We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a marvelous stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #47 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lille
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a marvelous stay !”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ideally situated close to most of what we wanted to discover (Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Museum ...), we spent four nights in Garden House Hotel..All the family (from 12 to 49 years old) really enjoyed the very comfortable rooms. Staff was impressive : welcoming, kind, reactive and smiling. Nothing else to say that : "Thank you very much !". We recommend of course this hotel if you want to stay few days in Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adono59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    344
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
266
648
84
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Garden House in Istanbul. I was thrown at first because the outside didn't really look like the photos I saw online. Also, it's called Garden House and Rose Garden Suites. No worries, you're in the right place!

I would say this is more like a bed & breakfast than a typical hotel. The rooms are definitely more bedroom than hotel room. We ended up staying in 2 rooms while we were there due to some plumbing issues in our first room. I liked our first room better (304 if I remember correctly) it was spacious and had a remodeled bath. No view as it faced the street. Our second room was on the 5th floor. Smaller bed, not as comfy, the bathroom was tiny.

So, because this isn't an op-ed piece for the New York Times, I will break it down to a pro/con list. This hotel isn't luxury if that's what you're looking for. It's comfortable with several perks!

Pro:

Location. Couldn't be any better. We walked everywhere. It was fabulous.
Breakfast. It was lovely with lots of options and it was nice to have that included with the cost of the room.
Water/Coffee/Snacks available all the time.
The Staff. Very accommodating, friendly and willing to help.

Con:
Very Noisy. You will hear street noise, hallway noise and adjoining room noises.
No Elevator/Lift. Not an issue for us, but definitely would be for some.
Wi-Fi is spotty. Kept going in and out.
No modern amenities such as room service, spa, etc. IF you're in to that sort of thing.

Overall, It was a fine place to stay. It's vacation, you aren't in your room a lot anyway :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JPnBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the garden house for six nights. Fantastic room with balcony, great staff, nothing a problem. They even brought coffee up to our room every morning free of charge.
Good place for children as well. Lovely courtyard for kids to play outside. Staff are charming and very helpful. Definitely would return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nics95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel with my family (my wife and 2 children, 14 and 9), left for a car trip around the Marmara sea, and returned when a different hotel we had booked for our last 2 nights in Istanbul proved a disappointment. The staff were incredible - really went out of their way to come up with suggestions and ways in which they could help us. We had two adjoining and connected rooms, with everything we could wish for. The beds were the most comfortable we have slept in in a long time. We had access to tea, coffee, water and soft drinks 24 hours in the lobby. They figured out that it was my wife's birthday from our registration and offered us a birthday cake at breakfast. The atmostphere was always serene and relaxed, everyone was always ready to spend time answering our questions and offering advice. Last but far from least, the position couldn't be better: 5 minutes walk from the Hyppodrome, Blue Mosque, Ayasofia, Topkapi... and the main tram line crossing the city. We felt at home, and will definitely go back when we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent three nights here with our young daughter and it was wonderful. Helpful, friendly staff. Nice room. Good location. Delicious breakfast. Lovely courtyard for coffee and snacks. Plus, a really fun complimentary wine reception on the weekend. I can't think of anything bad to say about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulmona, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've just come back from Istambul and I've really enjoyed my stay at the Rose Garden (the suite accomodation of the House Garden). The hotel offers services you wouldn't imagine in accomodations of the same category. The staff provides eccellent assistance. The receptionists kindly gives information on the tourist sites and is ready to book any kind of entertainment or restaurant meals. The rooms are properly furnished and pretty clean, the breakfast includes typical Turkish foods and is satisfying for choice and quality. If you prefer hotels with a special atmosphere...this is number one! Our children aged 24,22 and 20 were very enthusiastic about it.

Room Tip: I recommend the Rose Garden room 411 on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlads942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My first visit to Istanbul and was worried but everything went fine. The hotel is perfectly situated within easy walking distance of many sights. The staff was helpful, friendly and cooperative. Good to have tea coffee anytime, fine breakfast. Overall experience was good.
Mohammad Ayub
Jeddah
Saudi Arabia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#49 of 1,141 in Istanbul
820 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,141 in Istanbul
879 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#61 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,141 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing