We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ipek Palas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ipek Palas
Ranked #443 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I would like to thank all the staff at the Ipek Palas. My friend and I booked a double room for 3 nights and loved the fact that we were so close to all the cultural tours and places. We had no problems travelling around on the trams I would like to say a special thank-you to Ramazan who runs the Terrace Restaurant. It provides friendly service and good food. I even had a special red silk tablecloth and the most beautiful shaped knapkins especially twisted into flowers plus a fabulous cake and sparklers to celebrate my birthday. Very thoughtful and very kind. Room was a bit small but very clean and there was a safe in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    330
    171
    82
    72
See reviews for
191
364
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I would have rated this hotel a 3 / 5 but added another star just for the great location. Its within a 10 minute walk to the Topaki Palace, Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque and less than 5 minutes to the Sirkeci tram stop.

Hotel itself was just OK -- we booked a "superior" room but it was still pretty small and had a weird smell to it. Overall room was clean but definitely an old room, with old furniture, and the bathroom had a TINY shower (with one of those on-the-wall soap-and-shampoo-in-one dispensers). We faced a side street so didn't have problems with noise that other reviewers complained about; but they were doing some interior construction/remodelling/painting of the hallways outside our room which made it impossible to sleep in late.

Staff was polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast wasn't amazing but there was a decent spread.

Overall we didn't love the hotel but for the cheap rate and great location we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Our valued guest

Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel and service.The room that you booked was a superior concept room.Each concept room has its own style and for each decoration different theme was applied.As you mentioned, we had a maintenance and apologize for this inconvenience.For your next trip to Istanbul, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Superb location in the centre of the historical area. Apparently it is the 2nd oldest hotel in Istanbul. Breakfast as expected, rooms a bit of a disappointment, although the staff did move us and we were very happy with the second room. The staff are superb, very friendly and helpful. The construction of a new underground train line is a bit noisy at night if you are in one of the front rooms.

Room Tip: For 2012 at least, request a back room, view not up to much, but at least its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

A beatuful old hotel with fashion, for busines and family trip. Position is ecellent in the old part of the Istanbul. The staff is very feiendly and pleasant. Rooms are very clean. I was excited with enterier of the breakfast room, with of corse very good food.
Thanks Ruveyda and the others for our pleasant time in istanbul.
Amir&Ira

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Mr.Amir and Miss Ira

Thank you very much for your post on Trip Advisor about your recent stay. We are very happy to find out that we have been up to your expectations and have ensured a memorable stay for you.You can be assured that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team.
We hope to host you again in the nearest future.

Warm Regards

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thakeham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have just returnd from a 4 day stay at the Ipek Palace visiting with friends. The hotel is excellent for position in the old town and in walking distance to most of the attactions. The staff in the hotel were extremely pleasant and tried to be very helpful. Breakfast was relatively basic, but expected, no complaints really. Our room was not like that shown on the website and was probablty the smallest room we have ever stayed in, room 307. It was obviously a single room at one time with a double bed squeezed against the wall. Not enough hanging space meant most of our clothes were kept in the case. What really spoilt the trip though was the major construction site next door. Our room overlooked this directly. On arrival the hotel was full and they did not have any other rooms available to move any of our party to. The noise was immence and throughout the night every night, with no let up. I am sure when the work is complete the hotel will be better but for the time being we could definatley not reccomend staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamSRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your post on Trip Advisor about your recent stay in our hotel. We attach great attention to all comments of our guests to determine and revise our policies.As you wrote,our hotel was full and we could not change.Additionaly, you know how much efforts we gave during your accomodation to make you feel comfortable.For this inconvenience we apologize from you. We kindly thank you once more for choosing our hotel.

Best Regards

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have just returned from my second visit to Istanbul, and my second stay at The Hotel Ipek Palas. As one would expect, Istanbul has not changed, nor has this hotel, well, only a little. The hotel is situated in the very heart of the Old City, and really cannot be beaten for value. The rooms are a good size and very comfortable, and there are both TV and Internet for those who desire such things. There is also a lift to all floors, and from the top floor, just a few extra steps to the roof restaurant, which affords fantastic views over the Bosporus Sea. The staff are quite wonderful: very welcoming and very helpful. There is also a small but quite well stocked bar. The hotel is within a few minutes' walk of so many of Istanbul's attractions, and its winter prices make it superb value for money. So, how has the hotel changed since last year? Well, the breakfasts are bigger and better than ever - quite unbelieveable! And this year they have a lady who checks daily with all the guests to make sure all is well for them. What an excellent idea. Many an English hotel could learn a thing or two from The Hotel Ipek Palace. The one slight problem for some people may be that building work is taking place in the area, where a new Metro Station is being constructed. At times, there may be some noise. However, the staff do all they can to change rooms if people are affected by this. I can thoroughly recommend this very splendid hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, and the building work distrubs you, ask for a change of room. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFethiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Mr.David

Thank you for taking time to share your recent İpek Palas experience on TripAdvisor. It has been a true honor to have you as our guest. We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed with us.Your positive comments motivate us to keep working towards the highest satisfaction of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Greetings from Istanbul

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel was the real star of our few days in the city. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful especially Ruvenda at the customer relations desk and Ramazan the head waiter. We ate at the rooftop restaurant three nights out of the five because of it`s view and the lovely atmosphere and great food. The customer relation desk was a new experience for us and Ruvenda knew everything about everything and what she didn`t immediately know she soon found out! We were also so pleased with the hotel`s central situation and character. All in all a great find and we look forward to returning when we can.

Room Tip: we booked a superior room and were given a named room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Mrs.Lynda

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback.We are happy to learn that you overall enjoyed your experience with us and note your constructive comments in order to improve our services.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Hotel İpek Palas.

Best Wishes from Istanbul

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Amber Hotel
#96 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#330 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Park Hotel
Gulhane Park Hotel
#355 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#428 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#147 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ipek Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ipek Palas

Property: Hotel Ipek Palas
Address: Orhaniye Cad. No:9, Sirkeci, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#213 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#295 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ipek Palas 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ipek Palace is located in the old city section of Istanbul. The airport is 15 km from the hotel. Topkapi palace museum, orient express railway station, Blue Mosque and St. Sophia are only 15 minutes away by walking. The entrance of the hotel was decorated with Italian marble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ipek Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipek Palas Hotel
Ipek Palas Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing