We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Decided to spend the last night of a week long Istanbul trip in a hotel, and what a surprise!
For the price I paid, It was definitely more than what I expected, much more.

Everything was spotless, the room and the bathroom was just perfect with everything in top condition.

The service was very attentive and felt genuine.
The live music in the lobby made that drink from the bar special.
However, the front desk area can be a bit crowded when busy due to the corner location.

The location of the hotel depends on your purpose of visit.
It wouldn't have worked for me for the early part of the trip because most of the attractions like Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and the grand bazaar are in Sultanahmet area.
However, for the late part of my trip when I mostly visited modern attractions, this hotel's location was perfect.
The emerging 'hip' street of Mumhane Cd is a 5 minute walk from the hotel where you can find great cafes and interesting stores.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
In fact, I already have, several times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sungjae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Sungjae,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and for your glowing recommendation!We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and sharing your tips regarding the neighborhood. Also I will pass your great feedback to whole team.

We hope to see you again in the near future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable please feel free to contact us.

Kindest regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    100
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
68
293
68
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was simply wonderful!!

Vault Karakoy offers a 360 experience through its convenient location, its amazing decoration, the fantastic staff and the excellent service ... there is no way to go wrong if you stay here.

The breakfast buffet is very tasty, with a lot of food options and complemented by the great staff. The hotel is walking distance from the trolley which takes you to all the main attractions. However, it is far enough from everything that you dont get the noise from tourists nor the crowds when you want to call it a night.

Although it is advised that you take your first hammam at a typical place, the hotel offers some private options. I did one with my boyfriend and really liked the fact that we could do it together.

The rooms are medium sized and the beautiful ceilings are super tall. Comfy bed and pillows. The bathroom is a good size and with great lighting and details.

We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Monica,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and for your glowing recommendation!We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and sharing your tips regarding the neighborhood and Turkish bath.

We hope to see you again in the near future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable please feel free to contact us.

Kindest regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We spent 8 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel. This hotel was the best possible location for us: a tram line and Metro station only a block away, awesome restaurants nearby, almost all major sites within walking distance. With this hotel who needs a car?

The room was perfect (we even took photos of the bathroom for remodeling ideas), the breakfast offering was superb (and went until 11 AM), and the service was top notch. Mehmet at the door was always helpful, Esma at the front desk was charming, the guys during breakfast always attentive, and our always friendly bartender Pusat was there to greet us with a smile and a nightcap when we rolled in tired from a long day/evening and too much baklava. It is clear that the staff is very proud of their hotel, and it is well placed.

The location of the hotel really is superb, especially for couples who want to experience as much of the city as possible. It afforded us to be able to come back from a day's worth of touring around to take a break and get ready for a nice dinner out (and to eat too much baklava).

This family of hotels is top notch and we would not hesitate to come back to this hotel for more stays.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Kris,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and for your glowing recommendation!We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and sharing your tips regarding the neighborhood and Turkish cuisine.

We hope to see you again in the near future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable please feel free to contact us.

Kindest regards,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in Istanbul. The Vault was a wonderfully indulgent hotel. Each sense was pampered, from the lighting to sound, including a lovely scent of sandalwood. Everything was meticulously clean. The staff was very attentive to our needs. As we were leaving on a rainy day they offered us an umbrella. Mehmet Tarlaci, at reception, directed us to lovely local restaurants and helped us structure our brief visit as to maximize our adventure. I highly recommend the Vault to any visitors of Istanbul.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank krkalogeropoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and for your glowing recommendation!We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Also I will pass your message to my team member Mr. Tarlaci.
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable please feel free to contact us.

Kindest regards ,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is the best-located hotel in Istanbul! Walking distance to everything important. The rooms are luxurious, the beds great, the bathrooms big and beautiful. And the breakfasts are delicious, and served until 11 AM for those recovering from a large time change. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marshalltova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Marshalltova ,

Thank you for choosing Vault Karakoy!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed in your room and liked our services and location. Also we are grateful that you took the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon as well and if there is anything we can do to make the next stay better please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards ,

Caner Akgun
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed in late July at this centrally located small hotel. The hotel has a charming, historic feel to it. Location is good (and that is a big advantage given Istanbul's chronic traffic issues) and is close to some of the key attractions of Istanbul (e.g. Spice Market leading to the Grand Bazzar are only 15 minutes walking distance). Rooms are clean and tidy. Reception and guest relations staff were helpful, giving us lots of tips which we needed in view of our short stay in Istanbul (only 2 days) and helped us with choosing night clubs and even recommending an enchanting traditional Turkish Hammam (across from Ayasofia)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mohammed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caner A, Front Office Manager at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Mohammed,

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel.

We pride ourselves in the friendly and attentive assistance that you receive within the hotel and hope that this extra touch makes your stay more enjoyable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Caner Akgun

Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this charming, relatively new boutique hotel (part of the House Hotel collection) from July 25-31, 2014.

Pro's
- Central location: hip but elegant hotel near the base of the Galata Bridge, 100m from the tram, 15 minute walk to the old city, 10 minute walk to trendy Iskitlal Street, across the bridge from the Spice Market and close to great restaurants.
- Large room: we were upgraded to a superior king room. Large, comfortable, quiet, immaculately clean room - slept well! Beautiful bathroom with green carrera marble surfaces, complimentary bottled water and WiFi, nice assortment of bath products. What you would expect at a hotel at this price point.
- Great service: the concierges, bartenders, breakfast staff and housekeepers were friendly and extremely helpful. It was evident that each staff member took pride in the hotel and wanted guests to have a wonderful experience.
- Breakfast: included in the room rate. A wonderful variety of Turkish and Western foods including cheeses, assortments of breads, fruits, eggs, pancakes and waffles.

Cons
- Staff Knowledge - while the front desk staff/concierges were extremely helpful not all were knowledgeable. We were told by one newer staff member that the Dolmabache Palace would be closed all week. Luckily, a more experienced staff member overheard the conversation and informed us that the palace was open all days other than Mondays & Thursday. This happened on a few occasions and we quickly learned which staff members we should direct our questions.

We had lunch at the House Hotel Bosphorus and dinner at the House Cafe on Iskitlal Street and both were beautiful as well. If we return to Istanbul we will certainly stay at the Valut Karakoy again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaultKarakoy, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Deepa 71,

We can't wait for you to come back to our home for your next visit in Istanbul too! We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of you stay and honoured to be called as a "wonderful boutique hotel" Also we are all glad that you loved your room, location, breakfast and our staff. I apologize in regards to not giving full information, about the neighborhood, we still have some trainings for our staff about the area to provide full information to our guests We look forward to your next stay and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable please feel free to contact us.

Kindest regards ,

Irem Kucukay
Guest Services & Quality Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#47 of 1,140 in Istanbul
307 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,003 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#66 of 1,140 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#61 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,037 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#14 of 1,140 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#5 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel

Property: Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Address: Bankalar Caddesi No. 5, Istanbul 34421, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vault Karaköy, The House Hotel is located in the up-and-coming neighborhood of Karaköy on Bankalar Caddesi, a convenient launching pad to explore bohemian Beyoğlu and historic Sultanahmet.Restored by the Agha Khan award-winning Turkish architect Han Tümertekin, the building structure retains original features, while the luxurious modern interiors were designed by Sinan Kafadar who was inspired by its imposing bank vaults, which also gave rise to the hotel's name.The contemporary classic room interiors also evoke wealth and luxury. An in-house art curator will organize events and exhibitions throughout the hotel. Also, a collection of precious books related to art, culture & music will be displayed. Vault Karaköy, The House Hotel highlights Art & Culture, blending classic and contemporary styles, thus bringing together visions of Ancient and Modern Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing