We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, personal, caring service”
Review of Terrace Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terrace Guesthouse
Ranked #114 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed twice - during a four week visit to Turkey and Greece. The first time, we felt like we were in their very best room. Then, when we returned a few weeks later, we discovered that EVERY room in the place is unique and very special in its own way. The small and extremely professional staff create a family, welcoming atmosphere. You will love it.

Room Tip: See if the top floor room is available, but don't worry if it's not. You will have breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

My first visit was in 2004/2005. I was so delighted with that too-short stay that I didn't consider any other options when planning this trip.
When you stay here, you'll quickly see why "guesthouse" is the right label. There are only eight rooms (two per floor) and each has its own character. If you love carpets from that region, you will especially appreciate the walls of the reception area or the circular stair that takes you to the upper levels. Wonderful textile art throughout!
When you're leaving or coming, probably Doğan (the owner - and that "ğ" means there's a special way to pronounce his name) or Kemal will be in the reception area ready to send you on your day's errands with helpful suggestions - or waiting to hear about your adventures when you return.
As for location to take advantage of the major Istanbul sights, there is no better. (Even the super expensive Four Seasons is but a few yards away and offers no advantage for location.) The obvious destinations are within a few hundred yards - very easy walking. The Grand Bazaar, the Golden Horn, and other sights are pleasant slightly longer walks - or easy trolley rides for the less vigorous.
And speaking of sights, the views from the breakfast terrace are unsurpassed. Not only are there clear views of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, but you can keep an eye on the shipping in the Sea or Marmara as they start or complete their transit of the Bosphorus, with the pilot boats scurrying amongst the vessels delivering or picking up the pilots. Plus there are the fishing boats that are working and delivering their catch. The setting and prospects are so great that my friend and I used the terrace as a day room for simple repose and for catching up on reading during our two plus week stay.
There's good wifi in all the areas for those who want to stay in touch with computers or smartphones.
There may be more fancy breakfasts at some hotels, but that ample meal at the Terrace is served with more charm! Lili, who took care of us at breakfast, always had the greatest smile to start our days, and she made sure we had all the coffee we wanted. There's no better hospitality.
Also, the hotel will provide transport from and to the airport for a reasonable fee.
There are more details - all good, but my bottom line is that if you want a friendly, happy, convenient place to stay, the Terrace Guesthouse should be your choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

after 8 or more visits, by our selves and with many friends, we still consider the Terrace the only place we would want to stay in Istanbul. The staff could not be more helpful in all respects. The views from the breakfast room and rooftop terrace of the Bosphorus, Aya Sophia, and the Blue Mosque are spectacular. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast plus the view are very nice. We have found the staff available on a 24 hour basis.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Scott60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My favorite hotel in Istanbul. It is located near to Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque, in the historical center of Istanbul. You have a beutiful view from the breakfast room and the rooftop. The rooms are nice and clean. Dogan and his staff are very helpful.
Highly recomended. You feel like home.
Would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We just had our 6th stay over a decade at Terrace Guesthouse which has made trips to Istanbul like going home. Dogan and his staff are go-to people who can arrange and advise any aspect of visiting Istanbul and the rest of Turkey. The owner grew up in the neighborhood and has a real window into its history. The hotel is charming, ideally located and breakfasts are delicious with a superb view of the Sea of Marmara.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skaistalelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed here at the start of my travels and the staff and hotel was lovely. It's just behind the four seasons hotel and couldn't be easier to hop on and off the tram. The room was large with a nice view over the water (from a few blocks away) and the little breakfast room at the top was really nice with a terrace at the very top.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitcharsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Pleasant, clean, rooms. Nice, helpful staff, good breakfast, good location.
Important for people with allergies to know: Building had a fresh, clean, NOT sythetically perfumed, smell, which means no molds in the structures. (Which is a common problem for people with respiratory diseases when traveling.) Also no smell of cigarettes, and the bed linen was washed with unperfumed detergent, thank You for that! (The towels had a little whiff of perfumed soap, though.) No grubby wall-to-wall-carpeting either, but nice tiled floors and beautiful carpets - aesthetically pleasing as well as healthy.
The stairs are quite steep, though, so guests must watch their step. And beware of room nr 8 in rainy weather, if the roof window has not been fixed since heavy rain in july...
I will be back, and looking forward to it, thank You so much!
Pia Ingström

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#744 of 1,163 in Istanbul
622 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,109 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,163 in Istanbul
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,793 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#109 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,665 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Guesthouse

Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:39 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $61 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Guesthouse offers an intimate home-away-from-home setting in the Old City section of Istanbul. Each comfortably furnished no smoking rooms-some with sea view- includes private bathroom, direct dial telephone, air conditioning and mini bar. Guests enjoy daily breakfast in the enclosed rooftop terrace while feasting on the breathtaking view of the Sea of Marmara, the Princes' Islands, Istanbul's Asia shore, Blue Mosque and Saint Sophia Museum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing