We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courteous, helpful and committed to guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #53 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Courteous, helpful and committed to guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for five nights and were very pleased with this hotel. Staff were very courteous and helpful, clearly well trained by the manager, who demonstrated leadership in his job and great service commitment to his guests. The rooms and hallways were always clean and well stocked. Restaurant staff also featured the desire to please but the food was rather indifferent in the evening, and while there was nothing wrong with the food, we knew we could eat better outside. Breakfasts were always good. All in all a very good experience, and we would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawmillbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    341
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
263
641
84
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at The Garden House Hotel for 8 nights in September 2012 on two separate occasions. We were made most welcome by the staff who were friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is conveniently situated for visiting the main sites in Sultanahmed but be prepared to walk up fairly steep slopes to get there. The bedrooms were very comfortable with authentic Turkish furniture and fittings (our bathroom design was in the hamam style. The breakfasts were continental - cheese, cold meats and yogurt sat alongside croissants and fruit. An option was offered on most days for delicious omelettes. On Friday and Saturday evenings during the period of our stay complimentary wine and cheese was on offer between 6.00 - 7.00p.m. The Manager spent time with all newly arrived guests to show them brochures of Istanbul and to tell them about the range of sites and activities in the city; a most helpful gesture much appreciated. The shady courtyard was an added attraction; a good place to sit and chat with fellow guests. Of the two bedrooms that we stayed in the second one overlooking the courtyard had by far the most attractive views.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Garden House and would happily stay there again on future visits to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leymen, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lovely little hotel tucked away from the noise yet in walking distance to the main attractions. Staff very friendly and eager to help. Very clean too. If I haven't given it a five it's because the restaurant let it down.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor so if you are elderly or have small children ask for a room at a lower leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Istanbul Garden House for 6 nights in October. This hotel was recommended by a friend of mine and it was a great surprise. Even before we get there, the staff contacted us to arrange the airport transfer (there was a promotion of free transfer if you stay in the hotel for more than 5 nights) and check if we needed anything else. By the time we arrived at the airport, the transfer was there.

Neighborhood: the hotel is in Sultanahmet (the old town), a five-ten minutes walking from Blue Moske And Hagia Sophia.

Checkin: very quick. After that, the manager showed the hotel and the facilities.

Room: we stayed at room 302. As soon as we entered the room there was a fruit basket and a half bottle of wine as a compliment from the staff. The room was great was big enough and was great: king size bed, good pillows, TV, good shower.
The hotel does not offer rooms with great views, but for me it was not a problem.

Breakfast: it was included and it has a good variety - coffee (regular and Turkish), tea, juice, milk, breads, fruits (normal and dry), yogurts, jams, omelet.

Restaurant: it is in a lovely garden and it was perfect for us to have dinner there after such long days exploring the city. It offers pasta, lamb, kebab, chicken for a reasonable price (around 30-37 turkish liras).

Other facilities: free wi-fi in all hotel area, free drinks (coffee, tea, juice, water) and cookies/cakes in the garden area all day long. Usually we arrived at the hotel by 6pm and had our coffee before going to the room.

Staff: very helpful and kind. During our stay we decided to book a Bosphorus cruise with the travel agency in front of the hotel. Our transfer was supposed to pick us up at 8:15; but still at 8:40 we were there... So, the hotel manager started to call everyone and finally called us a cab and gave the instructions to the driver to take us exactly where we were supposed to be.

Tour: we wanted a private guide (potuguese speaker) and the hotel arranged it. They also arrange other tours in Istanbul if we need.

Definetely a great place to stay in Istanbul.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari_Castro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Garden House in Istanbul. The location was ideal, close to all of the major sites in the old historical area of town. The quaint streets and nightlife only added to the ambiance. The staff at the hotel were all very nice and did their the best to accommodate our needs and wishes. The room I had was totally clean, charming and comfortable, with views overlooking the garden.

Most important, I can't say enough about the manager Selcuk. He was so welcoming and helpful to this New Yorker. He was patient, informative and only wanted to make my stay more enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a simple, charming and convenient hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor off the garden was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dldinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanhoe, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Garden House is a small hotel in the old town . It is about 5 mins from Hagia Sophia .
Our room was spacious ,decorated in Ottoman style ,with a very comfortable bed & spotlessly clean .The staff were friendly & so helpful .The breakfasts were great with lots of variety . The courtyard was a feature especially on Friday & Saturday night for " Happy Hour " .A wonderful stay in a charming atmosphere .

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite on ground floor as booked . Other rooms all very good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed in the Garden House Hotel for 1 week. I always got a perfect clean room. The cute garden, the restaurant and services are perfect. The room was also comfortable and agreeable. The only negative point is breakfast, not really diverse on the extreme early time! But seems to be a good one after 7am (according to the others clients). I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#49 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing