We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Personal, and Intimate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #52 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Cozy, Personal, and Intimate”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Cozy, personal, and intimate was the experience I had while staying at the Rose Garden Hotel in Sultanhamet, Istanbul. If you must cross paths with this beautiful establishment, make sure to ask for Mr. Selcuk personal (Guest Relations). In fact he will probably great you at the door and tell you all about the beautiful City of Istanbul, before you think to ask for him.
All in all, a wonderful place to go relax after you have spent the day getting to know the City and its monuments. There is a nice and open backyard to sit for a drink of your choice, and the food prepared wonderfully.

Room Tip: Choose suite 206, with the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    347
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
270
651
85
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Garden House is a boutique-type hotel, with satisfactory sized rooms and bathroom, well furnished, clean and in good order. Breakfast and WiFi was included in the rate, and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the main venues in the old part of the city.

All in all, it is a competent package.

There are 2 minor 'buts'.

Firstly, the WiFi in my room was quite weak, so you may have to move to the public areas for a better signal - but it did work in the end, albeit with patience required.

The second issue is food hygiene. Whilst you have to expect a more casual approach to this aspect in places like Istanbul, nevertheless, for a hotel which is ranked at #34 out of 769 in the city - it justifies a mention. So, the breakfast waiter should NOT pat down the cheeses and cold meats on the plate with the palm of his bare hand....... And the egg counter lady who wears gloves, should not clear away the dirty plates from tables, and wipe them, then wipe her face, expecting her gloves to then continue performing any useful function in food handling. Picky perhaps, but if you aspire to the higher rankings, you should not cut fast and loose in such basic food handling ways.

However, I'd stay there again. I hope the management takes on board the comments above, as very little effort is required to improve matters.

Room Tip: close to a WiFi router - ask. some rooms have weak coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perfect location for a getaway in the wonderful city of Istanbul.
Nice, clean and a super friendly staff made our short stay truly wonderful.
Not the cheapest hotel around, but most certainly among the most charming
and personal. Will definately return...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hans J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This little boutique of a hotel isn't flashy, but a warm delightful gem of a hotel. Located in the old part of the city, it enabled us to get everywhere we wanted to go quite quickly and efficiently. Breakfast down among the rose garden was so peaceful and with all the different dishes, everyone could find something enjoyable to eat. Staff very helpful and accommodating. We can recommend this spectacular little gem of a hotel as a quiet oasis in a vibrant city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location close to all the attractions, excellent service, complimentary coffee,tea & cakes 24/7, great restuarant, & a relaxing, leafy garden oasis. An excellent manager who makes you feel welcome. Lovely comfortable rooms with complimentary wine,water & fruit on arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A true customer focused and wonderful small hotel with a great location; 5 minutes to the Blue Mosque and 10 minutes to Haga Sophia. From the day we walked in until we left we experienced fantastic service. This is a very nicely decorated hotel with a great breakfast (incl. an omelet station). it hascomplimentary coffee, tea and cookies 24/7. We booked some trips via the hotel and all of the arrangements worked as they said. My wife and I stayed here for a week.

Our standard room was newly refurbished and very neat. As an added bonus we were upgraded the last two nights; that was highly appreciated. Will we stay here on our trip back to Istanbul? Absolutely! Will we recommend this hotel to family and friends? We already have.

The owner went out of his way to make our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location and close to the action, but tranquil retreat when you need it. Excellent manager who does his best to make your stay a pleasant one. Excellent breakfast, tea and pastries available all day and comfortable rooms with nice period decor. Great option in the Sultanahmet on a quiet side street, so make the resrvation and enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola33149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#51 of 1,156 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,156 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#72 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,457 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#91 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#59 of 1,156 in Istanbul
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing