another accommodation in the morning which was excellent. The Head Manager who checked us out did not even ask why we were leaving (we had compained to the night reception staff though). That really sums up their commitment to customer service!!!!

My friend has left feedback below and they've left a response that is actually lies. I find the dishonesty and lack of integrity even more concerning and feel we were right to trust our instincts about not feeling secure there or even that our possessions would be secure in the room. Avoid. Not somewhere I could possibly recommend and not people to do business with.

Room Tip: Perhaps the suites are better as more spacious. The standard doubles and singes are inexecusaby smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelexplorewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was here for 5 nights
hotel rooms small
food was mostly breakfast but there was a good selection
room have no tea or coffee making e
underground station being built just ouside window 24 7 staff very frendly and good at there job If a light sleeper go to another hotel
Close to all the attractions
Overall comment
Found the food in istanbul very bland

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I entered the hotel and struggled to get my luggage up the stairs. The bellboy just looked at me until I had gotten my luggage up the stairs. I would find this was the level of -no service to expect. The staff was unfriendly and provided incorrect information.

Before I get into this terrible hotel, let me tell you about a scam they have for the restaurant. In the elevator they post a special of the day in the restaurant. The price is 12-13 euros. I went to the restaurant to purchase a meal. The menu is in Turkish Liras. So when you look at the price on the menu and then the special flyer you think you are paying in Liras. The price was in euros but when the bill came it was in liras. Imagine my surprise to get a bill for twice what I expected to pay. This hotel plays funny business with the pricing in liras and euros. On to the room.

This is an overpriced youth hostel. The room was so small I could not fully open the bathroom door. The door hit the bed. The shower is so small you can not turn around in it. The shower head had so much scale on it, it was white. The complementary toiletries considered of industry grade soap in a school bathroom dispenser, one small bottle of conditioner and a shower cap. The first night I was there the mattress was so old and lumpy you could hear the springs moving. The next day while I was out a new mattress was placed. The halls are dark and dank.

There was no safe in the room as listed in the room discription. After I complained the hotel provided a safe. Some safe. All a person needed to do to open the safe was enter a new code.

The a/c did not work. They sent maintenance. He fixed so that it would not turn off.



Breakfast was OK. The juice provided for free tasted like bad Kool-aide. You can buy a nice glass of orange juice for approximately $3.00. Don't expect breakfast to be ready at 7AM. Everything may be out by 8AM.



Do not go the the Turkish bath house they recommend. One word unsanitary and the women and men share the sauna although the brochure said there were separate entrances and sections for men and women.



The only good thing about this hotel other than checking out and leaving is the location. It is centrally located. The markets and mosques are about a 20-30 minute walk from the hotel.



Don't stay here. Find a better hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daxiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thanks for your comments about us. We are sorry that we could not satisfy your expectations. We need to clarify some points; we don't accept hotel expect no service. The hotel personal was always friendly and helpfull, you can see also other reviews. We don't provide incorrect information, if you think we gave you incorrect information, please give us detail for incorrect information. The Restaurant the menü special day prices is correct 12-13 euros, if you take this menu you will pay that price, the waiter bring you the bill in TL, because he must write the bill always in turkish Liras cause of goverment rules foreign money not accept, but you can pay euros or liras it is depend of you. You booked economy single room and we gave you this economy room. We have also superrior rooms and the rates are more expensive than this room type, your choise was an economy room. We hav all room safe box but your safe box was sent to service for repair. We offered you safe at the reception but you wanedt definitely in your room, safe box was taken from empty room. The password of safe box can be given yourself, nobody can open it, Sometimes the customer forgets the password and blocks the safe box, hotel manager open it in emergency cases with customer allocation. Ourself alone we never touch the safe box. Hotel has cameras everywhere we can see who enters into room. We had problem with our A/C till the service came the day after. They fixed the problem with A/C and now it is working properly. Technic problems happen always everywhere. The hamam which you taken we don't know, it is not our recommend. We know which hamam accept seperate or mix.
Aydın ALBAYRAK
FO&SALES MNG.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Awful Awful Awful - If we wanted a budget experience, we would've booked budget. Booked through lastminute.com 'top secret 4 star' which we wouldn't normally do but were pushed for time, and we stupidly trusted it to be true to word. We are 2 females, well travelled, who booked 1 room with 2 separate beds: 1. for safety in a foreign city; 2. As part of our experience to be away together as friends. We were a little sceptical upon reading reviews and tried to keep an open mind - how bad could it be? ...We confirmed our booking for a double with 2 beds a week prior and were assured. Upon check in we were given 2 separate single rooms which we protested but had no choice but to accept at 11pm. Rooms were tiny, dirty, depressing, stuffy and unsafe. My room had one self locking handle lock, no additional door locks typically standard at any hotel - especially an apparent 4 star. I felt vulnerable and pushed furniture against the door before going to bed. To top off an already disrupted sleep, awoke in the night hot and stuffy and was not surprised to then find the air con didn't work (nor did my friends). I couldn't open the window as room was on a walk way, and also with construction work going on, would have slept even less than I did. I also saw a standard double, and that was equally as frightening - trust peoples reviews. Next morning, reception claimed to have 'run out' of city maps, I think they ran out in 1990, so had to spend 5tl to buy the last one. We decided it wasn't worth staying in those depressing conditions, and to ruin our holiday, so we set about finding other accommodation. We found an amazing apartment which was half the price, and worlds apart in standard and service - it made our holiday. Upon checking out after 1 night, with 2 nights remaining on the booking, the manager who happened to be on duty, did not even query it.... says it all really. Best decision made was to move.

Room Tip: 'Suites' looked decent; standard double was frightening; single just awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks for your comments about us. We would like to clarify some points related to your review. Becuase of hotel was overbooked,we were lack of economy twin and other room type. For this reason we gave for you 2 single bedroom. On your arrival day hotel staff explained to you hotel’s situation and offered you different alternatives as being a solution to apologize for this inconvenience.On next day hotel staff wanted change your room to twinbedroom but you didn't contact to change your room. You took your luggage and said to reception that you change the hotel to Taksim area. The Reception asked to you whether there was any problem or not. You did not reply and explain the reason. You only mentioned, the aim of the change hotel was only for being with your other friends in Taksim area. Additionally you booked non refundable reservation, for non refundable reservations any cancellation, modification or refundation can not be applied. By the way, from Sabiha Gökçen airport your one way transfer was organised for 60 euros but you didn't pay it. The staff has paid your transfer. At least you could ask the bill for your extra services.

Best regards.
Aydın ALBAYRAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#464 of 1,178 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#144 of 1,178 in Istanbul
293 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#264 of 1,178 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#90 of 1,178 in Istanbul
2,218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Park Hotel
Gulhane Park Hotel
#337 of 1,178 in Istanbul
305 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#393 of 1,178 in Istanbul
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#356 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $34 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing