We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Ranked #57 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegance & Comfort”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We spent 6 nights in a 'Superior Room' at this lovely hotel. The archtiectural details and stylish decor were impeccable - understated and elegant. The room pluses - immaculately clean, the king size bed, comfortable bedding, the black out curtains that could be closed with w/ remote, rain shower head as well as a handheld shower spray, robe and slippers, soft large towels, sufficient counter space to hold toiletries. The minuses - only one person could access the closet at the same time(the bed took up most of the room space), the safe was awkwardly placed in the closet, the shower door could not be easily opened while in the shower (no handle), no bathroom extraction fan or window, noisy hotel room neighbors (street side noise was very quiet but hotel guests were very loud - especially in the middle of the night). BUT the pluses far outweighed any negatives!
Location was excellent - within walking distance of Old Town, Spice Market. The street was very
quiet (our room was on street side) and never had an issue with outside noise. We were glad to escape the hustle, bustle and massive crowds that come with the Old Town.
Staff was so accommodating - the reception staff made excellent restaurant recommendations and arranged for transportation to/from. The bar and wait staff was friendly and tried hard to please. If one of them could not understand our requests, they quickly brought another person who had better command of the English language.
Breakfast buffet, although not large, was of high quality. The hotel also offers a breakfast menu for eggs, omelets, pancakes. Eggs were very salty - so be sure to request no salt.
We decided to try the spa on our last afternoon at the hotel - the spa is not widely advertised - we happened upon it when we checked out the fitness center. We had the couples Turkish Bath treatment - and my husband had a massage following. We highly recommend the spa - excellent service, beautiful treatment rooms and a wonderful way to relax after 5 days of touring the city. It is a hidden gem!

We certainly recommend this hotel - it has only been open for 5 months - so I think that it will be difficult to find rooms when the word of mouth continues to spread!

Room Tip: The floor map in our superior room showed that we had the 2nd smallest footprint of all of the super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourkidsNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaultKarakoy, Ön Büro Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent comments about your stay at Vault Karakoy The House Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you loved the location, breakfast and service of our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    107
    18
    4
    7
See reviews for
73
306
70
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The style, comfort & decoration of the rooms is very nice.
Breakfast as well is good.
The House has different hotels and also a tea room, which offers very tasty food & drinks in a stylish atmosphere.
During weekends, there is a bar being a bit loud at night, but otherwise it is in a quiet street.
Location for tourists is good as nice places are in walking distance as is the tramway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hofmfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay at Vault Karakoy The HouseHotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you loved the design, comfort, location and breakfast of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in our wonderful property.

Kind Regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2014

You can put your money to the bank to save it. Or spend it at the Vault Karaköy and sleep in a bank instead. We loved location of the hotel and its interior/exterior as well. Staff was very friendly, helpful and discreet. Price ist justified for quality of room. Breakfast buffet is not too big, but very good quality again and offers a good selection of international and local food.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Beneki,

Thank you very much for your recent comments about your stay at Vault Karakoy The House Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you loved the location, breakfast and service of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you in our wonderful property.

Kind Regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We spent four nights in this amazing hotel. The ultra sophisticated renovation and transformation of this gem of a building was flawlessly done. Okay... one flaw... the elevator and staircase is open / floors are marble or wood, so noise travels easily.

Breakfast was spectacular.

The staff couldn't do enough.

Our room was absolutely straight out of the pages of a design magazine.

We loved the location... a stone's throw to Galata Bridge and Tower, yet far removed from the tacky aspects of old town.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor and any room near the elevator if you are concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent comments about your stay at Vault Karakoy The House Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you loved the location, breakfast,staff and service of our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I recently spent three nights at the Vault Karakoy. Everything about the visit was exceptional. If you find yourself in Istanbul and you enjoy smaller hotels, this is the place to stay. The hotel is beautiful and the staff couldn't be better. I will long remember my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent comments about your stay at Vault Karakoy The House Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you loved our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family soon.

Kind Regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Vault Karakoy is a great hotel! The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely and quite roomy for an urban hotel. You can see a lot of time and effort went into decorating the place, which results in somewhat funny attributes such as an automatic curtain closer (which dont shut completely) and a shower that is more attractive than useful. The hotel is located near some of Istanbul's greatest historic locations, which may be reached easily by tram. The tram stop is only a two minute walk. Oh and the breakfast is great! all in all a great pick!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannii_mvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Dannii,

Thank you very much for your recent comments about your stay at Vault Karakoy The House Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you loved the location, breakfast and service of our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Completely modernized atmosphere in an old bank building... very well done. Stayed in a deluxe king room, that had a decent urban view (older architecture), and very quiet. Very nice marble bathroom. Great service throughout the hotel. Only had breakfast in the restaurant, but very good buffet style, with good selection and fresh food. Great location centered in the heart of old Istanbul.

Room Tip: Instead of trying to pick a room with a good view (which will be challenging), ask for a quieter roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dborlando2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear DBorlando,

Thank you for your recent comments about your stay at Vault Karakoy The House Hotel.
I am very pleased to hear that you loved the breakfast and service of our hotel. Due to location unfortunately just our suites have view.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#47 of 1,156 in Istanbul
331 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,009 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#10 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,156 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#60 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,112 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#42 of 1,156 in Istanbul
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel

Property: Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Address: Bankalar Caddesi No. 5, Istanbul 34421, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vault Karaköy, The House Hotel is located in the up-and-coming neighborhood of Karaköy on Bankalar Caddesi, a convenient launching pad to explore bohemian Beyoğlu and historic Sultanahmet.Restored by the Agha Khan award-winning Turkish architect Han Tümertekin, the building structure retains original features, while the luxurious modern interiors were designed by Sinan Kafadar who was inspired by its imposing bank vaults, which also gave rise to the hotel's name.The contemporary classic room interiors also evoke wealth and luxury. An in-house art curator will organize events and exhibitions throughout the hotel. Also, a collection of precious books related to art, culture & music will be displayed. Vault Karaköy, The House Hotel highlights Art & Culture, blending classic and contemporary styles, thus bringing together visions of Ancient and Modern Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing