We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location”
Review of Sultanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultanhan Hotel
Ranked #154 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend, and found the hotel to be welcoming, friendly and in an amazing location, just 10 minutes walk from all the major attractions in the old town.
The gentleman on reception couldn't have been more helpful in translating for us, booking restaurants and giving advice on the city..thank you!
Although it's location is right in the city, it's just off the main street, so it's quiet and secluded. and the rooftop restaurant gives stunning views, especially at sundown!
I wouldn't hesitate to come back here...a lovely hotel in an amazing city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gardencity285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    151
    35
    7
    1
See reviews for
108
224
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

You can't get a better location than the Sultanhan Hotel. Located in Sultanahmet in the Old City, the hotel is half a block away from the area's main street, and within a short walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar. There are dozens and dozens of excellent restaurants nearby.as well as shops. A tram runs along the main street making it very convenient to cross the Golden Horn. Rooms are comfortable and clean with generously sized bathtubs if you want to have a nice soak after a long day of sightseeing. The rooftop restaurant where breakfast, lunch and dinner is served has magnificent views over the Sea of Marmara. The hotel is on a deadend street so if you want a bit of a view ask to face the front of the hotel.and you won't have to worry about noise. The rear facing rooms have no view except for the windows of the building behind it. The included breakfast buffet was adequate but could use some more imaginative choices. The front desk staff tries hard to be accomodating and the air conditioning worked just fine.I would definitely return here on my next trip to Istanbul.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in in the morning avoide rooms on the 4th floor. The restaurant is on the 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Palmtree2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely stay nice staff & in the old city.
Service was good rooms were nice & clean and spacious
reasonable price and a good nights sleep :)
As I visited with my family I must say we all left rather happy :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Interesting older hotel, well maintained, very good traditional rooms, great bar, good rooftop restaurant (view probably better than culinary performance, but traditional Turkish dishes are fine), very responsive and helpful staff. Location in Old City is perfect -- short stroll to Grand Bazaar and very close to Blue Mosque while avoiding some of traffic congestion of other hotels in immediate area. My deluxe fourth floor, moderate sized room had French doors opening to street view with comfortable traditional, well maintained bath (shower/tub combo).

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank jpmsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. A true 5 star establishment, Large tasteful rooms with beautiful marble bathrooms and the most comfortable beds you'll find. The location couldn't be better as it's within walking distance to all the key sights. Has a great roof top breakfast and dining area with views of the city. Stayed here for 4 nights and was sad to leave. Not cheap but if you're after location, comfort and taste you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mindai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

It comes down to comparative expectations based on staying at many hotels around the world. We knew it was an old style hotel and it was in Turkey. We were somewhat prepared to be underwhelmed by the Hotel and that is what we received. The thing that sticks in my mind is I don't want to be the 'quality control supervisor' for service and what is on offer. No plug in the basin, dust on bench and table with sticky surface and the laundry being returned but damp so the room is now full of clothes being aired off. In terms of value expectation I put the experience at about 30% over the top; that is not to say we could have done better at another hotel. The location is superb for sights and restaurants and we have enjoyed being in one of the great cities of the world.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JemoMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days on our recent trip to Turkey. It was at the tail end of our 3 week holiday, in which we'd stayed at some of the most amazing boutique hotels across the country - which may be in part why I found this hotel "average".

The location is ideal for the major tourist draws in Istanbul - within a few minutes walk, you'll find the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, the Grand Bazaar, the underground cisterns, and MANY fabulous restaurants. Absolutely perfect for tourists who choose not to rent a vehicle!

However, the amount of misinformation that was generated by the staff when we asked for directions or assistance with local travel was unbelievable! Out of the 5 employees we asked for directions or information, only ONE appeared to have a grasp of the facts. Example: We were looking for directions on getting to Taksim Square via the metro (public transit trains). The night manager told us we would just get on ONE TRAIN & it would take us right to the end of the line, and we'd be at our destination. The fact was, if a local lady hadn't overheard our conversation on the train (and understood English!), we would have wound up right back where we started - the train turned around halfway to where we wanted to go & returned to the stop we began at!

We asked for information on the local taxi service: cost to the Ataturk Airport, for example. We were advised by another employee that they'd just drive around & around until the fare reached astronomical rates. Fact is, if you ask for a flat rate, you get it!

There are other examples of issues with this hotel, including 2 calls to room service for my husband (who became ill 2 days before we flew home). I asked for soup to be sent up, and after calling twice after BOTH requests - and even speaking to the night manager to ask him to call also - I gave up. No soup for you, to coin a phrase!

The hotel itself is nice, but not spectacular. The room was clean. The breakfast - which was included in our rate, was decent. We chose not to eat dinner at their rooftop restaurant as the terrace was rather dirty & unappealing. We opted to go next door to the neighbouring hotel's rooftop restaurant - it was lovely.

We would probably stay here again, but in all honesty, only if nothing else was available. I can only half-heartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#109 of 1,149 in Istanbul
851 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#102 of 1,149 in Istanbul
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,520 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,149 in Istanbul
296 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#73 of 1,149 in Istanbul
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanhan Hotel

Property: Sultanhan Hotel
Address: Piyer Loti Cad. No 7 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanhan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing