We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eesti” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden House Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden House Istanbul
Ranked #54 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Eesti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Clean and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff (especially Mr. Selcuk), perfect hospitality what else we could ask more! Hotel is so close to historical places. We will definitely visit Garden House in summer again. I strongly recommend everyone to stay there and feel the comfort. Thanks Garden House!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gökçen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    340
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
262
638
84
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Beautiful rooms, relaxing and comfortable atmosphere, delicious food, free wine and fruit in the room, and the most friendly staff I have ever met in my life. What else could you ask for? Plus, it is close to all the most popular tourist attractions. Very clean, too, and they serve all the meals there at the hotel....all were delicious :-) Also, we had a beautiful hamam for our bathroom! Talk about incredible!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sreinblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on 20 Jan 2012 until 23 Jan 2012.. very convienient location to major Istanbul's attractions. It was pleasant and memorable experience for me as a first timer in Turkey. Warmth of the staff can be felt from beginning until the end of stays. The staff at reception especially Mr. Selcuk, the friendly staff in the Cafe who are very attentive and nice during breakfast.. honestly I feel at home and welcome all the time.. very helpful and the room was clean and comfortable..
I will strongly recommanded this hotel to all traveller and definately I can assure; I will come back to this beautiful hotel ... soon ...:)

Room Tip: nothing in particular..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nor_hayati80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Garden House in Istanbul was definitely a perfect choice for anyone to stay in. Its in the heart of Sultanhamet with the blue mosque 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Pros
• Nice location and attractive building 5 mins walk from red and blue mosques
• Welcome bottle of wine, fruits, water, tea and coffee
• Cakes and biscuits ‘on tap’
• Staff generally friendly and helpful
• Delicious breakfast
• Clean room
Cons
• On arrival it was quite obvious our booking (placed with Expedia months before) hadn’t been logged. There followed some obvious panic among the staff about what to do with us as it seemed like the hotel was full. After 20 minutes waiting in reception for the staff to deal for us (who spoke in Turkish about the booking so we couldn’t understand) the hotel manager greeted us and said a room was ready as if nothing was wrong. He kept on referring to the fact that our Expedia booking was for an ‘economy’ room (repeated this 5 times) before showing us to our room (as if to justify what type of room he was about to lead us to). The room was ground level and we were initially unsatisfied with the quality in accordance to what we had paid. We actually asked to move but were told the hotel was full.
• The room was a small corner room. It was next to the street so street noises were very loud. Passers by could see into the room quite well, especially because the curtains were not big enough to cover the windows. There was no TV remote and all TV channels were very fuzzy (we didn’t watch TV but think this is worth mentioning).
• The bathroom was very smelly. There was a horrible smell from the drains which took over the entire room. It was especially noticeable when returning to the room after a long day outside (as no other rooms were available we cannot vouch to wether this was the case for the rest of the hotel).

Overall the stay could have been memorable. However, this was spoilt by some small but significant factors. Would question before rebooking here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank map170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Garden House in Istanbul was definitely a perfect choice for anyone to stay in. Its in the heart of Sultanhamet with the blue mosque 2 minutes away. All the interesting tourist spots such as the hagia sofiya, topcapi, grand bazaar are walking distance from the hotel thus making it the prime vacationers dream! The hotel itself had superb service with great hosts such as Serhat and Bora who always took care of us and made sure we were comfortable, drew us maps, got us taxis and any other services we required. They were definitely the most friendly hosts we met in Istanbul. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and the food was excellent. Defintely highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

In January 2012 I stayed a few days in Garden House, left for Cappadocia, and then came back, so I must have liked it. ;) I stayed in three separate rooms, one standard and two economy, and all were quite pleasant. The entire staff team is quite friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was something to look forward to, with quite a variety (compliments to the omelet girl!). Short walk to the Sultanahmet sites and the tram stop, from which you can easily ride to Taksim.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#53 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Istanbul

Property: Garden House Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmetpasa Sokak No:11/13, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#24 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden House Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 19th-century Ottoman mansion offers luxury 4-star accommodation with personalised service and a beautiful courtyard, just a short walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Garden House enjoys a prime location in Istanbul's historical district of Sultanahmet. It has gained a popular reputation for its staff's outstanding service and great hospitality. Upon arrival, you are welcomed with a complimentary fruit basket and mineral water. Guest rooms are well-presented and full of modern amenities, including plasma TV and free wireless internet access. Garden House's courtyard is surrounded by old walnut trees and offers a lovely place to relax with a drink. Enjoy a variety of cuisine from the al fresco restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Istanbul
Garden Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing