We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out-of-this-world view and the nicest people ever!”
Review of Terrace Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terrace Guesthouse
Ranked #136 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stunning views from the terrace of the Sea of Marmara, Asian Istanbul, Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque.  Dogan and Kemal were great sources of information about how to get around and what to do in the fascinating city of Istanbul.  I must have asked more questions than the average guest and was always responded to with friendliness and patience. As a female traveling alone, this was invaluable to me. In addition, The hotel was very clean and Nele served a delicious breakfast each morning. She knew I drank two cups of coffee each morning and always had the second one ready the moment I finished the first! I really experienced wonderful Turkish hospitality at the Terrace and recommend it highly.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Starr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Terrace Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 99 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

You wanted to stay in Sultanahmet because it's the old city, and full of good tourist attractions. The Terrace Guesthouse staff is very helpful, knowledgeable about the area, and they speak very good English. It's small, very clean, and impossible for those with mobility challenges as it has a spiral staircase that runs through the core of the building. Breakfast is on the fifth level, and the view on the sixth level of the Bosphorous, the Dardenelles, and both the Blue Mosque and the Ayasophia are spectacular. The breakfast was strange, and identical each day for seven days; boiled egg, roll, jam and honey, tomato slices and cucumber, yoghurt, and tea/instant coffee.

The rooms were very clean and some (like #2) have their own terraces and requisite views. The area is safe, but you'll need to fend off the merchants trying to get into your store by ignoring them and avoiding eye contact with them. They're trained to lure you in, so resist. Be forewarned: they're good, and don't be abashed at ignoring their plying ways.

The value of this tiny hotel-with-breakfast plan is high. Across the street is the Four Seasons, which costs more than double per day. You're two blocks from attractions, three from the tram that takes you all over the European-side of the city. Alternative food is nearby. It's an ideal location for walking, catching transportation, or just hanging out. Recommended.

Room Tip: Look online, or get photos. #2 and #6 are very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toomanymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We had a fabulous stay; the Terrace Guesthouse was all we had hoped for. Super-friendly, relaxed, interesting hosts made us feel at home and even tucked a bottle of wine into our bedroom on my birthday. Best shower we've ever found in a hotel. Perfect location but no 'pushy' tourist feel. Go stay with them... you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the higher the better.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Having booked into another hotel which turned out to be completely inappropriate to our needs, we ended up hitting the streets of Sultanahmet, in peak season, to try and find a place to stay for 3 nights.
While The Terrace Guesthouse wasn't the cheapest option we found, we chose them because the staff were lovely and the room was comfortable and wonderfully clean.
Walking distance to the Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and Arasta Bazaar, as well as the Sultanahmet Tram stop, it is convenient to practically everything.
Breakfast on the sparkling terrace overlooking the Marmara sea and the Bosphorus was wonderful. The meal had more variety than most places we had stayed in Turkey, was very pleasant and satisfying. The lovely lady who served us had a ready smile and tea and coffee in quick supply. They even gave us feuit an yoghurt to-go when our airport shuttle picked us up earlier than the breakfast times.
Facilities included a minbar, TV and wifi in our room.
The small spiral staircase is probably my only negative because it made me nervous of my frequent clumsiness; however they happily offered to carry our heavy bags up to the room for us, and I didn't stumble once.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My fiance and I spent three nights at this hotel at the end of April and we couldn't have been more content. The hosts were really friendly and helpful. We got great recommendations for food and sight-seeing and it all felt really homey. And the view was incredible: the Blue Mosque on the one side of the room and Hagia Sofia on the other. One night we spent on their terrace with the amazing view and a bottle of wine we got from the guesthouse, really recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia_London_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I just got back from a week in Istanbul staying at this charming guesthouse. The people who run this hotel are kindness itself- totally charming. After a long delay at the airport we arrived at 1 in the morning but it was no trouble we were greeted with warmth which was typical of our stay.
The hotel is well located for al the main sites, about 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque. The rooms was rather small for 3 people but as we were out all day this was unimportant plus the breakfast room and terrace are always available. Our room also had the best view imaginable- the Blue Mosque out of one window and the Aya Sofya out of the other - truly wonderful.
Dogan the owner is a wonderful kind host and has the best smile- I recommend this place if you want to stay in a small hotel which is nice and quiet. The breakfast lad y is also charming.

Room Tip: The top room is up 4 flights of stairs but the views are incomparable
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piccolowalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

In 2006 my husband and I found the Terrace via Tom Brosnahan's TurkeyTravelPlanner website as a very welcome discovery. We had been searching for a place where we would be comfortable and never need look for another hotel. We had tried four others in the search for a place to become a home away from home in frequent trips to Istanbul.

Besides the amenities (and we have stayed in every room at one time or another) all rooms offer comfortable beds, great showers, TV's and WI-FI, it is the staff and the location that make it such a wonderful place. The staff have just the right balance between interested concern and respect for privacy. Kemal is always cheerful and helpful and Dogan is always ready to discuss the latest book he is reading, besides being a fount of knowledge of the area.. The location is convenient to all the major sites in the Sultanahmet area. It is a delight every morning to have a very filling breakfast on the top floor terrace where one can take in both Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque, or look towards Asia rising behind passing ships coming down the Bosporus. The name Guesthouse is very appropriate for one does feel like an honored guest while staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyLibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,070 in Istanbul
983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,049 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#677 of 1,159 in Istanbul
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#84 of 1,159 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#148 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#61 of 1,159 in Istanbul
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Guesthouse

Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:39 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $53 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Guesthouse offers an intimate home-away-from-home setting in the Old City section of Istanbul. Each comfortably furnished no smoking rooms-some with sea view- includes private bathroom, direct dial telephone, air conditioning and mini bar. Guests enjoy daily breakfast in the enclosed rooftop terrace while feasting on the breathtaking view of the Sea of Marmara, the Princes' Islands, Istanbul's Asia shore, Blue Mosque and Saint Sophia Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terrace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing