We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!”
Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #486 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ipek Palas is a great hotel to stay in with different rooms suiting each holiday people e.g honeymooners, business men, families. The destination of the hotel is amazing because it's in the centre of Istanbul's attractions and nearest to the main attractions and tram lines. The service in the hotel was one the best and the food too. The hotel clerks were amazing help and made the holiday much less arduous especially one hotel clerk called Bekir who always made you feel confident about moving around istanbul and assistance. All of them are always happy to help with a smile and patience. Te hotel itself is clean and cosy but the bathroom could be bigger and could have just a little stronger air-con. Overall it was amazing

Room Tip: choose either double or higher economy should only be picked if your staying over a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naicheervan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks to share your positive comments about us with other travellers.We are always ready to assist our guests to make their holiday memorable.We are looking forward to welcome you in Ipek Palas Hotel.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    330
    172
    82
    75
See reviews for
191
367
72
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is more like a 1 or 2 star hotel. Air conditioners did not function- they said the hotel's system is being repaired. Found cockroach in the room - disgusting. Telephones also didn't work because of "busy time" - many other hotels to choose from in the same neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mumbaikars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review.We would like to share reality with our followers.You made a single room reservation and until arrival day you did not request for agency or hotel reservation department to modify your single room reservation to double room.On your arrival day you came as double room.As a hotel policy it was explained to you your reservation type clearly and our colleague asked second person supplement.Firstly you checked your room with our colleague and accepted to stay in that room.The colleagues also showed you how to use air conditioner because you adjusted to heating mode.Only 15 minutes after your arrival ,you came to reception with your luggages and spoke to reception very impolitely.Without any reason you shouted to staff by threating to write on tripadvisor and left our hotel.After this speech your room was checked immediately by staff and manager.The airconditioner was working and there was not any cockroach in the room.It’s so strange to write something without having any accommodation experience in our hotel.This review does not reflect the reality.

Best Regards

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel isn’t as good as I had hoped or expected. I have stayed in Istanbul many many times and in a variety of accommodation. At the price I paid I would expect better. The hotel is in the Sirkeci district, 10 years ago you wouldn’t have found many hotels in this area but it is now full of places to stay. It is supposed to be less touristy than Sultanahmet proper, but I was really surprised to see just how the tacky shops and awful restaurants have spread. Nonetheless it is close to the wonderful water and ferry terminal so is, in my opinion, a better location if you have to be south of Taksim.

I booked a suite room and this is only suitable for families. The bathroom is exactly the same size as a standard room (only a shower) and you have to walk through one room to get to another so privacy is a problem and not something I expected.

Breakfast is downstairs and appears to be quite a lavish affair, in fact it isn’t. There is loads of weird stuff to pad the buffet out including tomato soup! I’ve eaten 1000s of breakfasts across Turkey in dirt cheap through to top end accommodations and I have never seen soup for breakfast! Mad. The pastries and cakes are plentiful and appear varied, but are actually pretty tasteless duplications. I think they would be better off doing a few things well, rather than trying to pretend that there is a huge variety to choose from.

I knew that there wasn’t an outdoor roof terrace. I love outdoor terraces in Istanbul and the best are within reach of Sultanahmet (perhaps the only redeeming thing about hotels in this area). I expect to pay more for a hotel with a terrace. What was nice, I thought, was the upstairs bar/restaurant. Wrong again. Absolutely lifeless with no atmosphere whatsoever. I also thought that it might be a nice place to go for a beer at the end of the evening. Wrong again. It closes at 2300 – even for guests! Crazy, so I went out to one of the many local bars open until at least 0200.

The major problem with this hotel is the noise – particularly if you stay in the period before the hotel considers that summer has not started - during that time the aircon is centrally disabled so you either boil with window closed or are deafened with it open! There is a major building project going on. It is to do with the Marmara tunnel and it’s not something that’ll be finished in a couple of weeks – think years and years. This isn’t the hotel’s fault, but should be better reflected in their pricing.

In summary I think I paid too much for the room. The staff are nice enough, but so are most staff in Turkey! The noise is a problem, rooms not that big and breakfast and bar disappointing. I wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intentionally_blank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments about us. The family rooms are consist of two interconnected rooms and they are advertised in that way. If the privacy is subject, separate rooms should be preferred by guests. In order not to disturb the downstairs guests at night ,restaurant is closed around 23:00. There are many varieties in the breakfast, that cater to different cultures. If you have been in many places in Turkey,it’s impossible not to see many soup sellers in the middle of the night also mornings in our country.,it’s related to food culture, not to madness .Thanks for choosing us.

Kind Regards

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel one day. Very comfortable, clean, silently, near from histotical places. Personal are very friendly, price are convienient, food is tasty. Wi-Fi is quick. Thank you very much. I will advice this hotel to my friends

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Our valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for review about us.You took your time to share your experience with other tripadvisor followers.Your comments were shared by Hotel Ipek Palas team.
On your next trip we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards from Istanbul

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Its a decent that wont blow you away and also leave you with nothing to complain about either. Breakfast was average but the hotel and rooms were clean and comfortable. Good place to stay if you plan to just to sleep there and explore the City most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

have stayed at this hotel for the 3rd time now and every visit has been a very consistent experience, and Ipek Palas is definately my number 1 preference for hotels in istanbul.
Pros: - Close to all the tourist attractions sultan ahmet precinct and grand bazaar
- close to tram and ferry stations
- clean hotel
- friendly staff went out of their way to help with our requests

cons: - really hard to fault this hotel the only negative would be the construction going on next door however it did not affect my stay at all, ear plugs are a must for travelling anywhere i didnt hear a thing!

having read the negative reviews posted previously i found it hard to believe anyone would not like this hotel or have a bad experience however i guess everyone has different expectations when they book a hotel and different standards which they are accustomed to, in my opinion having stayed at a few other hotels in istanbul this hotel is perfectly fine, clean and friendly hotel if you are there to sightsee, if you are looking for a hotel where you want to spend more time in the actual hotel and looking for ammenities then this hotel probably wont meet your requirements.
as said previously this is my number one choice for my stay in istanbul always a pleasure staying there.

thank-you to the friendly staff for making it a great stay each time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnG_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
dear guest,

thank you so much your nice and important comments about hotel ipek palas.we will evaluate every detail that our guests emphasize.thanks to your evaluation, we'll be much more carefull to make our guest happy during their stay.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Greetings from Istanbul

Guest Relations
Bekir ŞİŞMEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

the hotel was ok , but the service not that good .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thanks for your review about İpek Palas Hotel but we want to add something.All of the employees pay attention to their responsibility.If one of our guests warns us about any problem, we deal with it immediately.Thanks for choosing us.We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Yours Faithfully

Guest Relations
Bekir ŞİŞMEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#330 of 1,149 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#61 of 1,149 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#159 of 1,149 in Istanbul
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Blu Hotel Istanbul
Blu Hotel Istanbul
#565 of 1,149 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#360 of 1,149 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#246 of 1,149 in Istanbul
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Property: Hotel Ipek Palas
Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#212 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#318 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing